We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old town hotel”
Review of Hotel L'Arcangelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel L'Arcangelo
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Certificate of Excellence
KONSTANCIN-JEZIORNA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old town hotel”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel located in the old town very close to the sea promenade. Room that we had was quite small with a very small bathroom but everything was clean. Breakfast good but basic. Staff extremely nice. There is a free wifi but during our stay it stopped working on the 3rd floor. Next to the hotel (50 meters) there is a pizza place with the best pizza I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tobiaszl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    73
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
59
163
37
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived until we left we could not fault the service from Francesco and his female colleague on arrival.
The room was clean and adequate for one night but it had a very strange smell. I thought it was cigarettes at first but have decided it wasn't. I had to spray perfume twice during the night to try and get over the smell and get back to sleep. Also the air conditioning needs looking at: it never worked that effectively.
The hotel is on the edge of the old town. We walked both left and right around to and from the new town. Taranto old town does not currently have a lot going for it. It has potential.
A passigiata in the new town was pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia0763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Delightful friendly hosts made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble (if a little fawlty towers). However our room, it has to be said, didn't look like anything we had seen on the website and was small and poky. We slept really badly both nights due to heat and noise which I guess is never ideal! We paid the same price per night at the Relais Histo which we found much better value, a different level of hotel altogether. A warm welcome though, and a good breakfast, too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misselaneyous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinzia M, Manager at Hotel L'Arcangelo, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
First of all, thank you for the time you spent in making
your review. Our desire is to highlight the following
points:
- Our Hotel, located in an old building, made by thick
walls, is very appreciated by our clients because of
its quietness and we are very sorry that some of our
guests, occupying a room wich was adjoining to yours,
had made annoying noises that disturbed your stay.
If you had informed us about this issue, we immediately
would have proceeded to solve it, cause our philosophy
is "to guarantee our guests' well-being".
All the rooms are absolutely identical to the images
presented on the web-site and; regarding the size of the
room you occupied, we can justifiably say that none of
them can be defined as narrow, because, in their
respective classes (standard, superior and suite),
they absolutely correspond to the size required by
Italian Hotel standards.
If you had reported different needs, as far as possible,
we would have proceeded to show you a more pleasing room
to you.
-Concerning the complained heat in the room, as you were
able to verify, when each guest arrives, we always
explain that the air conditioning has an individual
temperature control system, so each customer can choose
its own temperature; even in this case, if you had
informed our staff about any difficultes in the use of
commands, we would have immediately provided for solving
it.
-We are very sorry you confused our hospitality, our
affection and our professionalism with the picturesque
attitude shown in the sit-com "fawlty towers", which doesn't
belong to our award-winning hotel and to our way to do.
-We also believe that it is not possible to compare such
different hotels, each with its own particularities, also
different in their location, in fact, while our hotel is placed
in the heart of the town, therefore it is possible to walk or
to use public transport, the other one, that is placed out of
town, always requires a car for every journey.
We would be happy to see you again in our hotel, absolutely sure
that you won't notice, after our explanations, any issues
underlined here and absolutely sure to make you appreciate (even
by walk) all the historical, archaeological and artistic beauty
of our wonderful city.
We are sure that your next review's title would be "Stay in town
if you can!"
We wait for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was top rated on trip advisor and it lived up to its reviews. We were welcomed like old friends and upgraded to a better room. Room 104 was at the front with 2 tiny balconies overlooking the bustling square below. The room however was very quiet, clean and had an ensuite with a good shower.It was light and spacious with a large double bed. The free wifi was very welcome and the password was given to us on arrival. The staff were very friendly and looked after us very well- they warmed up our pastries at breakfast as they thought they would taste better for us and took an interest in our holiday. We felt very at home here and are looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphys346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel L'Arcangelo. The room was gorgeous, with a stone arched ceiling and a balcony. It is in the heart of the old city, with parking out front of the hotel in the street. The staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect, including pointing out things to do in the area. Breakfast was a treat and great way to start off the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This was a great stay, a lovely room, excellent views and very modern and very fresh.

The hosts were amazing, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was also a very good choice, well displayed. Clearly care and attention to their clients obviously matters to them.

Room 203 has two balconies, great views from each. The shower worked well and this double room had all you need including a safe and mini bar.

I will be back again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Loved hotel,loved proprietor Cesca!made to feel so welcome...hotel so clean,beautifully decorated,staff delightful,felt like the 'real' Italy,felt safe,was so impressed!!hope we have reason to stay again..

Room Tip: A small hotel,all rooms lovely,terrace would be good in summer,we were happy spending time there loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne_gillanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taranto hotels
5.1 mi away
Relais Histo'
Relais Histo'
#2 of 14 in Taranto
909 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo del Sole
Albergo del Sole
#4 of 14 in Taranto
148 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ara Solis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akropolis
Hotel Akropolis
#3 of 14 in Taranto
240 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tursport Hotel Residence
1.6 mi away
Mercure Delfino Taranto
Mercure Delfino Taranto
#9 of 14 in Taranto
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Arcangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Arcangelo

Property: Hotel L'Arcangelo
Address: Piazza Fontana 3, 74123, Taranto, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Taranto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Arcangelo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel L'Arcangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing