We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best overall place we've stayed in Europe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best overall place we've stayed in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Having come to Europe 4 times and stayed in many hotels in many cities this would be our favourite to date. We've stayed in some 1st class places, and while Villa Las Tronos like any place can loose a little paint here or not be to one's taste there, overall small deficencies are too inconsequential to be troubling much less even mentioning. The culture of an establishment is not instantly changed, and it is hard to reconcile the few reviews mentioning unfriendly staff with this resort. The very warm, friendly and 'can do' approach was consistent with all staff, very professional and the atmosphere was great in all areas. The dining room is visible from reception, signage great, and there is certsinly no need to have your time wasted with a tour. Accessibilty from the car park is quick and VERY easy, but as with many hotels and tourist attractions there are stairs which may impact on accessanility for some. The gardens are lovely and it's easy to find your iwn little place if you want. If you never left there is plenty to do, and it only took 10 mins to walk to the old town. We would definately come again! Loved everything about it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walshfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    112
    27
    7
    11
See reviews for
63
304
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We first visited villa las tronas 4 years ago on our honeymoon. We returned to sardinia and spent 4 days in isola rosa before traveling to Alghero for 3 nights at Villa las Tronas. Upon arrival we were greeted by the receptionist with a glass of Buck's Fizz when one of the team look our bags to our room. There was also a bottle of fizz in our room when we arrived which we enjoyed on my birthday during our stay. A lovely touch.

Our room was really lovely. As others have said, this isn't a modern hotel so you don't get the 5 star modern luxury but what it lacks in this respect it more than makes up for with old world Italian charm. The balcony is the best bit about the hotel - a huge balcony with loungers, a table and chairs looking straight out to the sea. I would spend every evening looking out at that view if I could!!

Breakfast was had on the terrace every morning....there was always a great selection of food, a wonderful setting and the waiters were so friendly and would do anything for you. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening as we walked into Alghero each night and sampled some of the great restaurants in the town. It is just a short walk from the hotel, walking through the lovely hotel garden and along the coast into the old town.

The only minor gripe was that the cleaning was not of such a great standard as we previously experienced. The room was never ever dirty but one day we didn't have any towels and had to ask and a couple of times the room wasn't as spotless as previously would have been the case. This is really quite a minor point though and don't let it out you off.

This hotel has a special place in our hearts and we will definitely be returning in the next few years

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyandMark1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

There are not too many of these type of hotels left in the World. Villa Las Tronas is a Grande European hotel with the feel of a previous era. It's lack of maniacal attention to structural details and total attention to service and friendliness makes staying at Las Tronas a holiday in a private Mediterranean mansion. It's position on the sea has to be experienced to fully understand and the rooms are of very Old European elegance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in July and loved the hotel, it is situated in a wonderful private location in Alghero and has a large garden and swimming pool. We stayed in a Room overlooking the Park (as nothing else was available) and this was OK but there was no mirror in the bedroom but they did provide a shaving mirror when asked for. The house is very stylish with beautiful public rooms and the bar and dining area overlooks the sea. Service is impeccable and you just have to ask. We dined one night and enjoyed the meal but the food has improved in Alghero so there is plenty of competition in the main town. Breakfast's are superb which so much choice and I even had a slice of chocolate cake for breakfast! Breakfast is taken on the balcony with fantastic views out to sea....stunning. There are several places to sun bathe, but there is a concrete sun area but the sea which is nice and cool with umbrellas. They also have a Spa which is fantastic with pool, gym, sauna, treatment rooms which we viewed but did not use. All in all a top hotel with excellent service and I was very picky, I'd re plan the bathroom to make better use of the space.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Everything about this hotel was outstanding: the rooms (worth paying extra for the sea view); the food; the service; the facilities; the location. It is such a special place. Alghero itself is a beautiful town, but I would avoid the restaurants by the sea wall next time as both the service and food were disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilikefrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is a destination in itself. A gorgeous Italian villa with period furniture, original details and loads and loads of old world charm. Great food, comfortable rooms with a fantastic view, and very friendly service too. However the best part is its location. Its right at the water’s edge and you can fall asleep to the sound of the lapping waves. Heaven.. Also the villa is surrounded by a beautiful garden and boasts a stunning freshwater pool also right at the water’s edge. Don’t expect polished five star but do expect to be swept away with its charm and beauty.

A note on the town Alghero. If you want the crystal clear waters, please note it’s in the north and not around Alghero. It is possible to drive there (1-1,5 hours each way- which we did), but the beaches directly surrounding the town are less spectacular. We didn’t find this to be an issue though.

We loved our stay and still miss this place! Highly recommended if going to Alghero!

Room Tip: make sure its seafacing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missy2011Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at Villa Las Tronas for three nights in mid-June; it was the last leg of my Italian vacation. This a beautiful property that is very conveniently located within walking distance of Alghero. It was perfectly situated for me; you can walk along the coast all the way to the city center. The hotel is on a little, rocky peninsula and the surrounded by beautiful landscaping. It’s very peaceful. The outdoor pool is very nice and offers outstanding views of the town and the sea. And, while I didn’t use the indoor pool, it is specular. It’s in a separate, spa-like building with windows that give you a great view. I also appreciated the bikes that you could use free of charge. (Just be warned that they are not in great condition.)

I thought the breakfast offered by the Villa was very good. There is a wide selection and it includes all of the standard fare. I also enjoyed the option of sitting at an outdoor table and looking out over the water.

I was very comfortable at this hotel, but there were a few negatives. First, the staff member who checked me in wasn’t particularly helpful. He told me almost nothing. And, while this won’t be a problem in normal hotel, it made things more difficult than they should have been in a unique property like this one. It turned the first day into an annoying game of 20 questions. (For example, on my initial attempt, I could not figure out how to get OUT of the main gate. I had to walk all the way back to the building and ask… there’s a hidden button.) I also asked about a quick lunch when I checked in; the front desk clerk literally said that there were no options at that time of day. Looking back, that was a ridiculous answer and not at all true. Second, while the wifi is free at the hotel, they employ a ridiculously cumbersome system that requires lots of typing and re-typing of user names and passwords. You also need to get a unique log-in for each wireless device. (Yet another thing that was not explained.)

I would like to give a shout-out to the morning pool boy. He was a tireless and cheerful worker. He literally ran from one task to the next for hours on end to make sure that everyone was taken care of. I don’t know what they’re paying him, but he deserves a raise. (I’d also say that some members of front desk staff could take a lesson.)

Bottom line, this is an excellent choice in Alghero. I would just say that they need to brush up on some basics in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alghero
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#4 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
6.6 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#7 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#2 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
117.4 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
113.1 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Property: Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Address: Lungomare Valencia 1, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#2 Business Hotel in Alghero
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Tronas is the delightful 5-star hotel that has become the symbol of Alghero - “the Golden Door to tourism in Sardinia” - situated on the Riviera del Corallo on the north-west coast of the Island. The hotel rises from the sea-shore with its Spa, nestled in the greenery of nearly two hectares of park that separate it from the Alghero waterfront, on a headland surrounded on three sides by the crystal-clear water of the bay. Numerous quays invite you to sunbathe and swim in the most comfortable, private way. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere so intense and romantic as to steal the hearts of Italian Royalty, who chose the Villa up to the nineteen-forties for their holidays in Sardinia. The bar and panoramic restaurant are the ideal place to relax, while your gaze takes in the Bay of Alghero and rediscovers the timeless luxuriousness inherent in the unique features and character of the villa. The Hotel and the Spa – with its covered sea-water swimming-pool (also looking out over the Mediterranean), sauna, Turkish bath, Kneipp walkway, gym and the beauty area – are open all through the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Tronas Hotel Alghero
Villa Las Tronas Hotel And Spa
Hotel Las Tronas
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing