We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,111)
Filter reviews
1,111 results
Traveler rating
562
383
90
47
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
383
90
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews capo caccia sea view natural park octopus minute drive junior suite on the rocks swimming pool paninis sun loungers lovely hotel sea water breakfast buffet is sandy beaches stayed longer car is essential superb location
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 1,111 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have had a wonderful stay at the El Faro hotel. A true and proper get away .... pools, sea, bar, views... lovely in every sense. The regular bus servics is regular but sort of 2 hourly regular and is a 45 min ride, often standing into Algehro.... not a hotel service so not a relfection on El Faro in any sense. Car hire is essential to get into Algehro and beyond. But the hotel itself is wonderful for being away from it all. Bosa is a must both asa driveand destination,

Room Tip: Upgrade to exec to get a sea view.... totally worth it
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent 4 nights at El Faro at the end of June. It is our 5th time to Alghero and we got married at El Faro last year. The hotel is looking great and the setting and view is still as beautiful as ever. You must opt for a sea view room, it really is worth paying the extra as the scenary is simply breathtaking. Many thanks again to Giovanni and all his staff at El Faro whose service ensured our stay was perfect. It really was lovely to see you all again and we look forward to seeing you all again next year! I would most definitely recommend this hotel, especailly if you want somewhere romantic, secluded and away from the crowds. Would recommend hiring a car as the hotel is about a 20mins drive outside of Alghero.

Room Tip: Opt for a seaview if possible as the view is breathtaking.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsayL688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My son's wedding was held in July at this fantastic Hotel, set in one of the most beautiful and exclusive spots of Sardinia with amazing panoramic views of the sea and the surrounding natural park of Port Conte. My husband and myself together with a number of other guests stayed at the Hotel for a number of nights and were extremely happy with the room, the breakfast and the Service provided by friendly and professional staff. The Wedding Celebration was an absolute success from every point of view. The service was superb and the food exquisite and the message from a number of guests I spoke to is clear. We want to return to El Faro next year. My thanks to Giovanni, Patrizia, Antonello, Nadia, the Chef and all the staff at El Faro.

Room Tip: we stayed in a second floor in room with a sea view which is very spacious and airy and the bed very confortable. Going back I would choose the same type of room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My (somewhat demanding) girlfriend and I were looking to recharge our proverbial batteries in a quiet and comfortable place, while enjoying sun, sea and food. El Faro ticked all the boxes.

The sea (in a bay) is directly accessible, crystal clear and safe. Due to 'pool' ladders dotted around the seafront, it feels more like the sea is a huge private pool, nicely topped off with a floating platform about 100 metres in the bay.

Hotel facilities are superb - definitely a higher-end four star. Giovanni and his team were very helpful as well.

Even though the hotel was probably fully booked in the high season, one does not have a crammed 'Spanish costa' feeling. At lunch time, though, the wait times at the pool bar were perhaps a bit long. However, that's a minor gripe.

The dinner is good value, but recommend as well the nearby marina restaurant. Going to Alghero for dinner is a bit hit and miss based on own experience and talking to other guests.

All in all, a very good experience. The proof is in the pudding - my girlfriend wants to go back.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view room. The view is stunning.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steco-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A very nice hotel, in a great location. Not the place for those seeking entertainment, but perfect for people like us, looking to relax in a quiet setting directly by the sea.
We had a lovely room, with a fabulous view.
On the plus side, apart from the location and view: direct access to the sea (for hotel guests only); very friendly staff (although they appeared to be a bit overworked at times); good breakfast, excellent dinner (a four-course menu offering various choices, for 32 €. We once went to have dinner in Alghero where we ended up paying more whilst being very disappointed). Snacks (salads, toast, fruit,..) available at the bar or pool bar, but there's also a full lunch menu at the restaurant.
Nice sea-water pool. The lounge and bar areas are comfortable and offer a panoramic view over the bay.
What was annoying (and the hotel should take care of this): some guests occupy sun beds by the sea or by the pool as if they had booked them as part of their room: they sneak out before breakfast and leave their towels or even keep them "occupied" day and night by leaving some items on them. It is annoying to see that before 9 am all places appear to be taken, whilst even by 10 am not all of them are effectively occupied yet!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishka28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews