We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and that is all”
Review of La Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Margherita
Ranked #47 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Unless the good location, this hotel is old and the room was also very old and not nice. I was including internet but not working. The breakfast was nice but not a hotel to advice. But the rate was good, about E 60 but in the summer they ask E 90 for a singleroom and E 300 for a doubleroom. You will regret your stay for that prices.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 312 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and we were pretty unimpressed. We arrived and were given our room, we unpacked and went off to the beach to enjoy our day. We came back later in the evening, showered and were just about to go for dinner when we had a phone call from the owner of the hotel. He simply said 'you move rooms now'! He didn't even say hello when we picked the phone up! We went downstairs to see what was going on and ended up having a argument with him. He was quite simply the rudest man I have ever met! He had no customer service skills and certainly had no manners! Basically they had put us in the wrong room and needed us to move before the other guests arrive, this would not have been a problem had they asked politely and apologised for their mistake. We did move and had a room with a window looking out onto a brick wall!

The hotel was clean and rooms spacious but in serious need of renovation. Breakfast was pretty poor with not much choice.

However, the hotel is in a good location, 5 min walk into the centre, loads of places to eat and a 15 min walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

A bit unmodern hotel, maybee not a 3* anymore- but clean rooms and friendly staff pulls the score a bit up. Nice view from the roof, with sun beds and chairs- where you can arrange your own comfort of having a meal or a beer if you like. Very central placed near the old town, 12-15 minutes walk to the main beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrtravelalotaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great location just a short walk to the ocean.
Great spa!
Very clean; just could used some updating from the 1980's style.....however it was very clean.
Excellent european breakfast + service was always helpful!
A short cab ride to the airport and they will call u a cab.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Plus points : breakfast, staff & location
Downsides : old fashioned hotel ( potential with the spa so please work on it!) , grimy carpets, flaking paintwork, rusty window latches ... room was not cleaned every day and for some strange reason, there is a video camera in the room, is this really necessary ?
Would appear to be the ONLY hotel in the town centre, and It was Easter weekend so I hope they are refurbishing before the season really starts.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NJDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Overall opinion:
My boyfriend and I stayed here in early February 2013 for a weekend and thought it was a perfect choice if you are going to Alghero in the winter months on a budget. Since it was too cold to go to the beach, we were extremely thankful for the warm and relaxing spa, which we had all to ourselves (few guests). The furniture/hotel is a little outdated but overall we were happy with the cleanliness, service and super central location and would stay here again if we visit in the winter. (If in the summer we would probably look for a more modern hotel, although this hotel does offer a great panoramic terrasse and a sea view from the 4th floor!)

Positive aspects:
-location, location, location!
-we went in February, aka not beach season, and absolutely loved the spa downstairs (jacuzzi, pool, sauna) and had it basically to ourselves (4 euros for compulsory bathrobe, towel, shower cap and slippers)
-the staff were friendly and nice, though perhaps better to go to the tourist information for advice about Alghero and the surrounding area
-the price was not bad considering the spa, the breakfast was not super fresh but varied (even for a vegetarian)
-the terrasse, which unfortunately was not used for breakfast during our winter-time stay, offers a great panoramic view of the city and would be amazing in summertime
-sea view on the 4th floor, balconies in every room I think
-nice to have a fridge in the room

Negative aspects:
-as other reviews point out, the hotel's decoration and furniture are outdated and feel a little worn out
-uncomfortable, lumpy pillows
-our room had a great working heater BUT the bathroom window leaked air from outside meaning it was cold and our towels did not dry
-...also because there were not enough towel racks, definitely a problem in summertime
-there is a hairdryer but it seems old and inefficient
-the TV only had Italian channels
-there were few guests when we stayed here so we barely noticed, but it seems that noise travels easily through the walls
-the heater made noise that disrupted my boyfriend's sleep somewhat

Room Tip: 4th floor, sea view - the room on the south corner seemed to have the largest balcony and to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had booked this hotel online and when we arrived, we were surprised to see that the exterior of the building is under renovation. This was not mentioned on the site and in fact we didn't recognize the building as a hotel until we saw the main entrance in between the construction platforms.
The manager was very nice and took me to the rooms to see, however the views were obscured by scaffolding and I found the rooms that I saw to be cold and dark. We were to pay 100E for the night and I was not impressed. However, the manager was kind enough to refund the payment through bookings.com and I believe that when the works are finished, the hotel could be much more appealing.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HongKongDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#9 of 49 in Alghero
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#13 of 49 in Alghero
761 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#14 of 49 in Alghero
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#30 of 49 in Alghero
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Margherita

Address: Via Sassari 70, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Price Range: $82 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Margherita 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Margherita Alghero, Sardinia
La Margherita Hotel Alghero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing