We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best....”
Review of Al Tuguri

Al Tuguri
Ranked #59 of 356 Restaurants in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $77 - $170
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“One of the best....”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of the best restaurants I've ever eaten in! I'm a very fussy eater, but I cannot fault the service or food in the place. We were even served by the owner himself, which I believe is a privilege as he's a local celebrity in Alghero!!

However!! We simply asked a question about one of the meals, and then, all of a sudden, the food appeared. We didn't order it (the main 4 courses which they are famous for) and were not really too sure about what we were eating, or why. However, it was absolutely brilliant and I can't fault it. But I saw it happen to an Australian couple opposite us too! I noticed this in another restaurant too, so I can't say it was the fault of the resturants but maybe us not making ourselves very clear!

However, this restaurant has stuck in my mind and will be thoroughly recommended to anyone who goes to Sardinia! It's a bit on the pricey side (over 100 Euros) for such small dishes, but well worth trying out just once to say you've been and experience quite possibly the best food ever!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    120
    44
    24
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
135 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our second visit and apologies for not letting you in on the secret earlier! This establishment is renowned for fish and seafood but also offers meat and vegetarian menus. In June 2012 we opted for the lobster menu which was in every way fabulous. Too long ago to remember much detail but we were very keen to try again! In September 2012 we booked for the last evening of our holiday and chose a la carte because by this time we were desperate for vegetarian food. We were not disappointed.

We started with a shared plate of seafood appetisers including: red mullet, octopus, smoked barracuda mousse and other delicacies. To follow we chose two different vegetarian pastas; ravioli stuffed with onion puree and a short pasta with fresh tomato and rocket. Both were incredible!

For the mains we ordered sea bass and grilled tuna. Both dishes were expertly cooked and presented and of a more than adequate portion size. You have probably guessed by now we has to pass on dessert! All of this was complemented by our favourite tipple Torbato Brut!

The service was excellent and all tables were occupied. We were left alone to enjoy the atmosphere and all attention from the waiters was at the right time.

The bill was very good value at 112 Euro which was only marginally the most we paid for a dinner the whole week we were in Alghero.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skyecorrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Certainly the best restaurant in Alghero”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Firstly as other reviewers have pointed out when you first walk into the restaurant it does look a little unusual and some what off putting. Venture up the stairs and into the main dining room and you will be pleasantly surprised. A lovely cosy atmosphere with the most welcoming staff. You can feel the professionalism and sense that this place is the real deal.
The cooking is outstanding and the prices reasonable for the high quality dishes that are turned out in this fascinating establishment .
Street ahead of the rest !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
180 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good Sardinian cooking and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We came back to 'Al Tuguri' after several years to find the same tasty dishes prepared with fresh and personality by the chef Mr. B. Carbonella. This restaurant is to be recommended not only for the quality of its food, but for the friendly atmosphere conveyed by Mr. Carbonella and his staff. Very efficient and nice service. 'Al Tuguri' is also a very good value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gianpaolo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
174 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were aware of the restaurant in our guidebook and with great expectations we booked table.
We ordered fish menu and was pleasantly surprised. We were recommended a local white wine, which was fantastic. It was a nice evening with delicious beautifully arranged dishes.
The restaurant is definitely commendable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flemming B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Tuguri also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Al Tuguri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing