We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but some disappointments”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Faro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Faro Hotel
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location but some disappointments”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May and booked it mainly because of location and views. We weren't disappointed in that respect. The hotel is close to the airport and the city of Alghero, close to two nice beaches (I would recommend you rent a car to get around Sardinia though) and the view on Capo Caccia from our room was great.
Some reviewers have said that they thought the rooms were tired but we didn't really get that impression. The room was quite spacious, clean, bathroom was nice and the balcony was huge- table with chairs and sun loungers on the balcony which was really good. We liked the bar and the bar terrace where you could sit and relax. Unfortunately the weather wasn't that good when we were there so we didn't have a chance to use the pool or the lido.
There is some construction work going on around the hotel- it didn't really disturb us that much.
What really let us down was the breakfast- there was no cooked breakfast available which for a 4 star hotel is unacceptable. I don't know if they serve cooked breakfast in high season and even if they do it's not acceptable to stop serving it during low season. I have also seen rotten fruit on the fruit platter which obviously means the food is not that fresh and has been left out for a while. After reading some of the reviews (and seeing the quality of breakfast) we didn't eat lunch or dinner there but drove into Alghero or ate at Embarcadero (great place, 10 mins walk from hotel but bring a torch when walking back at night as it's very dark).
The other thing that I have to say bothered me was the amount of cats running around the area. I love animals but the smell of cat pee as you walk towards reception was nauseating. There was food left out for them around the trash bins which looked really disgusting and is obviously attracting even more cats. Someone should really do something about that.
Some comments have also mentioned that the staff was not friendly- I didn't feel they were unfriendly but there was a "can't be that bothered" vibe about the staff in reception.
All in all a relatively good hotel but could be great if they put a bit more work into it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elfaromng, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at El Faro Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear MAdam we thanking for your review and we want to clarify that thethe Hotel El Faro is always careful to the needs of customers. During the winter we have provided the rooms by new tables and chairs, as well as new lcd tv and new air conditioning systems for energy savings.
This year there was a delay in the rennovation caused by bad weather, but work is being done in areas not to disturb the vacation of customers.
Regarding the breakfast we specifyng that there is a seasonal product but all year, breakfast is accompanied by 4 types of brioche, 2 different types of cakes chaning every day, fresh fruit salad, 4 types of cereal, yogurt , boiled eggs, fruit in syrup, biscuits, jam, honey, chocolate cheese breads and salami.
Depending on the seasonal period, breakfast is integrated with other products.
We very much regret that you have not been able to try our kitchen. Many customers appreciate the quality of our Chef.
The Hotel El faro is inside a nature park, there are wild boars, gulls, cormorants, and the cats are a natural phenomenon: We have written to the authorities who make periodic checks and are sterilized and as far as possible remain away from the hotel.
Anyway thank you for your sugestion that'll keep in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    291
    63
    38
    24
See reviews for
145
459
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Big hotels - especially by the sea - are normally not my cup of tea for a number of reasons but I have to admit that the view from the rooms and the common spaces is simply wonderful. The bay, the sea, the mountains behind. You can go for a swim in open water or enjoy the swimming with sea water or go for a walk in the natural reserve. Rooms are pretty simple but it is understandable for a place by the sea where winter can be humid. The restaurant is excellent, it may be limiting to have to go for a complete menu but the quality of the food is very high. There is a real chef hiding in the kitchen. The staff is extremely kind, I was positively surprised as some previous comments were critical; everyone was helpful, smiling, flexible and very attentive to every request. I spent a few days with my Mum and we were both delighted by the experience.

Room Tip: Sea view without doubts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I fell in love with Alghero and Sardinia the first time we went in 2009 and after several visits we decided to hold our wedding there last June.

We would like to say a very very belated thank you to Giovanni, the manager at El Faro and all his staff for making our wedding day so special.

We had looked at pretty much all of the 4-5 star hotels in and around Alghero, but the moment we walked into El Faro we knew it would make the perfect venue for our wedding. The location of the hotel is simply stunning, very romantic and the views overlooking the bay to Capo Caccia are breathtaking. The hotel is decorated very tastefully and to a very high standard, we loved the terrace and bar area. We would also definitely recommend paying the extra for a sea view room.

We, including our family and friends spent just over a week at El Faro and Giovanni and his team were absolutely fantastic. The service, food and general organisation on the day and during our entire stay was superb and everyone had such a wonderful time, we would love to go back and do it all again!

We would also like to thank and highly recommend our wedding planner Colleen Piras of Weddings in Sardinia. Colleen was absolutely fantastic at helping us organise the day from start to finish and assisting us with all the arrangements from the legal documents to the flowers, transport, cake, photographers and hair appointments etc. She is very very experienced and made sure the whole day went by without a hitch!

Many thanks again!

Lindsay and Adam

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayL688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elfaromng, Direttore vendite at El Faro Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Adam e Lindsay, it was a pleasure work for you. Your sutisfaction is our mission.
A special thank to all hotel staff, special thanks to all those people who work for you but not seen.

"None of us is as smart as all of us put together"
Roy Kroc (fondatore di McDonald's)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent place to relax in a fantastic bay in Sardinia. Views from the room are great.
Lots of fishes to see under the sea. Breakfast is OK but not exceptional, rooms are clean.
Its very romantic, ideal for couples or families which do not need a lot of enterteinment.
Actually there is not much else to do other than taking sun, swimmimg, sleeping and reading with few people around.
My suggestion is to rent a car at the airpost, you can see other sites including beaches and enjoy in Alghero night life and various restaurant.
Cons: the water can be cold (for italians), should be OK for people from northern Europe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank family2011_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The loction of this hotel is really beautiful, next to a protected natural park, but the hotel is far too expensive for what it is. Total lack of service (no pool service, no spa!!!), staff almost rude (although it was the end of peak season). I won't repeat what other travellers have alrealdy pointed out. Would like to stress that breakfast is bas: no proper bread, no proper juices...
Pity because this hotel could be a gem with the proper management and refurbishment.
Location is not a problem but you need a car (it is easy to rent a car and drive around).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatimaLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The location of this place is stunning, but the hotel itself could be so much better. Maybe it was because we visited at the end of the peak season, but the staff were very rude and unhelpful. Upon checkin my friend and I were given absolutely no information about what the hotel had to offer, and did not even know where breakfast was or from what time. Whenever we approached the desk to ask advice or querstions, we were made to feel like we were interrupting the front desk staff from something more important. We couldn't seem to find any information regarding things to do in the area, and the hotel information provided in the rooms did not offer much. Can't believe there was no wifi in the rooms!!

The drinks were quite expensive however the barman was nice. Was disappointed that there were no real food offerings during the day, like a snack menu or something. The pool area and sun loungers are great but there were a lot of wasps unfortunately, and insect repellant is a definite must.

The breakfast was nice, although for a 4 star place it was disappointing that you had to pay additional for poached eggs, especially as all that was offer were cold hard boiled eggs or scrambled eggs laden with cream.

Would definitely recommend getting a car - we visited a great pizzeria in nearby fertilia, where pizzas are around 5-8 euros - brilliant value. Getting a car also means you can explore some of the beaches up the coast which are out of this world.

Room Tip: I booked a garden view room which was good value - it also still afforded a sea view which was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenstarnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

First off we have to say that the hotel has a superb position on a promontory and fair weather or foul, the rooms look out onto an impressive sea view. The sounds of the sea are fantastic. However this hotel, which is great, could try a little harder and be fantastic. We had an executive room, the third category up, and were surprised to only have wifi access in the reception area. We had plastic throw away cups for drinking, that's a bit cheap and not environmentally sound. Our double bed was 2 singles, not uncommon but apparently there is no alternative at the hotel. The restaurant was fantastic but only offered a 3 course set menu. Not everyone wants to or can eat this much every night and with only one other restaurant in town, more choice would have been very welcome. The staff didn't see very present or attentive, there were towels left out on loungers over night in high wind. Obviously this was not a problem for us but shows that perhaps they weren't around enough or lacked passion. Also with so much to do in the area more information at reception would have been good. This is all meant as constructive feedback, we had a great time and a very comfortable stay and would recommend the hotel to others.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VasaBee_and_KingBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alghero
2.7 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 50 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
6.6 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
3.7 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Corte Rosada Couples Resort & SPA
8.6 mi away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#1 of 50 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
119.3 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Faro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Faro Hotel

Property: El Faro Hotel
Address: Localita Porto Conte, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#6 Business Hotel in Alghero
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Faro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Faro Hotel, ammazing place, intimate and elegant project by the illustrious Sardinian architect Antonio Simon Mossa, stands in the wonderful scene of Baia delle Ninfe(the Nymph Bay), immersed in the surrounding nature. Designed over the idea of a boat anchored at sea, it has an equipped marina area, seawater swimming pools, spa services and WI-FI zones. It is only 10 minutes away from Alghero and the airport Alghero-Fertilia. Paris Alghero its only 2 hours fly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Faro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Faro Alghero
El Faro Hotel Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing