We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience.....”
Review of Relais Histo'

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Histo'
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have nothing to say that isn't good about this beautiful hotel. We had a fantastic suite which was spacious, with two bathrooms, and a balcony area with outside shower if you didn't fancy sitting around the pool.
The staff were attentive and spoke many languages including English. The food in the restaurant was excellent and every night you were provided with a separate menu ot the day. The waiter enjoyed recommending wines from the local region. The breakfast was extensive and you could always have food during the day by the pool.
The Internet did drop occasionally and you had to have a new password everyday but this was never a problem.
We would return again if visiting Puglia and definitely recommend this hotel to others. A wonderfully cosmopolitan hotel in which to spend time in this lovely part of Italy.

Room Tip: We booked through booking.com and received an excellent rate on our suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro B, Direttore at Relais Histo', responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choice and for taking the time to write such a beautiful and positive review.
We hope to have you has our guest again.

Best Regards
Alessandro Baccaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 977 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nice hotel, beautifuly restored and designed building. Breakfast excellent. Most staff very dedicated. Restaurant good quality, but both food and ambiance outside a little bit uninspired. Authenticity fails.
Furthermore, the hotel pretends to be in the upper segment of the market but a lot needs to be done to come there:
- Poor internet and handy connections everywhere in the hotel
- Every day we had to pick up a password for the internet connection. After complaining the GM offered to let bring us on a daily basis the pass word. They succeeded only 3 out of 7 days.
- During breakfast, the "don't disturb tag" on the door of our hotel room wasn't respected. The second time we asked the cleaning staff to leave the room ......
- Recommendation for senior management: pamper your English speaking staff.
- Provide also non-Italian newspapers to your guests. At least 75 percent was not Italian during our stay.
When the guest leaves, ask him for his experience. You can learn from him!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Dick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro B, Direttore at Relais Histo', responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your congratulations about restaurant and part of the staff.
I am really sorry about your problems with Wi-Fi connection, but our internet system has a time-line because at the beginning it was with fee.
We supposed that it would be better to make it for free, but it was not possible to modify the time-line because not supported by the system. We already order a new system and it will provide only one password for the entire stay of the guest.
Anyway we will take into consideration your review and we hope to have you soon as our guest again.

Best Regards
Alessandro Baccaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

It'a wonderful resort with very big rooms as small apartments with great bathrooms (2-3 showers types) and great food specially breakfast where you can taste a lot of things. Quality is very high and the outside garden with the swimming pool it's very very nice. I always go there for my job during low-medium-high season and it's always perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamRome75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro B, Direttore at Relais Histo', responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your good review and for spending your holiday in our Relais. It has been a real pleasure to let you enjoy your time even during your working time and to repeat this experience with all your family.
I will be very happy to have you again here as our guest to let you taste again our food which high quality is due to the freshness of our product.
Hoping to see you again, I give you best regards.

Alessandro Baccaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Splendid idea to convert 'masseria' into luxury hotel. Excellent design, fully equipped, spacious and comfortable. Staff is nice and courteous.
A minor bug: accessability is not the best since the single road leading to hotel is blocked, and one has to bump through some hillocks

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacus27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro B, Direttore at Relais Histo', responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for spending your time in Relais Histò.
In the past ,Thanks to its majesty , our Resort was not a "Masseria" but an ancient village with Basilica of the first roman century.
Today it is beautyfully opened to Hospitality.

I hope to have you soon as our guest again.

Best Regards
Alessandro Baccaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Very charming, stylish location, different old buildings, wonderfully renovated with modern design. Perfect match of old and new! Very nice room with seaview terrace and huge bathroom. Breakfast was good, the snacks we had once had (salad and toast) was average quality, but high priced.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabrielaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro B, Direttore at Relais Histo', responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure for me to know that you enjoy your meal in our restaurant, which food is of high quality thanks to the freshness and authenticity of the product. as you mentioned, our location, is a perfect union between present and past, well represented by the presence of the I century Roman Basilica, that know offer itself as a unique Meeting Room.

Best regards.
Alessandro Baccaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Very nice stay in this wonderful hotel! They worked 7-8 years to have such a wonderfull result. Very spacy, very quiet, harmonious, stylish...good restaurant and very friendly helpfull staff! The hotel and surroundings are very wheelchair friendly!
Price is also super. Beds are very good, rooms very spacious, top hotel! Breakfast is ok, but not really top. My husband was 50 years and we received a bottle of champaign to start the dinner of the attentfull staff! We and our friends had a lovely time here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ily-wheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Touring Puglia, this was the end of our trip and was a great end! Very romantic! Restaurant had wondeful food, and since had one michelin star which is not surprising. Spa and hotel absolutely beautiful, too bad the sun set on smoking industrial chimneys... Well you cannot have it all. Dont bother going outstide to dine as the restaurant advised by the reception was way below expectations. Too bad the pool part of the spa is only accessible if you pay for quite an expensive massage or treatment,, they could offer some packages allowing access to these beautiful amenities!

Room Tip: Loved the one we had, with an access to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asperret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taranto
5.1 mi away
Hotel L'Arcangelo
Hotel L'Arcangelo
#1 of 14 in Taranto
545 reviews
8.5 mi away
Masseria Quis Ut Deus
Masseria Quis Ut Deus
#1 of 2 in Crispiano
162 reviews
18.3 mi away
Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort
Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort
#2 of 9 in Castellaneta
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Albergo del Sole
Albergo del Sole
#4 of 14 in Taranto
161 reviews
9.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ara Solis
11.7 mi away
Relais Villa San Martino
Relais Villa San Martino
#4 of 9 in Martina Franca
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Histo'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Histo'

Address: Via Sant'Andrea-Circummarpiccolo, 74100, Taranto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Taranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Price Range: $147 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Histo' 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Histo Relais Culti is a new luxury hotel which has been built by carefully restoring an abandoned medieval manor and farmhouse of great historical importance, also due to the presence of an ancient Roman aqueduct. People have lived here since ancient Roman times. The Basilica of SS Pietro and Andrea, which dates back to 1st century AD, has been very carefully restored as well, and today it is a wonderful frame where it is possible to organize meetings, special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relais Histo' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Histo s. Pietro Sul Mar Piccolo Relais Culti Hotel Taranto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing