We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind staff and excellent view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel dei Pini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel dei Pini
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kind staff and excellent view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 16-20 may 2012 and enjoyed our stay from the first minute to the last. The staff is very kind and helpsome. They speak every language at the reception.
Our stay made it more pleasant while we had a rental car and visited the surroundings. Alghero town, especially the old town is really worth a visit. Typical italian old town with narrow streets and lots and lots of restaurants with good food.
We had all our dinner meals at the hotel and were very pleased by it. They change the menu every day and have it available at the door of the restaurant from the morning, so you can decide if it's worth to have your dinner there. Prices range from 8-10 euro for starters and 10-12 euro for the main meal. In other words affordable.
We are definitly going there next year.
Regards
Henk & Sylvi

Room Tip: Get a room with a seaview. Hearing the waves in the morning while wakening is relaxing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HvWNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    254
    75
    24
    13
See reviews for
205
246
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. We went for a 5 day end of season holiday. Weather was good - swam in sea and beautiful days and evenings. Worth hiring a car as we did - you have the roads to yourself, with plenty to see north, south and inland.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Can also recommend the 'roulette' room direct booking option. This worked incredibly well in our favour: free upgrade to superior, sea-view room. Lovely private terrace, right on the beach.

Restaurant good quality menus with variety each night.

Had some reservations because of previous reviews on this site, but our experience was all positive. Thank you especially to the Swiss-Italian manageress: very helpful and cheerful at all times.

Room Tip: Go for roulette option - but only guarantee good result in low / off season
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KevinSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldeipini, Responsabile reception at Hotel dei Pini, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Mr and Mrs Savage,

There is nothing else that could make us so happy.
Thank you, thank you very much. We all look forward to welcoming you again.
Tanti cari saluti.

The whole staff of the Hotel dei Pini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weinheim
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We went to this hotel in Alghero in May 2011. I had read all the reviews on tripadvisor to be forewarned about the place. I was pleasantly surprised about the accuracy of the reviews and therefore there were no real surprises in stall. The hotel is near the airport and the taxi charge I did find quite exorbitant due to the actual proximity from the airport ( a mere 15 to 20 min drive cost in the region of 20 Euros). The front desk welcome was acceptable and warmed up during our stay. The room was basic, clean and was the actual room we had booked via internet. We had asked for a breakfast and dinner all inclusive rate. The buffet breakfast was adequate, but seemed to run our of items if you did not get there early. The dinner menu looked quite interesting and enticing, but here one must not expect too much. It is very basic indeed, bordering a little disappointing. However, I do not want to be too critical about this as the rate we were paying was very affordable. There also was a wedding going on while we were there, so considerable number of outsiders were drifting through the place, but it did not distract from enjoying the views and what the place had to offer. We were disappointed in the beach as half of it had disappeared recently due to harsh sea tides washing it away. I have heard that sand can be pumped back from further out, but at considerable cost. Overall, the staff were extremely friendly and we were satisfied with our stay there.

Room Tip: Request a sea facing room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twitter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Me & my wife stayed there for three nights in mid-September. Someone already mentioned getting a sea-view room - it really is a good idea. Additionally, our room was on the beach level and we could walk out straight onto a lawn and then a few steps down onto the beach. It was the first private hotel beach my wife was happy with (gray sand, clean, spacious, gently sloped, good amenities).
Most importantly, our stay was blissfully trouble-free. The most serious "problem" was that the room had no electric kettle - we had to fetch tea water from the bar (no big deal). The staff were excellent, the restaurant was not spectacular but still quite good (well... the breakfast buffet lacked salads - would have been an issue had we stayed longer). I had been worried about the airport's proximity (5km or so) but there didn't seem to be any night flights.

Room Tip: Before or after high season, a beach-level sea-view room is a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sporadic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights at the beginning of September. We chose a double room with a garden view.

The room was quite dated and clearly not of the standard that you would expect of a 4 star hotel. When we got there we found a few hairs in the shower, which for me spoiled the excitement of staying at a beach front hotel completely. We complained to reception and they cleaned it, though.

The breakfast was ok, but quite average. The good thing about it, though, is the beach, which is right on your doorstep.

If we go back to Sardinia we won't make the same mistake again: we'll stay at a nicer and less pricey hotel that is not so close to the beach. If you hire a car you can get to good beaches anyway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Icaria80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Hands down, this is one of the places out of the 40 countries and thousands of hotels I've been to, that I would return to. The food...the employees...the activities...the peaceful environment...all top of the top. Thank you for such a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Room #3 was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creichmuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Is is a really very nice hotel with a lot going for it. It is on the beach with plenty of room for guests (although we had the suite and the lifeguard still couldnt get us a place on the front line - not that we cared but they are a bit surly). The reception staff are lovely and the beach bar provides great lunchtime food at reasonable costs. The evening food is pretty average as is breakfast. They have the annoying habit of locking the door to the breakfast room if you didnt beat the 10 oclock curfew in the morning. Quite funny really totally by the rules but not really in keeping with the beach ambiance. My wife believes that this is fair enough, so i freely admit that my thoughts may not be supported by the rest of humanity. Mrs a is now placated. We had the tughese suite which is a big room good for a family of 4 without a requirement for an extra bed. The hotel is very quitely situated although the rooms themselves can be noisy from internal noise but in general are comfortable if not luxurious. The suite is a big room not really a suite per se. However we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was nice to see a different part of this beautiful island.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
2.7 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#7 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
2.1 mi away
Corte Rosada Couples Resort & SPA
2.1 mi away
Hotel Portoconte
Hotel Portoconte
#8 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
5.9 mi away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#1 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Pini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Pini

Property: Hotel dei Pini
Address: Localita Le Bombarde SNC, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Alghero
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#8 Family Hotel in Alghero
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel dei Pini 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dei Pini rises in a reserved area in the north west of sardinia and is set between a private beach of fine white sand and a 30,000 square metre wood. Our hospitality is available in 94 rooms (double, triple and quadruple), 1 junior suite and 4 suite.. Lunch and dinner are served in our panoramic restaurant and breakfast buffet is served in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel dei Pini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Pini Alghero
Hotel Dei Pini Sardinia
Dei Pini Hotel
Hotel Dei Pini Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing