We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Toddington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel regularly over the last 10 years usually 2 or 3 times a year. No it's not cheap, but for complete peace and escape this is the place to go. Service is unobtrusive but efficient. I would describe the rooms as comfortable and individual, the bathrooms are a little quaint but that somehow adds to the experience. The grounds around the hotel are large when you consider the hotel only has approx 20 rooms, so you can have your own space and lots of it should you choose. Alghero itself is a friendly place with lots of great places to eat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon Bogdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    112
    27
    7
    11
See reviews for
63
304
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Prior to arriving at Alghero airport I contacted the porter and requested a pick-up. When arriving at the airport a taxi was waiting which took us to the hotel in about 20 minutes.

The check-in was fast and professional, we just handed our passports over and were offered some complimentary drinks and snacks at the bar. After finishing our drinks we were brought to our room and discovered we got a free upgrade. Instead of the normal see-view room we got one with balcony on the 1st floor (Room 118). The room was clean and spacy and a nice bottle of cold prosecco was waiting there.

There are only two downsides I could think of. One of it is the room is the noise-isolation from the corridor; as some of the other hotel guests got up at 7-8am the slaming doors and conversations woke us up in our room. The other are the balconies; they are very spacy and good positioned for the sun but there are only small fences between the balcony, so you have no privacy at all.

The hotel is about a 10 minutes walk to the old village where there are some nice restaurants to eat. (I reccommend pizzaria aragon if you want a simple but good meal or restaurant Andreini if you want to splurge.) We didnt have dinner at the hotel but the breakfast was good with lots of choice and lunch was also nice (though expensive).

The spa is also very clean and peacefull. We didnt take massages etc, but the sauna, steambath and pool were very good. The gym is also well-equiped with Technogym equipment.

I would definately reccommend this hotel since it is good value for the price we paid (180e/night). The rooms are clean, the service is good (very friendly and helpfull staff) and the facilities are great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maarten V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
353 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights from 5-8/11 and can say this is a serious hotel. I have been to Alghero many times but have yet to stay here.The signs we not good as we picked the worst weather imaginable..rain ,winds in abundence. The hotel certainly softened the blow with its great service and attention. The rooms themselves were fine ,bed was comfy and shower/bathroom was of ok size.We visited the spa which was also excellent.Its really the location that stands this place apart.Magnificent views over the ocean ( even in the rain were spectacular ! ) and proximity to the old town which is a 10 min walk. Another bonus for me was the cost of the bar/restaurant..very reasonable in my opinion compared to other 5 star hotels. We were offered free drinks and nibbles on occasions which was a nice touch too ! Must mention Guiseppe who was outstanding and did pretty much all the chores from barman to waiter.Shame about the ice-cream friend !! All in all ,a place to visit an savour. Its a gem !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,049 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Just back from 3 nights here- the location near the town is perfect- a short walk from the peaceful hotel and you are in the centre of town with a huge choice of restaurants - even off season. I booked thru the hotel website and treated my husband to a sea view room with balcony- well worth it and I got a great deal! It was warm enough to sunbathe on the balcony and when the wind got up there were plenty of sheltered places around the grounds of the hotel to sit and read. The staff were fantastic too. We also borrowed the free hotel bikes- fairly basic but fine for the flat terrain. (There is a bike hire place in town for more serious road bikes.) I would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room- with balcony if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Villa Las Tronas is an amazing destination. Located a short walk from the walled medieval town of Alghero, the hotel and spa is nestled on a point overlooking the azure approach to the town. The rooms are well appointed with views that are nothing less than spectacular. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. Most importantly, the staff is first-rate. They attended to every need with a smile. Don't miss the cappucino; it's may be the best you'll have the pleasure of tasting.

Room Tip: There are only 23 rooms so it's hard to be disappointed. Go for the ocean view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

My fiance and I chose Villa Las Tronas and Alghero for our destination wedding earlier this month. When my fiance found the website online, we were both completely blown away by the photos. Upon arrival we found that the photos don't even do it justice. The location and villa are beyond beautiful. As a marketer for hotels and in the hospitality industry, I'm an extra critical guest and judge the user experience from pre-booking to departure. The entire guest experience was superb and the staff knowledgeable, professional and discreet. We hope to return for a future anniversary. Our friends and family who attended the wedding also want to return!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for an ocean view with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeahLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

My wife & I stayed there for 5 nights in Oct 2011 and had a great time. Lovely location just a nice saunter out of town, impeccable service from all staff, everything very clean, and we will certainly be back. The place exuded easy charm throughout. Nice pool area, wonderful views over the sea and the sunsets were spellbinding. Smallish (about 20 rooms I think) which made it a very restful and quiet place.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra then go for a sea-front room - much quieter and lovley views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fred n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alghero
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#4 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
6.6 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#7 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#1 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
117.4 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
113.1 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Property: Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Address: Lungomare Valencia 1, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#2 Business Hotel in Alghero
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Tronas is the delightful 5-star hotel that has become the symbol of Alghero - “the Golden Door to tourism in Sardinia” - situated on the Riviera del Corallo on the north-west coast of the Island. The hotel rises from the sea-shore with its Spa, nestled in the greenery of nearly two hectares of park that separate it from the Alghero waterfront, on a headland surrounded on three sides by the crystal-clear water of the bay. Numerous quays invite you to sunbathe and swim in the most comfortable, private way. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere so intense and romantic as to steal the hearts of Italian Royalty, who chose the Villa up to the nineteen-forties for their holidays in Sardinia. The bar and panoramic restaurant are the ideal place to relax, while your gaze takes in the Bay of Alghero and rediscovers the timeless luxuriousness inherent in the unique features and character of the villa. The Hotel and the Spa – with its covered sea-water swimming-pool (also looking out over the Mediterranean), sauna, Turkish bath, Kneipp walkway, gym and the beauty area – are open all through the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Tronas Hotel Alghero
Villa Las Tronas Hotel And Spa
Hotel Las Tronas
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing