We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Intollerante - CLOSED

L'Intollerante
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to L'intollerante - the staff were very welcoming and made an effort to look after us well. Food at this restaurant is delicious - fresh fish was fantastic. If you're looking for a fancy restaurant this is not the one to go to due to the fairly relaxed an informal atmosphere but to us this made it a great place to eat top quality food whilst relaxing with a bottle of vino. Cheers guys!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Coeliacs delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I am celiac and require a gluten free diet and was delighted to find that everything on the menu was 'senza glutene', very nice and good value,just a bit out of town at the end of the lido, but well worth it even if you are not Coeliac.

Helpful?
2 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We have had great and fresh food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We were for one week in Alghero and we went twice to this lovely restaurant. We enjoyed on the first evening the mixed seafood starter and mixed meat starter. For the main course we had the spaghetti with clams and the traditional pasta. This accompanied with the house wine. Everything was really fresh made and we enjoyed every bite we took! Both the starters were containing surprising elements and made us smile. For the pasta dishes we again were amazed by the taste experience. Moreover the service offered to us was very friendly and honest.
When we came the second time we sticked to most of the previous tasted dishes, but we also tried the spaghetti with seafood. Really good and we were almost sad when we finished our food. So if you are able to visit this restaurant, please do, because the food and the people are worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank JennyvanOverveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing after all the good reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We ate here with our toddler after seeing all the good recommendations. Street parking was easy to find and prices were reasonable (Euro 6.50-13 for appetizers, Euro 9-13 for pasta, and Euro 8.50-13 for secondi).
We had the house special pasta which was supposed to be the typical small gnocchi, but seemed more to be small shell pasta. It was well-cooked and the sauce tasty. We also had the seafood soup main course which had a very nice tomato sauce and lots of seafood, but the pork in white wine sauce with vegetables was very disappointing as there seemed to be no real flavour to the meat or the sauce, and the flour the meat was dipped in was mushy and clumping up.
On the plus side, two waitresses spoke great English and service was very efficient and friendly. The patio and interior of the restaurant were nice. Despite an interesting menu and good prices, we will not eat here again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank drk2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Came upon this restaurant by chance first night - it's off the strip and the only place to get decent and properly cooked pasta! The cheese plates are divine and at €6 incredibly good value. Very reasonable and lovely staff. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Doraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Intollerante also viewed

Santa Maria La Palma, Alghero
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing