We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Visit”

Ranked #135 of 1,562 things to do in Sardinia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let your imagination soar as you tour this ancient fortified castle and accompanying museum.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a beautiful place...very scenic walk around the town the people are so friendly, also stop and buy had made goods, hats, baskets and so forth!!! You can not miss this if you ever visit Sardinia.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AntonellaTitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    114
    17
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“unusual small town in exceptional geographical location”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

castelsardo is probably the most unique small town that we have visited on our journey through Sardinia. the labyrinthine old town is increased to a steep mountain right on the sea and is protected by thick ancient fortress walls. it was very interessting to move up and enter into the old town, in which it seemed that the time stood still for hundreds of years. beautuful tiny restaurants we found behind each corner and the sleepy atmosphere of the place relaxed us in seconds. for older tourists it may be a bit tiring to go up, specially in high season when the temperatures are higher than 35 degrees, but in the narrow alleys it is always cool and a slight wind blowing from the sea through them. near the old town spreads of the new city. also there are located a lot of restaurants in different price levels, souvenier shops, cafes and bars. a small marina completes the face of this picturesque city. we had a great time during our stay in castelsardo and we can recomment this small town very much. a must for every traveller of the northcoast of sardinia.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank chocdikrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina di Sorso
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great NEW Years' Eve at CASTELSARDO”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I live on Sardinia and this New Years' Eve we chose to spend it again at CASTELSARDO.
It's a great experience to watch the fireworks standing directly under the ancient Castello. After watching it, we spend some time at the NEW PIAZZA that had just been finished some days before, where they played live music.
But Castelsardo is always worth a trip, to me it's one of - if not THE- most beautiful villagesd at the coast here on Sardinia.
I know many great places nearby, so welcome to message me for more info, also if you need accomodation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SASA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a view...”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We also hired a car to get there - don't use LocoAuto at Algehero Airport, they are complete rip off merchants and tried to double the amount they charged us when we got there... AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE...

But the view as you get to Castelsardo was absolutely, absolutely stunning.... Lush, lush, lush... Definitely worth the trip...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnabelD999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Castelsardo: you have to visit it if you are in Sardinia”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We hired a car and got a little bit worried because the road leading to the town was very narrow and full of bends,but were rewarded when all of a sudden the citadel of Castelsardo appeared in front of our eyes:it was magical,particularly at night.We climbed to the castle around 11 pm after dinner,it was still open with many visitors,we loved it and plan to visit it again on our next trip to Sardinia,highly recommend it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank salsaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citadel of Castelsardo also viewed

Siliqua, Province of Cagliari
Castelsardo, Province of Sassari
 
Sanluri, Province of Medio Campidano
Castelsardo, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Citadel of Castelsardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing