We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must in alghero”
Review of Paco

Paco
Ranked #24 of 365 Restaurants in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“a must in alghero”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

very friendly venue with good helpful staff and good food. recommendations taken from the staff and we had the seafood fixed menu. all courses were excellent and we were glad we ate here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank seesee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    198
    62
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for our first meal and had a great evening. Staff were attentive and they have created a lovely intimate venue with the clever use of shrubs. Just a little bit out of the centre (moments) but has a very relaxed vibe.

Food was excellent. We have fish for all courses and the fried fish in a sweet/sour sauce was outstanding - so much so we would order it for a main course in our next visit.

House wine was fresh and cheap and the owners made you feel very welcome. The owner spoke great english which just allowed us to find out that little bit more about the menu which really helped.

A great find and one we will return to.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank pwils10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food - recommend in an instant!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Went to Paco's on our hotel's recommendation and so glad we did. The service was great - very down to earth and friendly, and the food was amazing! Go with an appetite as the meals were a decent size. Totally worth a visit or two while in Alghero and should definitely be higher ranked on trip advisor!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alghero
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simply the best p[lace in town”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Back in Alghero again for 2013 and am conducting the regular tour of of it's many restaurants, some now gone - Andreini's and sadly Taverna Paradisso. Some new ones, some of variable quality. But Paco's still sets the standard for the others to follow. The quality of the food, the courtesy of the staff and the wide range of wines set this restaurant way out in front.

If a restaurant, which is run by a family who are passionate & knowlegeable about food and wine appeals to you, then you will love Paco's.

One of the noticeable factors about the restaurants of Alghero is what happens to themin the winter. Those that are only interested in taking money from the tourists and owned by big business, are always closed out of season. Those that are owned and operated by people who care, remain open throughout the year are frequented by the locals. Paco's is such a place. Please visit - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank CentroStorico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling The World
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellence on a plate (and in a glass)”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

In a town where it's difficult to eat badly, Paco is one of the highlights. I make regular visits to Alghero and at least one meal at Paco is always on the agenda. I like to eat where the locals eat, and Paco is a favourite of the Algherese.

They do a good value menu for those on a budget, but their a la carte offerings and specials are sublime. On this trip, we sampled the carpaccio of beef, the culurgiones, the spaghetti carbonara, lamb from the specials, the grilled seafood platter (for two, and absolutely fresh and properly prepared) and the pork medallions in cream and pepper sauce. All fantastic, washed down with the good-value house wine. (They also have an extensive wine list and are very knowledgeable if you want to try some of the local Sardinian wines.) We tried a cinnamon bombe, crema catalana and tiramisu for dessert and were not disappointed.

The staff here really make you feel welcome and will try to accommodate any special requests. The setting is comfortable and quite intimate inside, and there is a large terrace for al fresco dining. It's a place to treat your significant other to a romantic meal at a reasonable price, as well as a place for family gatherings.

Especially in summer, be sure to reserve as it gets very busy. This is especially true if you want a table on the terrace.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DouglasDC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paco also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Paco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing