We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for dinner”

Ristorante Il Pavone
Ranked #36 of 356 Restaurants in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great spot for dinner”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Family run with great choices at reasonable prices.
We walked 15min in the cold wind to get there and it was worth it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HongKongDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    157
    52
    30
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly and authentic”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great relaxed service. Lots of locals eating there. Pasta was lovely and so was the entrecote, the suckling pig was less good. The ice cream was fig and chilli - a refreshing way to end a meal! Generally, a worthwhile pick - we found a few of the restaurants lacking - possibly the timing of the trip in low season over the new year, but Il Pavone was probably the best place we ate for dinner.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank iharttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“AMAZING food.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

A friend & I stayed in Alghero for a short 2 days last month. We ate at Il Pavone 3 times in two days. The tagliatelle with shrimp & chick peas is to die for. We also has 2 other fish dishes and the fish cake appetizer. All were simply delicious- the best food from our entire Italy trip. The owner walks around and makes sure you have everything you need, and also allows you taste new things he's created. If you're a seafood fanatic, this restaurant is a must!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bknee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The restaurant is located on the edge of historical centre. It has a few outdoor tables but I'd recommend to seat inside to see the interior.
The food, menu and service were great and the price was below average for Alghero (below 40 euros per person). What was special in Il Pavone is its owner. We'd been there twice, and every time he would walk from table to table and offer a taste of his newly invented dish, always different. He looks the hapiest man in the world when guests like his inventions. The second time there was something spicy (not too much to my taste) which my daughter couldn't eat, which made the man quite disappointed. He left and came back with something different (just invented), and he was happy when my daughter liked it.
Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smk000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Had a lovely meal”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Lovely location on the edge of the old town. Great place to sit and watch Alghero go by. We ate here on a Sunday evening, busy but not impossible to get a table. Lovely spaghetti delle vongole with spicy sauce. Good service, nice atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doughnut-Jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Pavone also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Ristorante Il Pavone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing