We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cicolella Foggia
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Atleti(Foggia)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Europa(Foggia)
$122
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$70
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Albergo del Cacciatore(Foggia)(Great Value!)
$57
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
24
51
76
46
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
51
76
46
25
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 222 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2011

This is a well established hotel and has been tastefully brought up to date. My room was spacious with all the facilities I expected and needed. Although on a corner facing two main streets the interior was quiet with effective double glazing. The 3 days I was there were very warm (close on 40C) but the airconditioning was reasonably successful in reducingthe inside temperature to a comfortable level. I tokk breakfast each day and it was very good. The hotel is about 100 metres from the railway station and 200 metres from the main shopping area. The road from the station is well used and not in anyway threatening as other reviewers have suggested. The only downside was the price of the internet with just 15 minutes free each day and a fairly high usage cost after that. I sped through my e-mails and managed to get everything done in the free slot!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Anytime we are in Foggia, we stay at the Cicolella. It's not the most lavish, luxurious hotel we have ever been in, but it most certainly has charm and added comforts. I would suggest upgrading to one of the suites, they are lovely and worth the extra cash if you are going to be here longer than one night. The front desk will be helpful and kind if you ask nicely, and they have one manager, Angelo who speaks english perfectly.

Foggia is relatively safe and harmless, however it can seem dodgey, especially the closer you get to the train station. Therefore if you have a car, might be good idea to park in a garage to keep safe. One of our friends had her wheels removed directly from the car one night after she had only just arrived to Italy only days before and to Foggia that night. :( The Cic doesn't have its own garage but there is one nearby that maybe is 10 Euro/day or something.

Things they have:
Sky TV (which you can change the american shows back to English)
Bath tubs and Showers
Suites
Flat screen TVs
Restaurant
GREAT wireless internet - probably the best so far we have had in southern Italy
Is Clean
Nice Beds/Pillows/Blankets and extras are in rooms!

some downfalls:
sometimes people smoke in the rooms, perhaps request a smoke free area.

Noise- its not the quietest hotel to be sure, as the walls are quite thin, sometimes the piano music from downstairs can be heard in the first floor rooms, also the street noise can be bothersome if you are not use to city noises and are on a room with that view.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganwescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Not a bad place, but not what I had expected. Foggia is an odd town, and this hotel and neighborhood are no exception. So close to the train station makes it very convenient if traveling by train -- otherwise, feels like an unsafe and uncomfortable place to be....not very well lit or serviced in the hotel or area. Had suite type room with sitting area and bedroom separated by curtain. 2 tvs with minimal channels, decent bathroom, very few amenities, all relatively clean. A few pleasant reception staff. Bar in lobby is small but decent service. Other rooms are much smaller and not as nice. Loud neighborhood during morning , cars passing and workers start early (inside and outside of hotel). Don't expect to sleep late. Not much at all to do in area around hotel and does not feel like a place you want to stroll around. Hotel is fine for one night stay passing through the area but not more than that. Get a car and go see other towns in Puglia. Mercure/Accor hotels have a wide range around the world... the ones I've been in now have all been extremely different from each other.. hard to know what to expect and little / no consistency. Seem overpriced and not too well maintained from what I have seen so far.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank europearoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

When you enter the Hotel Cicolella, it quickly reminds you of a 1960s restoration gone terribly wrong. You are assaulted with a myriad of conflicting colors and patterns that seem to be of questionable taste and quality. The rooms are even worse. My room was decorated with orange walls, red carpet and a pink bed spread.

Decor aside, the hotel is old (not in a quaint way) and the service is, at best adequate. Most of the staff speak only Italian and are relatively unhelpful. You always seem to be "bothering" them with your needs - like checking in, asking where to park your car and what time breakfast starts. Things they clearly consider to be out of their scope of responsibility.

The rooms are small and clean. You have all the basic needs, bed, bathroom, etc, but nothing more. Depending on the room, the bathrooms range from small to very small. In my bathroom, you had to squeeze in to sit on the toilet and your knees were wedged up against the shower. As well, I found the TV impossible to figure out. They have SKY TV, but good luck using it as the box has a separate control.

The last surprise the hotel has is breakfast. This "buffet" consists of juice, last night's bread, cold cereal and yogurt. I attempted to eat the yogurt, but the spoons they offer are so large that you cannot fit them into the container. Have you ever tried eating yogurt with a fork?

They have wireless internet, but they will charge you 17 Euro for the privilege. The connection speed, though, is pretty good. Parking is in a public garage around the corner and is pretty easy.

Foggia is a relatively depressing town to begin with and the Hotel Cicolella continues the Foggia experience. Overall, the rooms are clean, but that is about all I can say positive about this hotel. The service is poor, the decor is awful and overall experience leaves you a little less enthusiastic about your trip to Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2W3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I was on a tour with my family and some friends. upon reaching the disgusting city of foggia, we were supposed to continue to our next destination which was the san giovanni rotondo. unfortunately, the hotel that we were supposed to be staying at over there had a plumbing problem so we had to change hotels at the last minute and ended up at this one.
where do i start? we had to take all our bags into the rooms, using ONE, yes one elevator...that took us about 45 minutes.
next, the pillows we like rocks, and i barely got any sleep that night.
i was barely able to fit into the bathroom...which was more like a sardine can!
the hotel claims to have a restaurant......well, it was closed for lunch, dinner, and for breakfast!
i still cannot believe that this is a mercure hotel that belongs to the accor chain!!! impossible!! what went wrong here?!?!?!
if anyone is mad enough to go to this ghost town, please try to find a better hotel to stay at!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RiriDada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews