We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Mare Di Alghero
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$114
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Angedras(Alghero)(Great Value!)
$99
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Catalunya(Alghero)
$141
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Faro Hotel(Alghero)
$176
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel dei Pini(Alghero)
$110
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Punta Negra(Fertilia)
$179
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
78
14
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
14
2
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 96 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The best thing about this fairly simple B&B is the owner Bruno. A young confident man running a family business whilst hoping to find his dream job. This accommodation is in a quiet part of town about 10 mins stroll from the centre. Bruno is helpful in recommending places to go, see and eat. His breakfast is simple comprising cereal, yogurt, toast and fruit, with the addition of homemade cake which is excellent. Other reviewers have said they found street parking easy but this was not our experience, and we spent 20 mins on one occasion looking for parking. It is just a case of going round and round the streets until a spot becomes available. Wi Fi is the best we have found so far in Sardinia. We booked our room via booking.com and it was very small with a teeny weeny bathroom. In fairness Bruno offered us a larger room at €10 per night extra which we declined, but later regretted. If you are a larger person, the bathroom will not be big enough for you! My only criticism was not receiving clean towels daily. Perhaps this wouldn't matter if the bathroom were bigger but without anywhere to hang them to dry, the towels were still damp on the second morning. I'm sure if we had asked, we would have been given fresh towels. One final point, the rooms are on the second floor and there is no lift . I really recommend this B&B .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thanks a lot,
I'm glad You've had a nice time despite smalls inconveniences that we will try to fix.

thanks again
kind regards
B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Bruno was a great host. He suggested beautiful beaches and nice restaurants to us. The room we stayed in was very clean and we felt really welcome and the location was great to explore Alghero and the area We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank EnjoyTheWorld007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Danke N.

Glad You had a nice time here. look forward to next time!
kind regards
B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

After a stressful time with our hire car we arrived to an extremely helpful Bruno at Il Mare de Alghero. He helped us to not only get a new hire car but to plan our days with such confidence that we would get 100% out of our time in Alghero. His "100%" policy on restaurants and tourist attractions was spot on. He even removed a local restaurant that had just fallen below his standards of hospitality to his guests. That is also how you are treated, as his guests. He made our trip to Alghero one of the best we have had in any city of Europe so far. The host with the most and attention to detail. We loved staying with him and would highly recommend it to everyone else. No phone call was too much for him to book dinner, boat trips or to help out with our hire car. We missed him at all our other destinations in Sardinia, but will never forget him. The room we had was the perfect size with a small en-suite, breakfast was small compared to hotels, but adequate and always had 2 freshly baked Sardinian cakes (from Bruno himself using grandma's recipes) every morning and fresh fruit. You could come and go as you pleased but Bruno would always appear to make sure everything was ok and all his guests were catered for. He made us feel special, not just another customer. Thank you so much Bruno.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbounreturps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you guys, has been a pleasure, and I'm glad, despite of the stressful start, we turned into a nice holiday :-)

look forward to sse you again.
kind regards
B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very neat, very well kept and very helpful host. Breakfast was great and we even had a shared fridge to store water and a snack! We had a separate, huge newly renovated, supertidy private bathroom. Great with wi-fi on the room. Could not have asked for more. We will definitely return, unless Bruno is fully booked.. Book Il Mare if you like a friendly atmosphere and appreciate to make new aquaintances.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MatildaOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thanks M. I'm really glad you've had a nice experience at our B&B, and I really had fun learning new tips!!!

hope come and visit you soon in Sweden.
kind regards
B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Bruno was an excellent host, suggesting things to do and places to eat. Nothing was too much trouble for him. We felt like house guests rather than paying clients. The location was excellent, not too far from the town centre in a residential area. Parking nearby was quite easy to find. We would definitely return and recommend to friends.
Breakfast was good and having a coffee machine was an extra bonus but as I don't have a sweet tooth and don't eat meat I would have enjoyed local brown bread to toast, muesli and plain yogurt but that is just my personal taste.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happywanderer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews