We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent setting with decent food and service.”

Osteria Macchiavello
Reserve with
Osteria Macchiavello is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 351 Restaurants in Alghero
Price range: $26 - $81
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Excellent setting with decent food and service.”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We ate here on our second of seven nights in Sardinia, as recommended by our hotel staff. The location is excellent and it really was pleasant sitting outside in October, people watching as all the evening strollers and tourists out for dinner went by. We had the roasted Pecorino cheese, spicy Mussel soup, Sardinian Gnocchi with Wild Boar ragu, mixed fried fish and one portion of Seadas (traditional Sardinian deep fried pastry filled with cheese and drizzled with honey). With one bottle of water and a bottle of Sardinian red wine the bill came to Euro 80. The service was fine and the food was a mix of excellent and okay i.e. the Gnocchi was very claggy (stodgy) and the Boar ragu was a bit disappointing as was the Seadas but everything else was very good and we would return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlgheroAlghero, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Osteria Macchiavello, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
The location is excellent and is certainly relaxing to watch the tourists walking along the walls of Alghero. We regret that some foods have you not fully satisfied, but we hope to have you again as our guests, and we hope you’ll change in a better judgment our "Gnocchi" and "Seadas" :)
Best regards,
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    217
    91
    71
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Helped make the holiday”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

There is something special about sitting outside to have dinner, with only the sea before you . . . especially in October! This is obviously one of THE places in Alghero to do it, since the 3 times we went (we had a special discount from Hotel Angedras) there was always a queue waiting to sit outside: none of the other seafront restaurants seemed to draw the punters so well. I'd have to say that both service and quality of food did match the location. Generally we felt that Alghero food was very expensive and unimaginative, but it wasn't just the 10% off that kept us coming back here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlgheroAlghero, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Osteria Macchiavello, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Surely, to see people who are waiting for a table in a restaurant increase the curiosity of customers who switch because it means that, if it works is because it is of good quality.

We work with the principle of the excellent quality / price ratio, we want to offer our local customers and tourists the opportunity to savor the delights that our land offers.

The restaurant and even the hotel Angedras wait you again for a wonderful holiday 

Best regards
Roberta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice Food and Service”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just read the previous review but I am glad to say I had a totally different visit here. The food was great and was very tasty. I had the suckling pig and it was perfectly done. The veg was very nice and starters good also. The view is fantastic from here but it began raining when we were nearly finished. We asked the staff if we could move inside and they were very accommodating. In general the staff who served us were great. Would visit again. Received 10 per cent discount on next visit which I thought was a good idea for the location.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yogmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlgheroAlghero, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Osteria Macchiavello, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Good morning,

We want to thank you for the nice words about the restaurant Macchiavello. We are delighted that dinner was perfect. We are waiting you for the next season.

Best regards, Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally underwhelmed & disappointed”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I'm not going to write too much here, just back in the door from this place but I feel it's important to let other people know:

- Went I'm late October, 'off season' but still very busy
- Amazing location, great atmosphere & views
- Served by 5 different staff. Nobody knew what the others had served/asked us.
- Ordered suckling pig as one of our main courses as it is recommended as a local dish
- Suckling pig was dropped before it got to the table.
- We were asked if we would like a replacement, waitress 'wasn't sure' if pig was still available
- Waitress returned to tell us it was no longer available and was surprised that we wanted to order something else
- Food was mediocre at best
- Bill arrived and we were not only charged for the replacement main course, but also for the 2 glasses of sparkling wine that we were handed as we waited for a table.

The total bill was €105. This was almost 4 times what a far superior meal in a nearby trattoria the previous night cost.

I would go here for a glass of wine but that is all. Very disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ianwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlgheroAlghero, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Osteria Macchiavello, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Good morning,

we are very sorry for what has happened. It may happen that at the end of the season, the pig is not always available. but we are sorry for all the rest of the dinner. We only hope to meet you again to change her opinion about the restaurant Macchiavello.

Best regards, Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can not fault this restaurant in anyway!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

It was so good we went back for a second time!! Over looking the sea this restaurant is amazing, great warm and helpful staff and food to match! Our waitor recommended an amazing local proseco, he took time out to explain how and where its made, the service was faultless and they remembered us everytime we walked passed. The second time we went we changed out minds and wanted to move inside because of the bugs (NOTHING TO DO WITH THE RESTAURANT JUST THE TIME OF YEAR)) and they couldnt do enough for us, inside was air conditioned and we still rec'd first class service. The manager always checked in on us and spoke to us before we left on both occasions. Everyone smiles and the wine glasses where never empty as they made sure we didnt have to move an inch to do it! My husband loves asking about the local area/food and everyone took the time out to any his questions - it was a great experience....must visit!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Akwinder G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlgheroAlghero, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Osteria Macchiavello, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Everything was faultless , the quality of the food, the service and the atmosphere
Your words are the best satisfaction about our job.

We hope to meet you again very early.
thanks again and... have a good winter :)

Best regards, Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Macchiavello also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Osteria Macchiavello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing