We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,254)
Filter reviews
1,254 results
Traveler rating
634
424
111
50
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
634
424
111
50
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews capo caccia sea view national park octopus on the rocks minute drive junior suite sun loungers nature reserve hotel is beautiful swimming pool amazing location beautiful bay breakfast buffet is hired bikes hotel restaurant alghero town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,254 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is a little out of the way, so definitely plan on renting a car - but the good news is driving in Sardinia (compared to Italy) was a dream. We had a lovely 5 night stay. The staff were all very helpful and sincere, and honestly this hotel was so clean. The views are spectacular. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant 3 nights and the food was fantastic. Fresh fish & amazing pasta! I would not hesitate staying here again.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmedjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has a wonderful location in the bay, offering a view onto Capo Caccio; there is nothing else nearby, so in principle it is quiet at night (but see warnings below).

The design of the complex is such that you do not notice its size; it also offers a number of terraces with lounge areas inside and outside to enjoy the views. The hotel has access to its own (rocky) beach with plenty of deckchairs and umbrellas.

Parking not as easy as described by the hotel – all lots were taken when I arrived, and were again at night. I did find a slot on the street, but could have been less lucky… Speaking of lucky: having arrived and checked in at 13 h, my room was still not ready at 16.30 h – which ties in with reports from other guests on poor organisation.

The more costly rooms offer a view; however, it is the same as from the terraces, so depending on your budget you might want to opt for a more economic one.

The room had a reasonable size; the interior is a bit simple, but similar to other hotels on the island (‘less is more’?). The bed was ok, as was the pillow (only one size provided); the window can be fully darkened. In principle it is quiet at night, but that depends on the other guests: The walls between rooms are very thin, so you will overhear everything (phone calls, discussions, babies crying, etc.).

The bathrooms are decorated a bit more, and – amongst other items – equipped with a ‘proper’ hairdryer; accessories (eg taps, toilet flush) could to with a makeover.

The WiFi works well – good coverage and decent speed.

Expect to be bitten by mosquitoes – there are lots around. Use the mosquito nets in the windows, and plenty of repellent (but still bring something for mosquito bites…).

Breakfast had a choice for every taste – Italian, English, and German breakfast (or what the Italians make of it).

Overall, a pleasant experience; it could have been great if it had not been for the downsides described above.

Room tip: Rooms with a view come at a price; they also face the bar and the restaurant, though...
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasoViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019 via mobile

I really don’t know where to start ! This is definitely not a luxury resort there is no luxury here, rooms are dated the only thing going for this place is the location, if you can get a deck chair that is ! We paid way too much, it is not worth spending your money and staying here you will only be disappointed.
1. We didn’t get the room we booked
2. They moved us after we complained but to a smaller room and were rude to us throughout this process
3. The room smelled of mould and was falling apart and mould was evident in the bathroom, we complained but seemed to go no where ... staff were rude and or patronising - the sink ended up collapsing as I washed my hands!
4. We repeatedly asked to see the manager and got excuse after excuse as to why she was not available to speak to us
5. The restaurant: staff are rude, service is bad and food is awful- first night we decided to eat at the restaurant when asked for a table he asked if I had a booking I said no he rolled his eyes and scoffed, btw it was 9 pm and restaurant was half empty then it took ages to get service and food was awful.
6. Now for my general review - once you get beach towels they won’t replace if they are wet ... first hotel that is apparently “luxury” I’ve ever stayed at that has that policy
7. Wifi is awful keeps dropping out ... for the price it should be fast and stable
8. Parking is free but be warned it is not hotel parking it is public parking so your car is not within hotel grounds so very deceiving
9. Water is not supplied in the room again first “luxury” hotel that does not supply complimentary bottled water and for the Price we are paying..
10. breakfast has limited options not a full Buffett you have to pay extra if you want eggs
11. Staff at the lunch pool area are nice but again food awful
12. When we finally saw the manager they promised a refund to our face and then when we went through Wotif (who were fantastic) they denied the refund so they lied to our face who does business like that.

Sardinia such a beautiful place and such a shame there are hotels like this who take advantage of their customer by charging a “luxury “ amount and not delivering- don’t make the same mistake we it is not worth more than $300 Euros a night and I’m being generous!

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank mirandatoumbourou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019

Lovely quite hotel. Mainly an adults hotel, the rooms are spacious and ultra clean as are all the public areas. The sea is crystal clear and clean and a good tempature.
The hotel is very isolated though, no shops or other facilities for miles!! Not that we wanted all the tat most of them sell but would be nice to have a browse.You are a captive audience at the hotel, so the drinks are not cheap at all !
We hired a boat for an afternoon which was great, but the small print is that you need to pay for the fuel as well, which was an extra 50 euros!!!! not sure how they came to that.As you have no idea as to what you have used.
We also hire the Smart electric car from the hotel, which was great but beware the battery goes down really quickly and we spent most of the time looking to get a recharge. Charging points are few and far between so check this before you go and it does take an age to recharge, best thing it to hire a petrol car.
Food was great as was the service, only a few times it could of been better, but on the whole it was really good and the serving staff where very friendly. Would we go back? Yes.....

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

My Husband and I went to El Faro Hotel in July, we had a lovely room with sea view, very clean lovely bathroom,
no tea making facility, Hair Dryer in bathroom, the balcony has the best view, we found the food veery good, need a car a so far from anywhere, we had a car and found some beautiful beaches, I only eat fish found I could find plenty to eat ever night on the menu, the staff made you feel very special, found all the staff very friendly, bar man always remembers what you like, always managed to find sun bed by pool, or on the rocks that I loved, all very relaxing, drinks brought to you by the pool, no shops near by you do need that car if you want to get out, nice to sit out side after evening meal and have a drink, but would be nice to have a bit of entertainment, if only for the piano to be played, or a singer, but we had the best holiday and loved the hotel, would recommend.
Just to say we were met at airport with a taxi from hotel very nice, would be nice though if they helped you in with your bags when we got to the hotel, a bit of a struggle!

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank jillian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews