We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlos V Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carlos V Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

First time in Sardinia and Alghero. Generally happy with Carlos V although slightly disappointed by "side sea view" which was just about a sea view if you stretched your head right out over the balcony so not worth the extra money really just a view of the pool and houses adjacent to hotel. Even if you have breakfast included in your rate they will charge you for breakfast in your room not just tray charge but for whole meal. We didn't realise this when ordering but found it had been added to our bill at the end and the girl at the front desk couldn't remove the charge. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was excellent and the waiters were friendly and professional. The hotel is in a good location with about a 20 minute walk along the sea front into the city centre which is really pretty and has fantastic food. The bar by the pool does great cocktails and the whole outside area and terrace gets loads of sun.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a side sea room if your expecting a sea view although they maybe slightly larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank androidsdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for having shared with us your experience at The Hotel CArlos V,
thanks for the kind compliments on our Hotel and services.
About the breakfast we always say this is included when having it in the restaurant, we are sorry if the charge disappointed you but this service is an extras, dedicated only for you, in the leaflets in the room is cleary stated the costs of this service, it takes time and one waiter at least for satisfy your request, if it would be free of charge and everyone would ask for breakfast in the room??? 100 wateirs would not be enought! Anyway you could ask for the price just to not have any surprise.
The side sea view is called SIDE just because the sea is in your left side, otherwise you wish to open the window and see the ocean in front of you, then ask for a FRONT sea view. At the Hotel Carlos V work in the name of clearness and transparency, and we are pleased to inform our guests of the exact type of rooms so that they can consciously choose the perfect location for their relax.
Hoping to welcome you again in a front sea view room
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    323
    104
    31
    10
See reviews for
120
479
14
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tours, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Location: far enough away from the 'tourist' part of the city to be quiet, but not too far to be inconvenient. 20 min walk gets you into the centre of town

Cleanliness: fabulous (and I'm a cleanliness freak !!), really cannot fault it, the rooms and all communal areas are immaculate!

Food: restaurant food not bad, and reasonably priced. Huge selection at breakfast.

Staff: all friendly and helpful

Value for money: really good.

I've been travelling for 25 years, and I would say that this is one of the better hotels I've stayed in for the price range - would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks million for your review, reading your satisfation is the goal of our work and it helps us to keep working in this direction!
thank you for choosing our hotel and for having enjoyed our location and the helpfulness of our staff.
We hope to welcome you again in Alghero!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Have seen a couple of bad reviews on this site but don't be put off. This was our second visit to the carlos and hope to go again.The sea view rooms are the best although they do cost extra. Food in the restaurants was good but not aimed at the British market as the majority of visitors are continental. Pretty good for me as I love Italian food. The lunch menu remained the same all week, I would have preferred a menu fisso.
Can't fault the hotel or the staff who were all very friendly.
Best time to go is late June/July as the wind can be cool earlier and it gets very hot in August.
Hotel is well placed for exploring Alghero, a nice town but expensive as it is a cruise stop.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonksey664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi,
we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and of course that you came back again!
Thank you for the compliments and for the confidence you have shown in us, we are looking forward to welcome you again and again in our beautiful city.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

When we booked a week at Carlos V, we wanted a luxurious experience, a great breakfast buffet, nice days by the pool and to be able to live within walking distance of the city. I have to say, it delivered. We booked through the hotels homepage, which I totally recommend, we got a family room with one night free, free minibar (water, a few softdrinks and occasional beer), free wifi, and including breakfast buffet. Maybe you get some of these things through other sites too, I don't know.
The breakfast buffet was very nice, we especially loved the chef making omelettes. Our kids liked the small pool (but there were almost no other small children by the pool), but keep in mind it has no shade during the day. By the pool we noticed the only problem we had, when ordering by the pool the staff forgot to bring out my order poolside. And then pretended that the sandwich should be toasted and then left to cool.... Anyway, not really a dealbreaker.
We walked to central alghero in about 10-15 minutes with our kids at 2.5 and 5. There's a bus stop right outside if you dont want to walk. All in all, we're very pleased with out stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GoldPeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest

we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the kind comments and compliments about our hotel and our staff. About foods/drink at swimming pool, probably there is been a misunderstanding, sorry.
We are really pleased that it was a memorable vacation in Alghero.
We're waiting for you again on your next trip to our beautiful city.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We visited Alghero on the second week of our honeymoon after spending the first week in Isola Rossa.

I can see where Alghero gets it comparison to Barcelona from, quite clearly: The hustle and bustle of a historic town with cathedral after cathedral, monuments and statues adorning the colourful streets that are lit to draw you into the addictive market stalls and many restaurant and bars. (Best restaurants were Kings, Steak House Angedras and Masterchef O'Neills.)

The resemblance stops there though as Alghero holds its head high with the same family values and traditions as the rest of Sardinia. It's still so alike to Isola Rossa in that sense making the ache of missing that beautiful village a little easier.

The best thing about Alghero is the home made ice creams (gelatos), they are simply to die for. 'Igloos' - An utter must! We were addicted to having one every day and now most evenings.

Carlos V was a great 5* hotel with fancy lighting systems in the hotel rooms, spotlights in cupboards and heated mirrors, double showers etc. the only thing I could be a little picky on was the that the windows were not clean and for a 5* I thought that was a bit of a let down but no big deal.

The staff were friendly enough. We received a bottle of wine the first night to congratulate us on our recent marriage. The breakfast was amazing, to die for! Omelettes made to order, amazing pastries and sweets and cooked breakfastes too on the buffet. Location was pretty good, only a 15 minute downhill walk into the town, about 20mins to the old town but a good 30mins to the beach so we only went once then stayed the rest of the holiday but the lush pool.

All in all a fantastic hotel and would stay there again if I was in Alghero.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandF2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel and for the very kind comments and compliments!
Our staff is waiting for you during your next trip to Alghero (mini Barcelona!).

Greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

First of all we had a great time at a very good hotel and would go back without reservation. The tone was set by the warm friendly welcome from the Reception staff. Although we arrived well before the normal booking in time we were immediately given our room. All the staff we met were excellent and very welcoming. Had a good football chat to the lifeguard (a Juventus supporter). The room was spacious and kept spotless by the housekeeping team. It was also kept very cool - an essential as the temperature climbed to high 30s. One criticism was that the bathroom was cramped - if you sat properly on the loo you banged your head on the sink!!!
Outside the pool was large, clean and sea water. There were plenty of sunbeds and pool towels were provided.
Breakfasts were fine with the normal continental hotel fare - hot buffet, cold meats and cheeses, fruit pastries, fresh rolls etc. Coffee or tea were brought to the table. We only ate one lunch at the hotel which was good and went out every evening.
The walk to the town is around 15 minutes but should not be underestimated if attempted in the searing heat of the day. There town or city as it is known is great particularly the old quarter at night.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the sea were probably attractive but who wants to spend much time in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 79Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are happy that you chose our hotel for your trip to Alghero, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you so much for the great review and for appreciating our Hotel, our services and our staff.
Reviews like yours are the goal of our work.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

A great hotel with friendly, professional staff. Superb pool and surrounding areas, very relaxing. We had a sea view which was lovely and enjoyed a complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view room 127 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are really happy that you spent a lovely stay with us and thank you for the great comments and compliments on the hotel and our services. Glad that you would recommend us!!
We are waiting for you again to enjoy a magnificent view of Alghero from our panoramic terrace!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
3.1 mi away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#1 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
6.8 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#7 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#5 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#9 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#2 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos V Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos V Hotel

Property: Carlos V Hotel
Address: Lungomare Valencia 24, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alghero
#1 Family Hotel in Alghero
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlos V Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carlos V Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlos v
Carlos v Alghero
Carlos V Hotel Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing