We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely cosy hotel in the enchanting old town of Taranto”
Review of Hotel L'Arcangelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel L'Arcangelo
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

A lovely cosy hotel in the most accessible and tourist friendly part of the enchanting old town of Taranto. Clean and comfortable rooms, with great view over the square in front. Particularly helpful and friendly personnel, they helped us all the way from getting to know the city to proposing us nice places and beaches nearby (and offered us some great Italian menta!).

Arriving to the square were the hotel is located at late afternoon, with all the surrounding buildings illuminated in a golden light remains one of the best memories I had from my summer trip to southern Italy. If your way is through Taranto, skip the "mainstream" advice of many tourist guides proposing places nearby and devote one day or two to the old town-island. Check also the magnificent Taranto's archaeological museum, a short distance from the hotel. Your experience will be more than rewarding!

Be careful: When you arrive at the square where the hotel is located, avoid a scam "parking" man who might ask you for money, he is not a member of the hotel's personnel. Ask in the hotel, they will probably offer you free secure parking in front of their entrance or advice you accordingly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corto-Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Hotel L'Arcangelo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 531 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Giuseppe, showed us where to park for free, 2 paces from the entrance, and helped us get organised. We were in room 104 on the first floor, which has two French windows onto the piazza on two different walls, each window giving onto a balcony.

It is the most pleasant and convenient room we have had yet, during our 10 days in Puglia.

Room Tip: We liked room 104, including two tiny balconies with views onto two aspects.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliannaLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Friendly staff, good location for the old quarter, comfortable, clean, well furnished and good value. We only stayed two nights on a touring holiday of southern Italy, but this by far the best hotel we stayed in. Excellent.

Room Tip: Excellent view of city life from the rroms with a balcony
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is a wonderful small hotel, run by the lovely Cinzia and her crew. The name of the place is arcangelo, but it ought to be changed to arcangeli since everybody takes so good care of you. Right outside, you step into the unspoiled, untouristy world of the oldest quarter Taranto, where you can still have wonderful meals almost for free. The hotel has a smal parking facility right out front. Giuseppe will prepare you a very nice breakfast, and you will find that it s easy to become very fond of Taranto when staying in a place like l'arcangelo!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinzia m, Proprietario at Hotel L'Arcangelo, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you....Thank you....Thank you!!!!
We too are very fond of you and we hope to see you next time here in Taranto.
We are waiting you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have visited Italy many times, but never down in the “heel of the boot” so this was a first for us.

We stayed at the Hotel L’Arcangelo in Taranto for four nights 9/17-9/20. The hotel has been newly and tastefully renovated – it is obvious that high quality materials and furniture were used! The draperies, bedspread, linens and towels are also of superior quality.

Cinzia and everyone else on staff were extremely friendly, attentive and helpful. Breakfast is served in a very pretty room. The buffet is not extensive, however, we were also offered ham, cheese and or egg dishes from the kitchen. The espresso and cappuccino were excellent.

If you visit Taranto this is a great place to stay. It is right across the bridge as you come into the old town which makes it very convenient for day trips. We spent one day visiting Alberobello to see the unique trulli and the nearby Grotte Castillana which are great caves. Another day we spent taking a beautiful drive to Matera where there is a fantastic self guided walking tour of the sassi. The remainder of our visit we spent walking through and exploring Taranto which has a lot to offer, especially the Volta del Cappelone de San Cataldo – a spectacular cathedral with inlaid marble.

The town of Taranto has seen some difficult economic times and there are many buildings in poor repair, but don’t be put off. The people and the sites were all terrific and the town appears to be undergoing a rebuilding phase which means it is only likely to get more attractive as time goes by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nj23k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A very nice small hotell with very good and personel service with a family touch. Situated in the center of Tanranto in the old city with walking distance to all the interresting places. Parking infront of the hotell is avaible. Seeview from the balcony and restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulla200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

It's a very nice hotel close to the famous ponte di pietra, @ the entrance of Taranto vecchia. It's a new building (1 year), very nice rooms with private bathroom and all you need for a relaxing staying. It's a 3 stars even if quite close to a 4 one. The staff it's very kind and open to your requests. The only thing: breakfast could be improved.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamRome75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taranto hotels
5.1 mi away
Relais Histo'
Relais Histo'
#2 of 14 in Taranto
957 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo del Sole
Albergo del Sole
#4 of 14 in Taranto
158 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ara Solis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akropolis
Hotel Akropolis
#3 of 14 in Taranto
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 14 in Taranto
184 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tursport Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Arcangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Arcangelo

Address: Piazza Fontana 3, 74123, Taranto, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Taranto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Price Range: $86 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Arcangelo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel L'Arcangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing