We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel in old Taranto”
Review of Hotel Akropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Akropolis
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel in old Taranto”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were a bit worried as we arrived in Taranto as all the buildings were very run down and old. When we found the hotel we were happily surpised. It was a beautiful small hotel with only a few rooms. Across the bridge is new Taranto which is very nice and the old part does have some charm with the locals around.
The manager is so lovely and helpful. He directed us around town and even kept our SLR camera when we left it there by mistake!!
The rooms are very pretty and have little balconies.
The breakfast is very basic but otherwise it is a great hotel and I would definately go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    81
    28
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
60
17
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel is a wonderful oasis in the "old historic area" of Taranto. The hotel has been supberbly restored and you have a sense of the ancient origins that lie beneath the modern touches. All the rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean. We had a glorious dinner in the open air restaurant and all the courses were absolutely delicious. Walking around the area during the day was not a problem but it would be better to be walking in a group in the evening. The cocktail bar has a superb view and it was a pleasure to enjoy a drink and watch the sunset. The overall service was good and the staff were all very friendly. The owner spoke English and was a wonderful host.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfly2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenning Valley Aust
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

This is a fantastic little find. Dont be put off by the dim lane and unimpressive entry. This hotel was a highlight - beautifully clean with a divine fifth floor rooftop open retaurant overlooking all of Taranto and a cocktail bar as well to watch the sunset.
Walk down the winding back lanes to get to the city (10 minutes). I usually will only stay 5 star and am very particular. This hotel was so clean and quiet and the girl at reception friendly and helpful. Taranto itself has the best (and inexpensive) Italian fashion shopping. We loved it all.

  • Liked — So clean and fresh
  • Disliked — Parking (in a small shed)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

This is a great hotel - really friendly people, lovely decoration, nice atmosphere. The problem raised by other reviewers is a genuine problem, however - we decided to walk to a restaurant in the evening, and the streets around it are either choked with traffic or dingy and dirty, depending on which way you go. Having said that, there is a nice bar-restaurant on the 4th floor, with a good view.

  • Liked — Front desk and bar views
  • Disliked — Streets around it
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andykeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2007

Visiting Taranto we found this place on the web, and loved it!

It is a former palace of the city center (central island), which has been renovated while keeping architectural elements and style.

It is located in a very tiny street, with only a narrow one-way street to access the hotel parking space.

We had the impression that except us and a few sales reps, the hotel was not very crowded. One reason may be the area around, lots of semi-crumbling palaces and houses, and at night dark narrow streets...well, we were two, and I was glad about it, I would not have been very comfortable strolling around in this maze of short streets!
From what I understood it seems the area should get "soon" some refreshment and repair, which will for sure improve the hotel location.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Didierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 3, 2006

My wife and I had the surprising pleasure of staying at the Akropolis this past month.
Although the hotel is in an area of Taranto that has been in decline, the hotel is new, spotless, comfortable with all amenities. The staff is courteous, knowledgeable, helpful, kind, and attentive.

I cannot say enough good things about the owner, who personally greeted us, took us for a tour of the hotel and allowed us to see the remains of the Akropolis stones on which the hotel is built. He also took us to a nearby museum for a quick tour.

Our stay was only one night, but I assure you we would stay there again and would highly recommend the Akropolis to anyone.

John and Katherine Freeman

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taranto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Arcangelo
Hotel L'Arcangelo
#1 of 14 in Taranto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
5.1 mi away
Relais Histo'
Relais Histo'
#2 of 14 in Taranto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo del Sole
Albergo del Sole
#4 of 14 in Taranto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Delfino Taranto
Mercure Delfino Taranto
#10 of 14 in Taranto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ara Solis
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 14 in Taranto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akropolis

Property: Hotel Akropolis
Address: 3, Vico Io Seminario, 74100, Taranto, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Taranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Akropolis 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Akropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akropolis Hotel Taranto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing