We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, but great food and location”
Review of Mirador Restaurant

Mirador Restaurant
Ranked #74 of 365 Restaurants in Alghero
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Mirador restaurant awaits you on the ancient sea walls of Alghero, Sardinia: set in a prime location where it is possible to admire the unique views of the walled medieval town. Mirador restaurant welcomes diners to experience the cosy atmosphere of its restaurant, set on the Marco Polo sea walls in Alghero, on the north-west coast of Sardinia. The restaurant, which was once an ancient patrician dwelling, has a unique location: in the heart of town heavily influenced by its Catalan origins and is set directly on the promenade that runs along the ancient walls that look out across the Gulf of Alghero. Unique views in an exclusive atmosphere: historical bar; cosy sea view terrace on the first floor; outside dining area equipped with large, white sun umbrellas to provide shade in the hotter months; an elegant and secluded internal courtyard with lemon trees - all rich in traces of the past.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Terrible service, but great food and location”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Really fantastic spot on the edge of the old town looking out over the sea. It was late in the evening so we fancied sitting in the Sun as it set. However, it was still too hot, so we asked to move to the next table to sit in some shade. This was met with huge reluctance, but we moved anyway. There were lots of empty tables so I don’t see why they couldn’t accommodate this. Then when we went to order some drinks from one of the many waitresses stood around chatting, she just pointed to a waiter elsewhere.

Poor service aside the food was lovely. Both steak and fish were great. A nice place to sit and watch the sunset.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagicTorchster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    254
    129
    85
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slow slow slow”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Mirador has a nice location, where theres busy and a beautiful view. But we ordered a fixed menu and got some bread very fast and also our starters. But then the waiters couldn't manage to keep up with the only half full terrace. So we waited 30 min for our first course and after that, we waited over 50 min. before we decided to leave without having the main-course.
The food we got to try was very nice, but the service and time is not acceptable. So if you have more than 3 hours to spend, you should go here :o)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank andersblarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Marvellous Mirador”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The choice of restaurants along the waterfront in beautiful Alghero is amazing. The decor of the Mirador is extremely beautiful, tasteful and not over the top, showing the history and culture on the walls and furnishings. We were warmly welcomed on a very busy Easter Sunday evening. The attention remained throughout the evening with very helpful and genuinely friendly staff who had large numbers of guests to cope with.
But to the star of the evening- our food! We started with a mixed seafood antipasti with 5 different types of fish. If you love seafood then Sardinia is your food heaven. We had mains of half a crayfish in a rich tomato based sauce and the other with crayfish in a tomato based soup with risoni. Incredible flavors and prices that would be at least double in Australia
The dolci, an orange semi fredo was light and delicate and just E5. The bread goes without saying - a highlight as it was everywhere in Sardinia.
A fantastic meal, an unforgettable evening.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cinemaparadiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Bad Food but a nice view”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Bad food but the view is verry nice , there are à lot off otter resto to go in that area sow no worry

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parisitour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top class Sardinian food”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The food, the ambiance, the service, the location - what else is there? Oh yes - the wine - yum yum

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirador Restaurant also viewed

 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Mirador Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing