We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlos V Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlos V Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here last September and it is a beautiful hotel with a
beautiful view of the sea and Sardinian sunset.Have holidayed in Sardinia last 3yrs in a row now!we hired a car amd stayed in La Maddalena beautiful and St Teresa di Gallura its a beautiful island with amazing white sandy beaches my favourite place in the world.The rooms in Carlos V are spacious and very clean.We ate in the restaurant one night (not buffet)food is excellent andy husband is a real foodie so knows his food there is also ample choice of gorgeous
restaurants in the town,Ai Tiguri Igloo Gelateria etc! We ate in the Michelin star restaurant but amazingly it wasn't as good as other local restaurants.I would recommend this hotel it's so well located and a ten min walk to the old town perfect all over for a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahmcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    323
    104
    31
    10
See reviews for
120
479
14
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We just came back from our holidays in alghero. We stayed at Carlos V for 7 nights which included breakfast. The location of th hotel is not in the centre but the walk into town (10min walk) is very pleasant; no car needed

Overall the hotel was relaxing and good however I felt it lacked some points which would have been welcomed and expected from a 5 star hotel in my opinion - some may disagree :)

Breakfast
The food was not great if I am being honest. The choice is limited and there was too many 'unhealthy' food and not enough healthy option. The scrambled eggs where to oily same goes for the mushrooms. I understand we are in Italy but I don't think food should be swimming in a pool of oil. The omelette looked very popular but I didn't take it as it was again to oily for me

The cereal was ok, however not crunchy enough. In hot wheather when not stored properly it gets quiet soggy and tasteless due to the heat and humidity... This is how the cereal turned out to be

The juice (in my opinion) was insulting. This is not fresh orange juice but purely concentrated orange mixed with water and served. That's not acceptable for a 5 star hotel at all

Pool and bar / restaurant
This is probably the best part of the hotel, comfortable chairs, clean, tidy and lots of sunbed to used and available for the guest to used. The pool however was way to salty for me, you can actually see lots of salt crust forming all over the edge of the pool... :(
The towel/pool systems is annoying some times, but works nicely and at the end we were not bothered :)

We didn't eat at the restaurant so I cannot comment

Bedroom
Cleaned and very wel kept. The shower where a little bit small but decent enough. The bed however was not comfortable, I ended up having a backache. The mattress was way too hard for me. But again this is a personal choice, some like it hard some soft :). I would have like to have a piece of chocolate every night and the bed done (for the evening) would have been welcome. This is at least all 5 star hotel I have been too

Overall good hotel, and would probably come back




Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Natk1ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

In June/July 2013 we had a wonderfully relaxing14 days
holiday in the Carlos V, with a most comfortable modern room, which provided everything we required. All the hotel staff were warm, friendly, very courteous,and most helpful to us.
It was a pleasure to enjoy the hotel swimming pool, and sun loungers were always available throughout the day, with no maddening morning 'rush' ! The life guards / pool attendants were always cheerful, most polite, and made sure the pool environs were always spotless.
There was a very wide choice on the breakfast menu, which we enjoyed in a large, bright and very comfortable dining-room while most attentive staff looked after everyone.
Lunch on the terrace overlooking the sea is a must, and dinner in the hotel restaurant is most enjoyable, with a varied menu, with something for everyone.
The hotel is in a beautiful location, overlooking the sea, and walking to the 'old town' of Alghero each evening was a delight. We will be back!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your kind comments, for the great review and for your compliments to our staff.
It is a pleasure for us knowing that you have had an unforgettable journey here at the Carlos V!
We are glad that you will want to come back to our hotel during your next trip to Alghero.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We've just returned from a lovely week in Sardinia WITHOUT our teenage sons. We had a fantastically relaxing time at this 5* hotel. Room was good with extra big bed, free mini bar and everything else you would expect from a 5* hotel. (Be aware that the really effective air con switches off when the balcony door is open.) OK so the beds weren't turned down every night with a chocolate on the pillow like some 5* hotels we've stayed in but it was definitely a 5* experience. Breakfast offered a good choice and provided us with enough food to not need lunch. Whole hotel was spotlessly clean and staff were polite and pleasant. Magnificent views over the med and fantastic sunsets. The hotel is a 10 to 15 minute stroll from the old town...not ideal if your elderly or have mobility problems but great for walking off the fantastic meals you can get in the many restaurants...a must. If you're thinking of booking this hotel go bed and breakfast so you can try out as many of the towns restaurants as possible. I would also recommend paying the €10 to have a 'tea tray' in your room although you might want to buy some proper milk at the local supermarket as they only provide little pots of 'coffee cream' to go in your tea.
No hesitation is recommending the Carlos V for a nice relaxing, stress free holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have as fantastic view but the road can be noisy if the balcony door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest

we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the kind comments and compliments about our hotel and our staff. About the beds that are not turned down every night with a chocolate on the pillow we can actually say that is not the right season to eat chocolate, there are 35°C in Sardinia and even if you can find chocolate is not the best thing to eat, it is so warm...instead we preferred to give you free mini- bar.
We are really pleased that it was a memorable vacation in Alghero.
We're all waiting for you again on your next trip to our beautiful city.

With our warmest greetings, we remain.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just returned after a week of wonderful Sardinian luxury. The hotel was fantastic. Our room overlooked the pool, with a sea view and we were lucky enough to see the most beautiful sunsets in the evening from our balcony. The room was clean and the inclusive mini bar was a bonus! The pool area was well maintained with enough sun beds for guests to relax by the pool and with a bar close by for drinks, snacks and ice cream! The buffet breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. It was just a short walk to the old town to visit the restaurants and bars...a must!
We did not hire a car but it was easy to get to nearby sandy beaches on the bus which stopped outside the hotel - only a 10-15 minute journey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest

really thank you for the kind comments and the great review!
We are happy that you appreciated and enjoyed your holiday with us.


Hoping to give you our warmest welcome again.
Greetings from your relaxing Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here in mid-July, just before the August holiday season madness in Italy (OK I know that Sardinia isn't Italy?) and we hadn't booked and had difficulty finding a room for a couple of nights. We don't need a pool, gym, executive style room and so on so this was an unplanned step up in rating for us on our touring holiday. However it was rather nice to enjoy the refinements of a 5* hotel starting with the excellent porter who took our luggage and us to the room.
A comfortable, well appointed room. We didn't know (and neither did anyone else we spoke to) that the fridge is in fact a gratis supply of basic drinks and not a "thief in the room" minibar.
We had a safety issue with some dodgy wiring of the hairdryer in the bathroom and we reported it to the manager who had it resolved immediately and put a bottle of prosecco in the room by way of an apology. Top marks for this. If you stay here, especially with young children, do check that there isn't any potentially bare wiring in the bathroom.
If you need all the amenities of this type of hotel then this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guests,
thanks for having spent time to share with us your experience at the Hotel Carlos V, thanks for the good words and compliments, we always do our best to make your holiday unforgettable!
If any problem the managment is here 24 hours and we react as soon as we can.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wonderful five-stars hotel, clean, spatious and well situated.
The only thing that disappointed us has been the nice and kind but bad coordinated staff of the restaurant by a rude and ill-tempered head waiter (the one with the white blazer, we don't remember his name).
Apart from this inconvenience, our stay has been very pleasant and the food was delicious.
Alghero is a magical little town and we can't wait to visit Sardinia again!

Greeting from Sheffield!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALCHAP70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you for choosing our hotel and thanks for taking time and let us know about your experience with us.
We are sorry for your comment on one waiter, we really apologize on his behalf, sometimes working hard could bring people to seem a bit rude, usually he his one of the most professional person you can never meet,
but who has not lost sometimes patience when under stress ?
I am sure of your your understanding.
Hoping to welcoming you again in near future, so that he will have the chance show how he and the restaurant staff are professional in the reality.
Best regards, arrivederci!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
3.1 mi away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#2 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
6.8 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#7 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#6 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#1 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos V Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos V Hotel

Property: Carlos V Hotel
Address: Lungomare Valencia 24, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alghero
#1 Business Hotel in Alghero
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlos V Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Carlos V Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlos v
Carlos v Alghero
Carlos V Hotel Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing