We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite up to our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alghero Resort Country Hotel
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Not quite up to our expectations”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for the final 4 nights of our tour of Sardinia in July. We booked half-board so we would not have drive out for dinner each night. Food was good, but there was no choice unless you asked specifically for an alternative. They also played the same music (Adele!) each evening.

The hotel was much smaller than we expected - I think we expected a 'resort' to be larger. We booked a superior room and were glad to be on the 2nd floor. There was a problem with our AC one evening so we were temporarily moved to the Suite which was very nice and spacious ( but were only in there for about an hour as the AC did not work there either!!) and then to a standard room, which seemed very basic but was at least nice and cool! Because of the inconvenience we were offered a free bottle of wine with our meal th next night - which seemed like a nice gesture until we had to ask for it to be taken off the bill and the end of the stay!

Pool area was very nice and the hotel very convenient for Alghero and surrounding area (but a car is essential if you want to escape the hotel). My impression was that the hotel is trying to punch above its weight and not entirely succeeding. For various reasons we did not feel entirely welcome or comfortable compared with other places we stayed on the trip - hence the average rating.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth paying for a superior room. The standard rooms open straight out on to the Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    127
    56
    8
    5
See reviews for
85
203
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

6 of us spent an amazing week at this fabulously friendly family run hotel. The staff were amazing, every thing we wished for catered too, and I really couldnt expect to have felt more at home anywhere. With beautiful facilities and a stable full of horses right next door we went riding in the countryside, visited Algheros beautiful historic town, walked over 500 steps to underground grottos and endless walks in the national park, a sailing trip on a private boat owned by the hotel, private tennis coaching lessons on the hotels two fabulous courts, dips in the swimming pool and even massage and spa on the one day it was raining. We enjoyed fabulous yoga classes in English that week offered by a visiting professional yoga teacher from Switzerland, out on the terrace under the blue skys and warming Sardignian sunshine - what more could you want?

Room Tip: They are all beautiful, with traditional Sardegnan furniture - very spacious and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleGibbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We enjoyed a very relaxing 4 nights at this hotel during our trip to Sardinia. The hotel is an easy 5 minute drive outside Alghero and is surrounded by olive groves and vinyards. The rooms are large and comfortable, an upgrade to superior was worth the extra cost as these rooms have french windows onto a juliet balcony and are on the first floor so no noise from above. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and the staff were friendly and helpful. A beautiful, elegant resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alghero R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alghero Resort Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for your precious opinion.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our services, the friendliness of our staff and the relaxation you can enjoy staying here.
We hope to have you again here at the "Alghero Resort" as soon as our guest.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Alghero Resort Country Hotel in August. It's a wonderful, clean and comfortable place. Roma Bradi was extremely kind and helpful with restaurant suggestions and things to do during the day, and she speaks English. Be sure to ask her for directions and be specific. All Sardinians seem to think it's super easy to get around and assume that you'll know where you're going. But it takes some doing. So don't be afraid to ask.

Great salads for lunch at their outdoor restaurant. Small, but refreshing pool. The hotel is about 10 minute drive into the historical center of Alghero, not on the sea. We didn't have a problem finding parking even in mid-August when things are really hopping.

Excellent A/C and wireless internet, which isn't always available in Sardinia.

Room Tip: Rooms are simple and sparse but clean and comfortable. The cheaper and smaller rooms were on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alghero R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alghero Resort Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear guest,
thanks for the wonderful review you wrote about us.
We are very happy you enjoyed our hotel, our services and the fact that the resort is located just 5 minutes drive from the city of Alghero.
Our staff and in particular the Roma lady thank you very much for the compliments that you have reserved.
We hope to have you again as our guest.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

English spoken! almost a first for us since we'd arrived in Sardinia.
Easy to find and only a short drive outside Alghero, but far enough to be wonderfully peaceful.
The room was comfortable and spacious - fortunately - as it rained solidly for the 3 days we were there.
Only downside for us was that the restaurant wasn't open, so we had to drive every evening to go out to eat.
The real highlight of the place is the staff, who are very pleasant and wonderfully helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Browneyedbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alghero R, Responsabile reception at Alghero Resort Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Customer,

we thank you for your commentary and we hope to have you here again at Alghero Resort .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our tour of northern Sardinia. We chose this hotel as we didn't want to be in the middle of Alghero: this was about a 10 min drive away.
Both receptionists spoke excellent English and were very friendly.
The hotel room was very clean but it lacked a balcony; suitcase shelving; hooks and light in the bathroom (this seemed to be quite common in many hotels - they seem to like a dimpsy light?)
The pool was very welcoming and the sun loungers very comfortable but there was no where in the room to dry our towels afterwards - perhaps they could install one of those pull out washing lines in the bathroom?
The breakfast was OK but a bit unadventourous - a fruit salad would have been nice.
Also, I would suggest that the potholed drive gives a poor impression as you drive to the hotel. As do the uncared for vineyards. Minor points but I think if the hotel is trying to create a niche for itself as as upmarket resort hotel with spa treatments then first impressions are important.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia0763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was my second time at this wonderful family run hotel. The place is very clean and has only a limited number of rooms giving the hotel a very warm, home away from home feeling. The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and all the staff is second to none. They also really value loyal customers and in fact they upgraded our room to a suite. The countryside setting is ideal particularly to unwind by the pool after a day at one of the beautiful beaches (La Pelosa is definitely one of the nicest!). The added advantage is that it provides guests with a very tranquil, intimate environment while being minutes away from Alghero's historical town where one can savour some very delicious food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeantide N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.6 mi away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#1 of 50 in Alghero
398 reviews
8.2 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#7 of 50 in Alghero
825 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#2 of 50 in Alghero
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Corte Rosada Couples Resort & SPA
5.5 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#11 of 50 in Alghero
607 reviews
2.5 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alghero
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alghero Resort Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alghero Resort Country Hotel

Property: Alghero Resort Country Hotel
Address: via Carrabuffas, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Alghero
#5 Business Hotel in Alghero
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alghero Resort Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alghero Country Resort Hotel, an oasis of silence and stillness behind the sounds of celebration from the nearby tourist resort, Alghero. An enchanting place, a detail of the nature where you can think, relax, and play.The resort is an ancient dwelling constructed in the 18th century, and now completely renovated and designed contemporary revisiting of a place created for the welfare and of this form and expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alghero Resort Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alghero Resort Country Hotel Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing