We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Las Tronas Hotel in September and had a great time. The hotel and grounds are exceptional and the staff is tops. Lara at the front desk and Antonella in the breakfast room were the best. Antonella's coffee in the morning made our day. The pool is gorgeous and very clean and we were able to swim in the ocean everyday. Walking to town while the sun set over the ocean was one of our favorite parts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveLyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 549 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very expensive, but what a lovely way to spend it! We had a third floor suite with sea views and what a view it was. A beautiful hotel with great facilities, impeccable customer service and very close to the beautiful old town.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend opting for sea views if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went on our honeymoon, decided to splash out and it is a beautiful, grand hotel with a lovely swimming pool overlooking the sea. It is VERY expensive and there are other hotels that are better value for money. It's in a great location, only 10 minutes walk from town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolinaMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

One of my former colleagues recommended Las Tronas to us, and having listened to his tales of delight, we decided to visit and have just returned.
From the moment you arrive, until the moment you leave it is just as if you have walked in and out of a dream.
The bedrooms are nicely furnished and elegant and the reception rooms, restaurant and bar area delightful. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the pool area and small lido area onto the sea are furnished with most comfortable loungers.
What really makes Las Tronas special, is what in my view are the most important assets of any such establishment, and that is the staff. Without exception, they are just the nicest, most helpful and friendly staff I have ever encountered. Nothing is too much trouble.
It is not cheap, but what are you prepared to pay for perfection?
The breakfasts are superb, the food in the restaurant, sublime, and all the time the fabulous staff are on hand without ever being obtrusive.
Add to all this the fact that you are perhaps a thousand metres from the old town of Alghero along a beautiful promenade, fifteen minutes from the airport. In additions to all its other benefits, the hotel provides bicycles free of charge to residents, and there are designated cycle lanes all around the promenade and the port area..
My wife tells me that the spa and indoor pool area and the small gymnasium are also delightful and the entire area comprised within TV controlled access gates.
We simply cannot wait to go back in the Spring.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room or one with a terrace, but be prepared to pay a bit extra for the privilege
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GourmetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I first visited Villa Las Tronas in 2007 when we occupied a second floor room overlooking the rear of the Hotel giving very pleasant views of the gardens and the old town of Alghero not so far away in the distance no more than a 10 minute walk along the coastal walkway. We fell in love instantly with Alghero and equally so with Villa Las Tronas which we found to be perfect for us with it's sedate, charming, classic architecture and sophisticated atmosphere. We are both approaching our three score and ten birthdays and having been global travellers for many years have decided that there in no place quite like Villa Las Tronas and now visit there twice a year and have just returned home after our tenth visit. Through the past seven years we have progressed our stays from a room with a garden view to a room with a sea view to a room with a terrace to a very nice suite on the first floor No.110 and to which we have just left The Mistral Suite on the third floor. The Mistral Suite, expensive I must add, was simply breathtaking in all aspects. The size of the suite, the décor,the amazing bathroom with it's inner jacquzzi and the gigantic terrace with an outside jacquzzi have to be seen to be believed. We are not easily impressed but this recent experience in the Mistral will take some beating! Every day not only were the bedding and towels completely changed but so too were our beach robes!
Each visit to Villa Las Tronas seems to bind us closer together with the hotel staff. Everyday the same cheerful and delightful janitor, bellboy, chambermaids, reception and restaurant staff greet us and every other guest I assume with happy Bon journos which carries on throughout the day and evening. It is my belief that the staff make Villa Las Tronas what it is and despite the grandeur and class of the building it would be nothing without these people and their cheery helpful dispositions. We dine most nights in the Hotel but venture out occasionaly to Alghero old town and I can recommend a couple of quality restaurants in Il Pavone and Elpanto both no more than a ten minute stroll away. We can also recommend room 118 on the first floor which is an end room with a terrace that has two aspects one out towards the Mediterranean and it's sunset and the other towards what I think is the east. Because of family commitments we cannot consider returning until at least April 2014 but hope to do so then and occupy the Mistral Suite once again.
Tips. Alghero is no more than a two and a half hour flight from Stansted and the transfer from Alghero airport to Villa Las Tronas is just fifteen minutes by taxi.

Room Tip: See the review above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Villa las Tronas is in an impressive setting, has a very grand ambience with liveried staff who deliver 5 star service. However, it is past its best and the elegance is fading. The dining room serves excellent food, but the atmosphere was very stiff the evening we had dinner there. Rooms are what you'd expect in an old villa with high ceilings and large bathroom- with functioning plumbing (can be a problem in these old places).
Views across the bay to Capo Caccia are stunning and if sleeping with the sound of surf is one of your favourite things, leave the windows open- there are shutters too.
Very good facilities including in room wifi, bicycles for guest use.
Staff were cheerful, helpful and friendly.
Overall, I am very pleased we stayed at Villa las Tronas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Criticallywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Started by reading the bad reviews, out of curiosity... (assuming they are objective) it must have happened a long time before I visited because we were leaving the dream. The territory is beautiful, the views are much better than in photos, our room was gorgeous and the bed was the softest, most comfortable bed I ever slept in. The bathroom had beautiful mosaic, the seawater pool was very convenient and the indoor seawater pool + spa - fantastic...relaxing and fun. I have completely abandoned my "no carb, no sugar, vegan" diet...because the breakfast, I was happy to die for, and when we dined in at night, we saw that the value for money is better than even a local place filled with regulars. Our meal was one of the best I've ever had, the chef is incredibly talented and clearly cares a lot about what goes out of the kitchen. The seafood carousel was amazing...and do ask the chef to make you his special sardinian bread...heaven...

Room Tip: 118 has the corner terrace, so you get the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoSher23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
705 reviews
6.6 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
989 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#8 of 49 in Alghero
1,045 reviews
6.1 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#10 of 49 in Alghero
734 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#1 of 49 in Alghero
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Address: Lungomare Valencia 1, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#2 Business Hotel in Alghero
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: $177 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Tronas is the delightful 5-star hotel that has become the symbol of Alghero - “the Golden Door to tourism in Sardinia” - situated on the Riviera del Corallo on the north-west coast of the Island. The hotel rises from the sea-shore with its Spa, nestled in the greenery of nearly two hectares of park that separate it from the Alghero waterfront, on a headland surrounded on three sides by the crystal-clear water of the bay. Numerous quays invite you to sunbathe and swim in the most comfortable, private way. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere so intense and romantic as to steal the hearts of Italian Royalty, who chose the Villa up to the nineteen-forties for their holidays in Sardinia. The bar and panoramic restaurant are the ideal place to relax, while your gaze takes in the Bay of Alghero and rediscovers the timeless luxuriousness inherent in the unique features and character of the villa. The Hotel and the Spa – with its covered sea-water swimming-pool (also looking out over the Mediterranean), sauna, Turkish bath, Kneipp walkway, gym and the beauty area – are open all through the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Tronas Hotel And Spa
Villa Las Tronas Hotel Alghero
Hotel Las Tronas
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing