We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a nice surprise!”
Review of Lloc d'Or B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lloc d'Or B&B
Ranked #3 of 265 Alghero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such a nice surprise!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My friend and I stayed here on our spring break and everything was so convenient, and the price was incredible! Breakfast was always great and Gemma makes sure to have it for you at whatever time is convenient for you. Location was great, everything we wanted to see was close by. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was such a luxury compared to the hostels (being poor college students). Stay here if you can!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenD919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
127
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We spent three night in this nice little B&B and it could not be better for us. It really felt like home. We had a large bedroom with air conditioning and television. The bathroom was large and clean and had all necessary facilities, even a hair-dryer. We could use the kitchen every time we needed and every evening we would sit there and have a cup of tea (it was December and we were the only guests staying there). In the kitchen there is a large fridge which we could use as well.
The lady of the house, Gemma, is a very friendly Italian woman who welcomed us on our arrival and gave all sorts of tips e.g. what to visit, where to eat, even bus schedules, Thanks to her we saw quite a lot within a limited amount of time. We also loved chatting with her in the morning while she was making our coffee. She would also make breakfast and it was just great. We got all kinds of typical Sardinian specialties - sausages, ham, cheese, a variety of pastries and fresh bread, jams and yogurt. Absolutely delicious! It was so much we did not really need lunch.
The B&B is located on the first floor of a well-kept building on a quiet street and is just a three-minite walk away from the waterfront, a ten-minute walk away from the old town and a five-minute walk away from the bus terminal from where you can take a bus in any direction if you are using public transport.
It was a very pleasant and relaxed stay.

Thanks a lot, Gemma! We promised to come back and we will one day ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patchybackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

That's what you get with Gemma and Giovianni; hospitality, clean spacious room, delicious breakfasts and important good tips to make your stay in Sardinia more pleasant. And not to forget the ideal location, near the beach, old town, public transport. We were so pleased with our stay at Lloc d'or that we decided to also stay our last night at Lloc d'or. The driving spirit behind this Bed and Breakfast is Gemma, an energetic Italian woman with whom Customer is King.

Room Tip: Also nice if you are with a family or 4 people. Then you have the whole location for yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florencesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We travelled as a couple in Sardinia and spend 10 nights in the appartment offered by Gemma in her attic (as the other appartment was not available during our entire stay).
Every morning breakfast was more than generous with local products and Sardinian pastries. Honestly, our next meal after breakfast was dinner!
We wanted privacy ad a clean place and we got them!
Gemma and her family are extremely friendly, happy to share with you tips about good places to eat, special places to visit and good tips for nice experiences with low budget.
Alghero is more a residential area rather than a holiday resort, so one can easily travel around with un-expensive local transport as alternative to renting a car/scooter/bike.
The location is on a quiet street, 3-4' walk distance to the sea and 10-15' to the old city centre.
We were very happy being there at the beginning of September when we had a max of 30 degrees and no rain - perfect to be all day in the sun!
We would have liked wireless internet to connect our smartphones, howerver we did get access to cable internet, which was helpful to read some more about the options in the surroundings.

If you travel to/from Alghero airport, on your departure day plan 2 hours at least for airport procedures. The airport custom/security check facility is insufficient for the amount of travellers. It can take more than an hour to get to the gate!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C.A. N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Gemma was lovely! She made every effort to accomodate us, including putting us up in her own private penthouse suite. The rooms were clean and comfortable (we stayed for two nights) and the B&B is located very close to the old town, the beach.... everything! Don't need a car to enjoy this place and all it has to offer. Thanks Gemma, we will surely visit again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed at Lloc d'Or for 3 nights and it was the best accomodation we experienced during our tour around Sardinia. Right from the moment of booking through to our departure Gemma and her husband Giovanni were most helpful in every aspect to ensure we had a wonderful stay in Alghero. We were lucky enough to stay in the 5th floor roof top apartment of their own home, which was an unexpected and pleasant surprise as it surpassed all of our expectations. It was spotlessly clean and had a pretty terrace with lovely sea views which was ideal for sunbathing and enjoying a glass of wine in the evenings. The hosts were so pleasant and friendly and really contributed to our stay in this beautiful part of Sardinia. Every morning a generous breakfast was served up to us. Location is ideal, about 7-8 minute walk from the amazing old town and in the opposite direction the same distance to the lido beach. As we hired a car, Gemma gave us excellent recommendations for the remainder of our tour of Sardina. She recommended that we drive north (approx 1hr 15mins) to Stintino and La Pelosa beach (one of the top ten beaches in the world) on our first day.This beach has to be seen to be believed, absolutely incredible! After a day here we then drove further north and stayed in the fabulous seaside town of Palau, taking in the Madelena archipegalo and the stunning Costa Smerelda. Alghero was the highight for us and we cannot wait to return. Please stay here, you won't regret it!
Thanks so much Gemma and Giovanni, Lorraine and Dermot

Room Tip: ask for the penthouse apartment, fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna201110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this lovely B&B, which has two rooms. We were in the twin, and there is also a double with an enormous bed! It is basically a self contained apartment with a full kitchen. The bathroom has recently been refurbished and is very nicely done. The whole place was spotless and very cosy. Gemma, our Sardinian hostess, has enough English to get buy and is an absolute star. She will help you out with anything, she was so kind and helpful with us and even gave us a lift to Alghero's elusive train station! Top marks!

The area is residential and we, as two young women, felt very safe. It is a very short walk from the old town and the sea. We used the bike hire directly nearby and cycled to the beautiful beaches towards Ponta Conte, well worth doing.

One big tip: this place is self contained so doesn't have a reception. Arrange an arrival time in advance OR ring the mobile number on your arrival and they will come and meet you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noseyrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#2 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
0.6 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#13 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#3 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloc d'Or B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloc d'Or B&B

Property: Lloc d'Or B&B
Address: Via Logudoro N 26, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a strategic position, Lloc D'or B&B lies close to the most important culture and touristic places of Alghero, the catalan old town, the beautiful port of pleisance and the finest sandy beach of Lido. Lloc D'or B&B has a luxuriant and well terrace, where, in the summer season, we use to serve the traditional breakfast. Lloc D'or has 3 spacious and bright bedrooms with private bathroom; the living-kitchen room has direct access to the terrace.Lloc D'or B&B is also equipped hairdryer, iron and ironing board available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lloc d'Or B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloc D'Or B&B Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing