We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alghero”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alghero”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent a wonderful weekend here. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the town but quieter than if it were closer. There is a bus which can take you to town. The rooms were well kept although the beds a little hard! Breakfasts were really good with a large variety and was served in a large area with sea view and outdoor seating.

Room Tip: Rooms with either sea view or pool view are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    190
    78
    34
    10
See reviews for
87
275
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a two week holiday at this hotel in August. The hotel is situated at the quieter end of Alghero.
We had a sea facing room on the 3rd floor, whilst the hotel catered for families it was a quiet hotel and the swimming pool was a real blessing in the high temperatures during our stay. The pool together with all the facilities are well maintained and very clean as are the hotel rooms restaurants and all the amenities. Rooms are well appointed with good air conditioning and the level of service through out the hotel is excellent. Food is typically Sardinian well produced and the restaurant manager and his team will always provide good alternatives if the menu is not entirely to your choice.We enjoyed our stay everyone was very friendly and helpful. We had a very enjoyable time.

Room Tip: We had a sea facing room which I would commend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent a week at the Calabona with my girlfriend and I must say we had a fantastic time . Staff were superb from reception through to restaurant to cleaners . The food was great and eating breakfast and the gala dinner in the Vele , looking out to sea with the manicured lawns you just couldn't fault ! The short walk into town was no problem and considering there were the Ascension celebrations together with the music festival , it was a delight to walk back up the hill for a quiet nightcap at the bar. Loved the beach and pool areas too. All in all we didn't want to leave and I could just go on and on !!! Many thanks to everyone at the hotel and our holiday rep Roberta . Will def return one day , Mark and Liegh

Room Tip: We had room 206 . fine for us looking out over next doors rooftops and out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Myself and my 2 kids stayed at Calabona for a week in August 2013. We had a triple room on the second floor with a pool and sea view - definitely worth upgrading to one of these as sitting on the balcony early morning and late evening was to die for! We really liked the tiled floors and Sardinian decor and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean all the time. The beach is small but good for snorkelling and the pool is of a great size. Breakfast in the "tent" was brilliant with a great view out to sea. And to call it a tent is to rather undersell it. The range of food at breakfast was a bit limited but it was fine. Lunch by the pool was very nice, but we didn't eat at the hotel in the evenings. There was a good mix of couples and families, mostly English and Italian although as we were leaving there seemed to be an influx of English people. The hotel is very, very quiet in the evening and although the walk into town is nice, it is a bit on the hilly side, so we tended to drive as we had a hire car. Parking in Alghero is a nightmare though! Wifi in the rooms was of excellent quality and there is also a table tennis table hidden away you can use as well!

As many other people have mentioned, the staff are wonderful and overall we had a really great time in Alghero and at the Calabona. Walking around the little lanes in town at night and the al fresco eating culture was brilliant. You also get fantastic sunsets over beyond the harbour area.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a sea view. Family rooms seemed to be on the ground floor, so you lose the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabona, Direttore at Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are happy to read that you spent a pleasant holiday in Alghero and in Hotel Calabona.

We hope to welcome you soon for a new holiday and we remind you the benefits that you can get by registering for the newsletter from the official Hotel's web site, through which you can access to the special offers available only to registered guests!

Greetings from Alghero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a really excellent stay here in August 2013. Quiet location, an easy walk from the town. Good pool and beach. Lovely food. Stay was made all the better by really friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms, beds a bit hard and safe a bit small though. Would definitely stay again if visiting Alghero.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mogs224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here in July 2013. Hotel is situated on the outskirts of Alghero and about 20 minute walk to the centre. The very local area is little run down but not a problem and we felt perfectly safe walking in the area. The beach is just across the road but rocky and small. Most people stayed at the hotel pool which was a good size, clean and temperature warm. We found the hotel peaceful and very clean. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels replaced if left on the bathroom floor. We ate outdoor for breakfast with a decent choice of food. One small issue was the orange juice which was the powder mixed with water variety. The hotel should provide fresh or the carton variety at least. We found the waiters to be attentive (mostly older and a refreshing change from young waiters who don't always provide a good service). Prices for drinks and food in Sardinia are quite expensive but mostly this is due to the poor UK/Euro exchange rate. The reception staff were very helpful and happy to book tables at restaurants (I recommend PACOs. There is a local shop about 10 minute walk from the hotel. I recommend hiring a car for some of the time to get to some good beaches. I can't recall seeing a fitness suite.

Room Tip: 3rd floor sea views are best but ground floor rooms good for families with children as can walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is lovely, I would say that it is traditionally Italian and they do like their dark furniture, something that I have found in all the trips that I have made to Italy, I would rather have something traditional to the country that I am in than a hotel that could be anywhere. The Marquee for breakfast is not a tent it is has a solid roof and the most wonderful views over the sea, it is of high quality and was the venue for a wedding the day that we arrived. The staff are so friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. The pool area is clean and there were always plenty of sunbeds with shade even in the high season. The beach is a little disappointing but there are plenty of lovely quite beaches to be had further along the coast. Dinner was limited in choice, a lot of veal which I do not mind but when there are only four choices for the main meal and two of them are veal that is poor. All in all I would recommend this hotel, but be aware that it is a good 30 minute walk into Alghero

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillibet_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabona, Direttore at Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and the precious suggestions.

I'm sure that, since you didn't like veal our Maitre did you offer, as per consuetude, alternative dishes in adjunct to the daily menu selections.

Please remember that, on request, it is possible to have also celiac dishes or diet dishes according to any particular needs.

We await to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
6.4 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
4.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
622 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#11 of 49 in Alghero
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#3 of 49 in Alghero
516 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#7 of 49 in Alghero
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna

Property: Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
Address: Localita Calabona CP 15 | SP 105, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#4 Family Hotel in Alghero
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its peaceful location, Hotel Calabona faces out to sea. The hotel is situated just a short distance from Alghero, Sardinia's "Catalan" city, which retains much of its original historical centre. The small beach, nestling in a delightful bay of sand and rock, is equipped from June to September with sun loungers and parasols, allowing you to make the most of the sun and the emerald-green, crystalline sea right in front of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing