We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is fab u lous”
Review of La Botteghina

La Botteghina
Ranked #41 of 381 Restaurants in Alghero
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent food had squid as a starter it was superb. For my main course I had filled pasta with a tomato and basil sauce. It was heavenly.you must try this restaurant if you visit Alghero

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee7Richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 163 of 952 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stumbled upon La Botteghina one evening having not read any reviews on the restaurant. We were a little apprehensive as the restaurant was empty on a Saturday night. We needn't have worried as within 30 minutes the restaurant was full and by the time we left several hours later, there were people waiting for tables. The restaurant has a lovely ambience with beautiful arched ceilings and marble topped tables.

The menu is extensive, largely due to a huge selection of pizza's with an array of toppings ranging from simple tomato, mozzarella and rocket, to smoked ricotta, mint, pecorino and bean, to brocccoli, sardinian sausage and pecorino to name a few few. The pizzas are 50 cm long and are a great size to share between 2. We had great fun choosing our pizzas, indeed we ended up coming back a second night just to sample a few more varieties!

On our second night we were almost turned away as we did not have a booking however they managed to 'squeeze' us in. We then watched with some amusement as the next 4 groups came in without bookings and they managed to find them tables too. I'm not sure exactly how they manage their tables, but fortunately it did not detract from the dining experience! I would strongly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tripper208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claudiacrabuzza, Proprietario at La Botteghina, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hi
thank you for your review! We are happy to welcome our guest the best we can, always.
See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stumbled upon it by chance. It was full but they offer I could eat at the counter, which was ok by me. The service was good despite being very busy. and the atmosphere was really nice, the kitchen staff laughing and sharing jokes all the time. The food was great, fresh ingredients, local menu, worth going back there. Tiramissu was a bit disappointing though. It may be worth going early to book a table for later, it gets really crowded!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank camfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claudiacrabuzza, Proprietario at La Botteghina, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hi
thank you for your review! We like you appreciate the relaxing atmosphere of La Botteghina, and our fresh food. I hope you will try again our tiramisù, because normally people loves it and come back again and again just to have it. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a really nice meal at La Botteghina this past weekend. Their outlook is a little more modern compared to other spots in Alghero and it makes a nice change.

We stopped in for lunch and went with their pizza which was excellent - beautifully cooked with the kind of fresh ingredients that most cooks can only dream of.

Also - Vegetarians: There’s plenty of options here for you.

Their tiramisu comes highly recommended and rightly so.

Would definitely advise making a booking if you’re going during a busy time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Billionz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claudiacrabuzza, Proprietario at La Botteghina, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hi
thank you for your review!
We are happy that you appreciate the food of La Botteghina and the outlook too! We wait you next time in Alghero. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in Alghero for 7 days and ate out every evening and sometimes also lunch. We tried three other restaurants before, but after eating at Botteghina we ended up going there for the rest of the trip. Very friendly personnel that felt like they were friends/family. Excellent menu, dishes made of local ingredients, many vegan and organic choices. Inexpensive yet decent wine, but that is true for most of Sardinia. Our no1 restaurant in Alghero, definitely go try it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Botteghina also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to La Botteghina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing