We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a relaxed stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
rüsselsheim
Level Contributor
818 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“a relaxed stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The old "monument" is in 1km distance from Alghero citycentre surrounded a small park and directly in front of the mediterrianean sea. We had a lovely small room with perfect seaview, tidy and with cozy furniture. Also the bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately there were only italian TV programms. We had a very warm welcome with a bottle of cold sparkling wine as a salutation gift. Breakfast was very varied inside or outside the building. parking was enclosed off street. The service very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wfritschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    114
    27
    7
    11
See reviews for
64
308
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent a bright and breezy week here at the end of August and received a warm and helpful welcome in beautiful, relaxing surroundings. Whilst the rooms (we sampled two) are not large, they are comfortable, have high ceilings and benefit from stunning views on all sides. The spacious and gracious outdoor space more than compensates and really – where would you rather be: indoors or outside in this wonderful location? The big plus for us was the freely available hotel bikes. Not in the best condition at the end of the season, but the staff could not have been more helpful with adjustments, tyre inflation and so on. The coastal routes to the north and south are beautiful, do-able, and the roads are not too busy. Alghero is full of character and interest, and I highly recommend the Villa las Tronas if you are looking for a proper, old school sea-sidey hotel with lots of charm.

Room Tip: You can't lose, really, unless you want a terrace (but the grounds are so spacious this is reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliGNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived at las tronas completely frazzled after our wedding and left - after just one night - feeling refreshed and revitalised. The weather wasn't great but that didn't matter as we spent our time in the spa and on a leisurely bike ride through town on the hotel's free bikes. We had one of the less expensive room categories but everything was first class and we had a lovely shore view of Alghero. Our only one suggestion for improvement would be a warmer attitude from the lady receptionist who was efficient but frosty, acting like a 5* customer rather than a 5* hotelier. Otherwise couldn't recommend this hotel more. On or off season it has the facilities for a real treat.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VasaBee_and_KingBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here 21-28 September 2012 after 'inspecting' when in Alghero earlier this year. This hotel is located in gated private grounds and can give the impression of being rather 'aloof'. In reality, the atmosphere is exceptionally relaxed and not at all stuffy.

We had a corner room on the 1st floor with views of the coast and gardens. The room was sufficiently large to accomodate a king bed, large very comfortable sofa, small dining area and other necessary furniture. In summary, most aspects of the accomodation were very satisfactory with perhaps two minor issues of no balcony and quite poor bedside lighting. However this did not in any way reduce the overall experience and comfort.

We did not use the spa as the weather was relatively good but made good use of the seawater pool and sun loungers overlooking the sea. The gardens are absolutely superb with a number of seating options for viewing the sunset overlooking the sea and Capo Caccia. The car parking was on occasions a little tight (the hotel appeared to be full throughout our stay) but perfectly manageable.

The real jewel of this establishment is the service. The staff were always helpful, courteous and unobtrusive. The room benefitted from two full services each day. The breakfast buffet was typically luxury Italian with a combination of preserved and fresh fruits and juices and a wonderful array of pastries, bread and cheeses. A limited cooked breakfast was included in the buffet but the option of kitchen orders was also available. A small point is that there is no menu and I do not recall being advised to order from the kitchen; we just did and got what we wanted! We did not use the dining room for dinner as Alghero is full of outstanding restaurants in the vibrant old town but did have lunch on the terrace and drinks on occasions which were very good value.

Other reviewers have remarked that prices were high but we cannot support this view. We booked directly with the hotel and pre-paid a few weeks in advance for 7 nights and received a 15% discount on departure. Overall the price we paid was very favourable for a hotel of this quality.

There was absolutely nothing about this hotel we did not like and we definitely will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyecorrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in late August. Staff were very professional, helpful and pleasant. Hotel was grossly over-priced and in need of major investment. Our seaview bedroom was small, the bed was very high and brick-hard and two armchairs would have been preferable to the hard chairs provided. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant twice and breakfast was also very good. The pool area was very enjoyable. The hotel is an imposing building but paint was peeling off the dilapidated shutters. It is within a secure gated location but only a leisurely 15 minute walk into the old town area of Alghero.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This gem of a hotel is situated just outside the charming old town of Alghero in Sardinia, overlooking the sea. Everything about this place was excellent. Our room on the first floor had a huge terrace with loungers, table and chairs. The view of the sea was superlative. The room itself was large, with a high ceiling, which made it feel even bigger. The bathroom was also lovely, with two washbasins, a good shower and bath.
The staff were all friendly, welcoming and helpful. They never intruded, but were always there when you needed them. For example, we arrived late (after 11pm), but with a brief phone call from the airport, were provided with a cold buffet supper.
Breakfast in Italy is rarely anything to write home about, but at The Villa Las Tronas there was a good range of fruit, cereals, pastries, cold meat, cheese and even bacon & eggs.
Two minor quibbles: on arrival after dark, it wasn't clear that the drive becomes unsuitable for vehicles and you need to turn into the car park. A sign would help. Also, during the afternoon there is a very limited and uninspiring room service. This is a shame, because when on a different day we had cocktails in the early evening, we were given the most delicious little sandwiches with our drinks.
These really are minor points though, and if you are looking for luxury without pomp and fuss, a welcoming atmosphere which almost feels like your own country retreat (I wish!!), then look no further.

Room Tip: Sea views are definitely worth paying for. First floor rooms have terraces, which are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veronica-ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here in early July 2012 for 3 nights.
This is a really unique place in a beautiful private location on it's own small promontory jutting out into the mediterranean but close enough to Alghero's historic centre that you could comfortably walk it (especially after dusk when the whole route along the seafront hosts a lively street market).
The hotel is decorated in quite a supmtuous style (as you'd expect being a former royal residence) full of antiques and rugs, but the atmosphere wasn't really stiff or overly formal although it is very quiet.
Our room (double on 1st floor with terrace) was very nice - spacious and well decorated. The terrace was huge, but part of a single large area shared between 4 or 5 rooms separated by a low wooden fence. I was concerned beforehand about privacy on the terrace but I rarely saw any other folk out there, not even during the amazing sunsets. The view is quite stunning.
The grounds of the hotel are also worth a mention as they are particularly special. There are a several little private coves and paths right down to the sea (crystal clear) along with an immaculately kept secret garden at the back full of little paths and a small pond. Very peaceful.
Breakfasts were very good indeed (especially the pastries) and the coffee was good. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
We had lunch at the restaurant twice (too hot to go to town) which I wouldn't particularly recommend - it was a bit dull and overpriced. I can't comment on the dinner service though.
Overall I would warmly recommend it - yes it is expensive as are most higher end Italian hotels, but it's just about worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alghero
6.6 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
872 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
609 reviews
113.1 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#2 of 49 in Alghero
505 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 49 in Alghero
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 49 in Alghero
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Property: Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Address: Lungomare Valencia 1, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#2 Business Hotel in Alghero
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Tronas is the delightful 5-star hotel that has become the symbol of Alghero - “the Golden Door to tourism in Sardinia” - situated on the Riviera del Corallo on the north-west coast of the Island. The hotel rises from the sea-shore with its Spa, nestled in the greenery of nearly two hectares of park that separate it from the Alghero waterfront, on a headland surrounded on three sides by the crystal-clear water of the bay. Numerous quays invite you to sunbathe and swim in the most comfortable, private way. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere so intense and romantic as to steal the hearts of Italian Royalty, who chose the Villa up to the nineteen-forties for their holidays in Sardinia. The bar and panoramic restaurant are the ideal place to relax, while your gaze takes in the Bay of Alghero and rediscovers the timeless luxuriousness inherent in the unique features and character of the villa. The Hotel and the Spa – with its covered sea-water swimming-pool (also looking out over the Mediterranean), sauna, Turkish bath, Kneipp walkway, gym and the beauty area – are open all through the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Tronas Hotel Alghero
Villa Las Tronas Hotel And Spa
Hotel Las Tronas
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing