We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place at a great price.”
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa del Mar
Ranked #26 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Alghero
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place at a great price.”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We spent 6 days in Alghero. Unfortunately it did rain hard for the first 2 days (unheard of weather in May apparently!) but the apartment was well catered for DVD player and TV so we didn't have to spend all the time outside. It's a lovely, well designed apartment with everything you could possibly need. Marco the owner was extremely helpful, organising well priced taxis to and from the Airport and on hand if anything was needed. It's 10 minute walk to the lovely old town with loads of nice restaurants. There is a small beach about 5 minutes walk, it is a 30 minute walk to the big stretch of beach the other side of town. This isn't a problem though as there are free bikes at the property (although my wife was pregnant when we went so we couldn't use them!) and a shuttle bus that goes up and down the front and through the town. As it was me and the missus enjoyed the walk through the town and along the front to the beach so the walk was fine and by no means a problem when you're sat resting on the beach!

Well recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebytfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scarborough
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night break staying at the lovely Casa Del Mar.
A spacious apartment where your neighbors were just local people leisurely living life the "Sardinian way".
A 10 minute walk takes you the scenic route into the quaint old town which has retained all of its character.
Using the free bicycles from Casa Del Mar was wonderful.
We enjoyed them so much we ended up cycling a 50km round trip to Neptunes Caves.
On the last day, the owner (Marco) kindly let us keep the apartment for the day as there were no guests arriving that night. A lovely gesture, thank you Marco.
With supermarkets, bakery and restaurants all in walking distance, this was perfect.

This was our 5th time to Alghero, and so pleased that we found Casa Del Mar.

We will return...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jez2Scarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

It's simple but nicer than most hotels I've stayed at. There is a small kitchen with a supermarket only two streets down. We had a nice balcony, too. The walk to the old city is probably 5-10minutes along the coast, just far enough to make it quiet but conviently located. The owner left chocolate for us on arrival and gave us a little advice on the city/happenings. Overall, a nice place that I would recommend and return to.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjm341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed in this Hostel for 2 nights, and everything was perfect, from the arrival, which was easy and quick from the Airport (we had a car rented) to the cute kitchen, fully equipped (even with an italian expresso machine!), superb room, clean tidy and perfectly presented.
The nights we were there the area was so quiet that sleeping there was simply delicious. It was not high season, but I'm sure it should be ok also in summer. Internet access free of charge, they give you the keys of the flat and the building so you can come in and out whenever you want.
I will always return to this place in my next visit to this beautiful island and I will definitely recommend it to friends, it's an ideal place to stay if you are a couple, a group of friends or even a family

Room Tip: The room on the top floor has an amazing terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia73London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Very nice, spacious, yet cozy place. You have there everything you may need. Conveniently located, close to the seafront, walking distance to the downtown, restaurants and attractions. A big food store is also nearby. Marco, the owner and the manager, is a very friendly and helpful person. All the restaurants he recommended were just great. He even helped me to arrange a visit to his hairdresser (though, unfortunately it was a very short notice, the guy was busy, and we were leaving the next day). Our stay would be absolutely perfect but for one small thing. I had to work a bit in the evenings and was supposed to be on-line. Marco, you probably have to change your internet provider, the internet was very unstable. That was a bad message. A good message – there is actually free WiFi! :) All in all, very good place. Recommend!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vitus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

These apartments are very nice and in a perfect location if one does want to avoid the rather touristy Marina district, yet to be close to Alghero Center (10 minute walk away along the sea), but still be in a quiet surrounding (as quiet as it can be in a city, as this is no beach or country resort!). It is obvious that the owners made an effort to make this place comfortable: Very clean, well equipped with all technical devices and ustensils from hair dryers, microwave, DVD player, ironing stuff, a comfortable amount of clean towels and little things like basic toiletries, candles, tooth pics etc. One immediately feels like being at home and I doubt that most of the real hotels in the area offer this level of comfort. Nearby is a large supermarket and finding a parking space for the car was usually easy a couple of streets away. While a car rental is not crucial it makes exploring the beaches and surroundings much easier of course. We encountered however one problem: The smallest studio apartment while being as pleasant as the other units and very airy with a large roof terrace, is equipped with a sofa bed only which was not great. However they were kind enough to move us to another apartment as it was available. Their website does show very well their offer. If one can live with the fact that there is no reception (contact the owners before you arrive and they wil make sure that someone will be on the site to welcome you) and the breakfast must be prepared by yourself as well as you do some basic cleaning yourself, this is an excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldwanderer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
1.7 mi away
Residence Europa
Residence Europa
#33 of 49 in Alghero
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#14 of 49 in Alghero
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Rosada Alghero
Casa Rosada Alghero
#4 of 140 in Alghero
116 reviews
1.6 mi away
Picale Apartments
Picale Apartments
#57 of 140 in Alghero
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terre Bianche
Terre Bianche
#20 of 253 in Alghero
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Property: Casa del Mar
Address: Via Fratelli Kennedy 102, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have available some apartments in the town and a villa in the country ideal for the holidays in Alghero, with friends or in family. Every apartment from two places bed in on, has equipped Kitchen area with lunch table, fridge, microwaves. Bath with shower, balcony, air conditioning, heating, TV lcd, sat, DVD, hi-fi cd, radio, free WI FI, washing machine, electric iron and ironing board, hair dryer.Every apartment it is inclusive of linen for the bed, bath and kitchen (weekly change) In the price are included the consumptions of electric energy, gas, water, and the final cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing