We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy place at Alghero” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mistral
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy place at Alghero”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

Mistral Hotel was an ideal place for my trip to Alghero. I was travelling alone, and I appreciated the cozy atmosphere of the hotel.

Staff, room, etc.:
Besides the affordable price of the place, I was mainly pleased by the extremely helpful and friendly behavior of its owners. They did not hesitate to help me with every wish I had, and they were always kindly answering my questions. It was no problem at all to store my luggage for one night when I had to check out for a one-day trip to Capo Testa. The room itself was spacious and on the roof of the building – though it was not located on the side of the beach, it was nice to have a balcony. The room, bathroom, and the balcony were always spotlessly clean. There were also lots (!) of different TV channels. Air conditioning was included in the price and worked fine. Breakfast was ok – a buffet with sweet croissants, rolls, jam/honey, ham, cheese, salami, juice, and different variants of coffee.

Location:
In principle, Maria Pia beach can be reached in less than 10 minutes – however, I preferred to walk a few minutes further towards Fertilia, where it was a bit more quiet. The closest supermarkets are approximately 7 minutes distant from the hotel in the direction of the city. The way by foot to the historic centre of Alghero is around 30 minutes. Twice I had lunch at the restaurant La Pergola, which is on the way to the beach. The pizza I had was average, though the Sardian pasta was really nice. The stop of the orange ALFA bus (one way for 70 Cent instead of the 20-30 Euro you have to pay for a taxi) from and to the airport is just around the corner at Via Don Minzoni. However, it's a bit hard to know when to get out if you come from the airport. I would recommend to get out as soon as the bus leaves Via Lido, which is the main road along Maria Pia beach. At the airport, you have to buy tickets in advance – people at the tourist information will help you find the tiny ticket machine. The train station is also close to the hotel, just a 10 minutes' walk.

All in all, a very nice experience – I would stay there again when visiting Alghero next time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tc_orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    54
    43
    12
    4
See reviews for
15
72
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

The Hotel Mistral is excellent value for money, its the cheapest around in Alghero and the rooms were bright spacious and very clean. The main Via Lido was only a short stroll away. If you want value for money this is a great hotel. The air con was great, the whole place was spotless and the beach was less than 10 minutes walk. Would return tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

The staff was very friendly. The place was clean and the breakfast was good. It is a bit outside the city, but there is a bus stop 2 minutes away (bus tickets can be bought at the hotel).

We had a very pleasant stay and we recommend the place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

Great location right next to the most beautiful beach in Alghero- clear and clean water, white sand and a stunning view- Old Town on the one side and Fertilia on another. About 30 minutes walk to the old town and 7 minutes walk to our favourite Maria Pia beach. The owner and staff are very nice and friendly people. Massimo is a star! Gianfranco, Michele and Grazia were great too. Room was clean and comfortable, shower was good and powerful. Would be great to have a fridge in the room to put that Sardinian wite wine for a chill, but we asked Gianfranco and he was happy to put our wine into the bar's fridge- so no problem with that. Overall great time in Alghero and Hotel Mistral was a very good place to stay at!

  • Liked — The most beautiful beach nearby, very friendly staff
  • Disliked — No fridge in the room... but it's not a big deal!
  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

Great place for short stay!
Mistral is close to the Maria Pia beach and there are shops and restaurants quite nearby.
The staf is very friendly and the rooms are average. Good value for the price, clean and basic with a nice European breakfast.
It does not have a lot of character and is not in the most exiting neighbourhood with the hospital nearby but it works very well for a short stay although I would not spend an entire holiday here.
If you need somewhere simple and clean that gives good value for your money to stay for a couple of nights it is perfect :0)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

This hotel is ok if you are leaving for airport early as it is about 10 min drive. WE stayed for 4 nights.
The street however it sits on is going thru construction, so you need to reroute yourself to get there. The place is well clean, but bare minimum for rooms, 2 single beds pushed together to make a bigger bed, but this seems to be the norm in Europe. No tea kettle for coffee or tea in room, no clock in room, no internet at hotel. The continental breakfast is buns with ham/cheese, yogurt, couple kinds of dry cereal, and fruit salad..coffe/tea/OJ. It is within 10 min walk from beach, and 25 mins from town center. As others have mentioned BARKING DOGS LATE AT NIGHT...but if you make sure shutters are closed and double doors, turn on ac you don't hear them. oh the a/c is 5 Euro/day. Our room had only a shower, which for us was ok, but if you had kids or looking for relaxing bath at days end, you would be sorriley disappointed in this room. Front desk staff were just going thru the moves, english was not great.
Is ok for one night stay, personally we would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

Just returned from a week's stay at the Mistral. Usually do self-catering. Hotel was spotlessly clean, all staff pleasant and very helpful. Rooms basic but perfectly comfortable, even had a balcony, albeit rather narrow. Breakfast predictable but adequate. Some traffic noise due to position on fairly busy road.
Short walk to superb beach. On bus route into town and to airport. About 2kms walk into Alghero. Represents good value for money and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendliness of staff, convenient.
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Souliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Europa
Residence Europa
#33 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rina Hotel
Rina Hotel
#21 of 51 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#30 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#17 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alguer
Hotel Alguer
#14 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#32 of 51 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mistral

Property: Hotel Mistral
Address: Via Liguria 41, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mistral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mistral Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing