We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff and great location!”
Review of Hotel Catalunya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Catalunya
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely staff and great location!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was a lovely hotel and I am planning to book again next year. The staff were welcoming and attentive and I felt well looked after. For example I have a walking stick and I arrived back from my first day out and they had placed a seat in the shower for me without me asking. My daughter booked this hotel for me and the rest of my family were staying in the old town Alghero. It was a great location and a five minute walk through the park to the Old Town. There is a roof top bar that overlooks Alghero and the view from my sea view room was amazing. The rooms are not ultra modern but met my expectations.

Room Tip: Book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nloue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVisconti, Responsabile marketing at Hotel Catalunya, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guests,
thank you for leaving your comment on tripadvisor.
We are happy to read about your very good impression about our Hotel , you will be always welcome at anytime you decide to come back to Alghero.
Best regards and arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    297
    141
    55
    19
See reviews for
82
287
25
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

There is no doubt that this hotel has absolutely stunning views. We had a deluxe room on a higher level so we could enjoy the views. The staff were all lovely and helpful, breakfast on top floor was good. Coffee was disappointing. Rooms had a/c which was much appreciated. The bathroom was not amazing, the shower was old, water pressure not great. Considering it's a four star hotel, they didn't replenish shampoo etc and had plastic cups in the room for water instead of proper glasses. Beach was nice, you would otherwise have to pay for use of chairs and umbrella. NOT easy to find though at all. All in all good stay, just small things here and there that were only disappointing because of the "four star" name

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVisconti, Marketing manager at Hotel Catalunya, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guests,
we thank you for leaving your comment on Tripadvisor, we are happy to read that you appreciated the location of our Hotel, the view, the kindness of our staff , the breakfast served at our Blau Restaurant and the room.
The Hotel is planning a renovation of its bathroom as final part of the Hotel restyling started on 2009.
As our Hotel is an eco-friendly one, inside the shower or bath tub you will find a dispenser for the shampoo and over the wash basin the soap, to avoid waste harmful for the enviroment.
Our chambermaids usually replenish shampoo and soaps when they are finished.
The use of plastic glasses in the bathroom is part of the eco friendly policy, as those glasses are disposable and biodegrable ones.
We hope to guest you again in the future, a kind arrivederci from Alghero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have been in Alghero for four days and stayed at this Hotel for three nights. The staff was definitely polite and we had a warm welcome. For the remaining aspects the Hotel is not at the level of a four stars Hotel. The room was quite old and small. The bathroom old with a plastic box shower. No shampoo or bath gel the first night. WiFi worked only the second day and not with constant quality. Breakfast was served at the 9th floor on a closed terrace with an great view of the Alghero Bay. The staff was polite and ready to help and to make us feeling comfortable. Unfortunately, breakfast variety was scarce, again, well below expectations for a 4 stars. Just a medium business hotel breakfast that you can have in whatever two/three stars hotel around the world. In Sardinia, we had great breakfasts with local food in three starts Hotel. The Hotel is well located in the center of Alghero. This is a plus and also a minus because it makes the Hotel pretty noisy if you want to keep your windows open. I would definitely avoid it in the future.

Room Tip: I would avoid lower floors because of the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vasca67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

July was the first time that I had stayed in the Catalunya despite many years of visiting Alghero. They say life is too short for regrets, but I do regret not finding this hotel sooner.

My initially reaction on my first night was to write a review focusing on the view from our room on the 8th floor and the Blau skybar on the 9th floor. Amazing as they are, it would be wrong to focus on these solely. After a few days stay you soon realise that the view pales into insignificance behind the quality of the staff. I have long held the view that any hotel is only as good as its staff and I found the Catalunya’s to be second to none. Reception staff, back office, breakfast staff, cleaning staff and bar staff literally could not do enough to ensure that your stay was as enjoyable as possible. And always with a smile! We stayed for a total of 17 nights and were genuinely made to feel like family for the entire duration of our stay.

Specifics
Room: We chose a junior suite on the 8th floor. Views to die for! Impossible to find a picture that would do them justice. Huge bed, spotlessly clean (and maintained that way on a daily basis), fresh towels every day, robes and slippers, safe, tea & coffee making facilities and a sitting area. Balcony with table and two chairs. Bathroom is quite small, but serves its purpose.
A little more expensive than a deluxe room, but worth every penny in my opinion.

Breakfast: Superb views from the glass fronted restaurant on the 9th floor. Fantastic range of very high quality pastries and cakes, fresh fruit, yoghurts and breads. Fruit juices, still and sparkling water. Sliced cheese and sliced meats along with a few hot dishes inc scrambled eggs and mini franks. There is a toaster and a self-service coffee machine. On the latter, speak nicely to the extremely pleasant and efficient staff and they will happily make you a coffee from the barista machine at no extra charge. Much better and a very nice surprise not to be charged! The selection changes very slightly every day, which gives a little variety on a longer stay. Once again, I cannot speak highly enough of Andrea and his staff.

Hotel restaurant: On the 1st floor overlooking the park. Very calming neutral décor. We ate here one night of our stay and I have to say it was one of our best meals in Alghero. Totally blown away. We opted for a seafood menu. Quality of food, presentation and service would have been verging on Michelin star.

Private beach: A little out of town on the main Lido beach, the hotel has an arrangement with one of the beach clubs. Free entry with two sunbeds and an umbrella. Normally this would be €20 if you are to pay privately. There is a shuttle bus that leaves at 10 every morning, or it is a very pleasant 15 minute stroll. A very nice little perk indeed.

Public areas and hotel in general: There have been a few reviews about the hotel being a little tired and general niggles with rooms and public areas. Yes, like any privately owned hotel, if you look very closely, there are a few areas that could do with a refresh. But in generally I found the hotel to be spotlessly clean and a highly enjoyable place to stay. I contacted the hotel in advance for a lot of information and I would have to thank Raffaella in particular, for her help, professionalism and patience with me and my very poor Italian.

Over the years I have stayed in 5 star Hiltons and Four Season hotels. All wonderful places, but if had the choice of staying in one of these in Alghero or returning to the Catalunya, I would return to the warmth and friendliness of the Catalunya without a second thought.

My only question is when can I return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catspjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVisconti, Marketing manager at Hotel Catalunya, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for leaving such a good and accurate review over Hotel Catalunya.
Me and the staff of Hotel Catalunya are proud of making you feel like home and we are really glad for having had the opportunity to meet people like you, always smiling and happy.
There will be always a room for you at Hotel Catalunya when you decide to come back to the beautiful Alghero.
We look forward to hearing from you very soon.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2014

No Wifi first night, which was not fixed until next morning.
No hot water first night, had to change to new room next day.
Bad photocopy map instead of "real" city-map. Why beeing so cheap?
No compensation for the bad experience was offered (had to tell the hotel on departure, which was accepted, at least one good thing)
Safety boxes are not fixed in the wall/closet - can be carried away...
Bad coffee in the breakfast area - but you can ask for "better" coffee made by staff in another coffee machine.
Bad / no parking offered. You will have to find your own parking place on your own expense.
Good: Close to old town

Room Tip: Make sure to get a real map and test the water (ensure you have hot water)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torbjorn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVisconti, Responsabile marketing at Hotel Catalunya, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for leaving your comment on tripadvisor.
We are very sorry to read about your bad experience at our Hotel, but you forgot to write that our general manager togheter with all our staff were very active trying to solve the problem you complained about: they offer a room's change,although the Hotel was almost fully booked and you accepted to move to a room in a higher floor, in the new room everyhing worked properly.
The staff at Blau Restaurant always makes coffees ( espresso, americano, cappuccino etc.) with an apposite coffee machine , the waiters always come to the table and ask to our guests if they would like to have a coffee/tea etc.
A self service machine is also available in the corner buffet and many guests really appreciate it.
Our Hotel has no a parking place and never advertised to have it,
There is a big free parking near the Hotel ( 50 meters).
We are more than thankful for the time you spent for your review and therefore we send you our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The overview of this place is that it markets itself as a 'business' type hotel and it clearly likes to think of itself as a four star establishment, but it is anything but.

The view is as amazing as most people have said and that saves it from being terrible, but it can't possibly be a business hotel with wireless internet that is indescribably bad; staff that are, at best taciturn and an overriding policy of doing things 'on the cheap'.

Our room was not particularly clean with paint peeling off the window frames, no Sky remote, no milk for the tea, and grime on the window sills.

They have Sky, but barely any channels. I was there during a big World Cup game and Wimbledon, but was told by the staff that "they didn't have the right channels" – in other words they wouldn't pay for more than about half a dozen basic ones, such as BBC World Service.

The wifi is woeful and works OK only in reception. When I asked about this I was told brusquely that it "works in all hotel", which is definitely does not. They also use a voucher system and log who uses it and hand out badly photocopied maps, which adds to the feeling of cheapness.

I'm pretty sure that a four-star hotel should be able to provide a small map that isn't a grainy photocopy.

The exterior and parts of the interior are very shabby and for my money the whole place needs a facelift. The sink in the bathroom also leaked if we ran the tap for a minute or two and the bath itself was very old and grimy.

On the plus side, the location is great, the views of the harbour are wonderful and the breakfast was decent for a buffet that a few people seem to be complaining about. It wasn't great, but it was good enough.

What else? Ah yes, the "private beach"... it's not. It's a section of beach near Maria Pia, but about 10 to 15 mins nearer to town than the lovely Maria Pia and all you get – if you can find it, that is – are free sun loungers in the middle of a very busy reserved area. And the staff there are very rude and use some bizarre booking system where they place you in a specific area and woe betide you if you sit on the wrong one!

My impression of the place is that it's using the fab views to take attention away from its many problems and never in a month of Sunday's is this a four-star, making it too expensive and just really disappointing, as it could and should be so much better.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are the only reason to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sean4375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVisconti, marketing manager at Hotel Catalunya, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Mr Sean,
we thank you for reviewing our Hotel on tripadvisor.
For a correct information of all the travelers I have to remark that the wi-fi is available in all the Hotel : in the hall, at Blau Sky bar and in all the rooms.
In every floor there are 4 wi-fi access points that send the signal inside the rooms, after your complaint we immediatly checked the quality of the signal inside the rooms with a technician of the set up wi-fi company and we asked for suggestion to strenghen the signal inside the rooms, although the signal is available in all the rooms.
Our superior rooms and J Suites have both digital tv and Sky : the free sky channels are all the 100's ( fox life, fox crime, sky 1 etc, circa 80 channels), some of the 200's ( sport), all the 400's ( i.e. discovery channel, national geografic, history channel etc.) all the 500's ( news), all the 600's ( cartoons) and all the 700's ( music).
For Movies on 300's channels and sport events on 200's you have to contact the reception and to pay a fee.
Our Hotel has an arrangement with a beach club on the Lido beach, the access and the use of sunbeds and umbrellas are free for our guests as the shuttle service from and to the beach.
Thank you for appreciating the location of our Hotel and the beatiful view.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had 2 Junior Suites overlooking the old town & harbour and they were great. Huge, clean rooms with separate sitting areas and bathroom. Lovely deck overlooking old town & harbour which was magnificent. Two small quibbles were the lack of staff at the bar ( one poor man having to take orders, make the drinks & deliver them as it was table service). An additional waitor would have been useful.

Room Tip: Request the Junior Suites overlooking the old town & you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozeneurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVisconti, marketing manager at Hotel Catalunya, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are very glad to read you like and appreciate our J suites and we hope to welcoming you again very soon.
Thank you for your suggestions and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#3 of 49 in Alghero
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,049 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#10 of 49 in Alghero
653 reviews
6.3 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
891 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalunya

Property: Hotel Catalunya
Address: Via Catalogna 24, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Alghero
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#10 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalunya 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Catalunya is a 4-star hotel strategically positioned in Alghero city centre, with beautiful views of the Harbour, the bay and the old town. The Hotel is just a short walk from the historical city centre and the beautiful Lido beach. This hotel offers 128 elegantly furnished rooms, raging from a spacious Standard room, sea view Superior room, Junior Suites with balcony and Suites. All 128 rooms are equipped with every comfort : telephone, air conditioning, sat tv, complimentary wireless internet connection, safe, minibar, en-suite bathroom with bathtub or shower, hairdryer. The superior rooms have all sea view, tv sat with shy gold vision and pay tv, coffee and tea making facilities. The J Suites on the 8th floor also have a balcony with a fantastic view over the harbour. The Hotel has two Restaurants: Maqù Restaurant on the 1st floor can comfortably host up to 250 people. Our Blau Skybar&Events Restaurant on the top floor of the hotel can easily accommodate up to 150 people. It is here that the guests will enjoy a generous buffet breakfast. Blau Restaurant is also available for special events (weddings, gala dinners, business lunches). Our Blau Skybar, on the top floor of the hotel, is the perfect location to relax with a drink while enjoying a Sardinian sunset and the breathtaking panoramic view of the city and the sea. The Conference Centre consists of a spacious foyer and 4 meeting rooms of different sizes to suit groups from 12 to 400 people. Wi-fi Internet is available in all meeting rooms and in the foyer, and two fully equipped PC's are available in the hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalunya Hotel Alghero
Catalunya Alghero
Hotel Catalunya Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing