We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Clean”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Really nice attentive staff and waiters especially very friendly and a good laugh, If you're looking for a nice, clean peaceful hotel with good pool then this could be for you, the breakfast views are unbelievable. And the walk down to the harbour is long enough to walk off all that pasta!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank po1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    184
    78
    33
    10
See reviews for
84
266
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here for a conference for five nights. The property is quite nice: it has a pool and private beach and the food is very good. It is about a 20 minute walk to the main part of town, which means that it is quiet, but maybe less than convenient for going out at night.
The rooms were nice but nothing fancy, though the bathrooms were more modern than I expected and had decent toiletries provided. The best part of the room was the fact that it was extremely clean, both when I arrived and each afternoon after the housekeeping staff had come through.
There was a mix-up with our airline and I ended up without my luggage for most of the trip. The hotel staff was very helpful in getting the matter sorted out.

Room Tip: If you would like a quieter night, avoid courtyard facing rooms. If anyone is in the courtyard at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I spent a week there at a conference. The hotel is really nice as it has its own pool, and the sea is just about 10 meters from the Hotel entrance. It has its own private, though not very big, beach. The breakfast is also quite nice. In my view, it is a good 3 star hotel, but not the 4 star one. All the time I went for a lunch I had to remind that I am a vegetarian, though I wrote about this even before to the hotel manager, and he assured me there will be no problems with that. There were no problems except the necessity to tell several times the same thing every day. The rest was quite good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a week here
Weather beautiful all week
About twenty minutes out by the edge of town but the walk along the prom lovely

Food in hotel very good - almost family run

Pool area so quiet but that's what we needed

Not much to do in evening unless you walked into town

Lovely shops in alghero marina stunning

The beach at the other end of the town nest the pine forest was the cleanest beach I've ever seen and waters so so clear a definite visit a few times while you are there

The hotel had a small lovely cove ideal just opposite hotel.

We had a truly lovely holiday ... Well be back !!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandraherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed at the Calabona Hotel on Sept. 28,29 at the start of a cycling trip and the Calabona Hotel was my first stop (where my cycling group met). It proved to be an excellent start to the trip. The hotel is located about as far away from the city center as any hotel in Alghero and it is a good 20 minute walk into town. That said, the upside is that the hotel is free of the street noise, loud music, etc., that is part of the Alghero late night scene and you will get a quiet, peaceful night of sleep. The adjacent beachfront property is beautiful and relatively unspoiled.

My room was spacious, nicely furnished and spotless. The bathroom was modern, toiletries of high quality and the entire staff was friendly, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast buffet was exceptional. My sense during the two day stay was that someone on staff was in the hotel supervising its operation and attending to details throughout the day. Simply put, this is a fine choice for experienced, adult travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DlphcOracl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lot-et-Garonne
Level Contributor
400 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Quite a pleasant room, although for 150 euros (which is more than we pay in Paris), it might have been nice if the airconditioning worked on a sweltering night. We ate in the restaurant, and it was pleasant. If you have breakfast, get there in plenty of time - it finishes at 10am and on the dot of ten the lady started clearing the buffet - by 10:10 there was nothing left to indicate that breakfast had ever existed. Perhaps a petulant criticism, but if I was running the place, I wouldn't allow anything to be cleared before the last guest left the room.

Room Tip: 'Standard' faces a blank wall. You need one with 'partial sea views'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabona, Direttore at Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review and we are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay.

I don't understand your disappointment regarding the air conditioning in the room. At the time of your stay air conditioning was regulary working. We would were happy to help you and we regret that you didn't said it to us during your stay.

Our breakfast service goes from 8:00 till 10:00 but usually our staff leaves the buffet at disposal till 10:20/10:30 . During your stay, according to other hotel guests request, the service was also anticipated from 07:00. I'm sorry if was been commited a inadvertence. It is inusual for our staff which is always courteus and helpfull and I'm sure that in the future it will be even more careful.

Greetings from the beautiful island of Sardinia,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Private beach was small but clear water and many fishes. We enjoyed snorkering with sea showes and glasses.
Morning buffee was normal.
We traveled with 3 years daughter, all staff smiled and were kind anytime.
But room was too small to stay for 3 peaople for 1 week.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKT0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
6.4 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#11 of 49 in Alghero
631 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
609 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 49 in Alghero
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alghero
872 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#1 of 49 in Alghero
505 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna

Property: Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
Address: Localita Calabona CP 15 | SP 105, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#4 Family Hotel in Alghero
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#14 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its peaceful location, Hotel Calabona faces out to sea. The hotel is situated just a short distance from Alghero, Sardinia's "Catalan" city, which retains much of its original historical centre. The small beach, nestling in a delightful bay of sand and rock, is equipped from June to September with sun loungers and parasols, allowing you to make the most of the sun and the emerald-green, crystalline sea right in front of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing