We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful welcome but something is missing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Masseria Incantalupi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently got back from 4 nights at the Incantalupi.We needed a break in the sun and Brindisi seemed the closest to Geneva with good weather and a direct flight.
The masseria is situated 15 kms from brindisi airport and is quite hard to find.
There is no public transport so you need a car or a bicycle.Take the road to Messagie from San Vito and turn left at km 6.After 1 km turn left thru two white pillars.
You will have found the masseria as soon as you see the horses.

We agree with the other contributors that the welcome is warm ,the food is wonderful country fare
and the two ladies who run the place are intelligent,helpful and kind.They have good suggestions for outings and books to help plan these.

We were the only guests staying and we got the same feeling as another contributor that the guests are not their main priority.
Part of the family lives on the property and you will share the courtyard with them.
Outside the gates are the horses and a completely different life goes on there.
The swimming pool was not open yet but is in a nice area and next to it is a small spa with a wonderful lady,Francesca for the treatments.

the garden surrounding the masseria is not well maintained but the rooms are clean and functional.

I think what makes us critical of this place is the price.We paid 1160 Euros for 4 nights in a suite room,which means two beds on another floor above the sitting area.
Evening meals were included and two massages.(50 Euros each)

it was very much low season, no tourists around yet , we compared with similar properties in the area and found it expensive for what it is.

This does not mean that you will not have a wonderful restful time at the masseria incantalupi.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms looking out over the swimmong pool and the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ittagub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 113 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Fresh home made bread and cake for breakfast, about 20 different home made jams, marmelade and honey!
A wonderful swimming pool, very nice surroundings, and very kind and nice people,will make you feel as a very special guest. We and our children enjoyed every minute of our stay and will definitely come back. The pool was so nice that we even didn't go the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Brindisi
12
Reviewed June 28, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My stay was part business, part holiday. For my business activities I needed wifi which worked well in the suite I was in, and when it did drop off, a quick word with the staff got it going again straight away. I have found that many hotels in italy only have wifi in the public areas so this was really good. For my vacation I needed a peaceful place with character within easy reach of tourist attractions, and that's exactly what I got. Lecce and Ostuni are both 30-40 mins away and its an easy drive. There are also quiet villages situated closer which were just great to wander round.
The tranquility was provided by the cheerful, attentive service and the superb swimming pool in its walled garden. Nothing was too much trouble for the family who run the Masseria and I enjoyed practicing my rather poor Italian with them! The food was very good and they will cook what you want (no choice on the night). Ingredients are mainly grown on the farm. The short wine list was excellent.
This is excellent value in quiet rural Puglia. A car is essential. Great for couples and very young children but probably not for older children unless they are interested in equestrian activities. For me it was a magical stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mudge436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at Masseria Incantalupi from 31AUG to 5SEP. It was amazing experience.
Time goes slowly around the place, the building was beautiful decorated with ancient Italian building. Especially floor was made with Italian stone paves, swimming pool with bird songs, and Mariateressa who is president’s wife was taking care of ours.
Breakfast we can eat many kind of locally made marmalades with breads, cakes and juices and special tasty Italian coffee.
We went to Lecce, which is an old Roman town, and albelobello, which is world heritage by UNESCO. It takes 1 hour less drive from the hotel, it is easy to access.
After activity if you reserve dinner, they provide special Italian home made dinner with local vegetables.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Incantalupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here with our 11 year old son in August. We had a ball. He made lots of friends, and it was a struggle to get him away from the pool every day. However, there's so much to see in the area that it was well worth getting out (Lecce, Otranto, Ostuni, Alberobello). In the evening, we had the relaxing apéro in the courtyard and then everyone sits down for dinner at the same time. To say that the food is sublime is an understatement. Great simplicity, tremendous variety and much of the produce comes from the farm. Since getting back, eating out has been a little disappointing. Finally, we were pampered by everyone at the Masseria. Very friendly.

The only downside is that you do need a car, as it's about 10k to the nearest beach. But this is really no problem, as once you're back from beach, you can dive straight into the pool and start thinking about dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cozyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Our recent stay at Masseria Incantalupi was exactly what we were looking for and more. Marilena and Mariateresa were both very attentive and accommodating to help us in any way we needed to make our stay at their property and in the Puglia area just perfect.

The property itself is massive and is surrounded by fields of agriculture and horse stables. The accommodations were beautifully appointed, comfortable, clean and welcoming. Our room overlooked a lemon grove and was a quick walk to the amazing large and well-maintained pool which we really enjoyed using.

Mariateresa very kindly provided us with a tour of the property on our arrival which included the spa located near the pool, which includes treatment rooms, sauna and Turkish bath. Although we didn't take advantage of this, the rooms and facilities were impeccable and is a nice complement to the property for those who wish to book a massage or spa treatment.

We particularly enjoyed our meals during our stay. Because of the countryside location, we did our touring during the days in various cities like Ostuni and Lecce and enjoyed most of our dinners at Incantalupi. Dinners are served outside on their patio which overlooks an open courtyard or piazza near to some of the property rooms. Meals reflected the seasonality of food and some unique dishes that we very much enjoyed. They offered many different wines to choose from and our attentive server was an absolute delight!

The one and only challenge we found was finding the property. The directions may be clear to locals, but had some difficulty finding. If you're tourists like us with a rental car, it's worth asking Mariateresa for clarifying directions prior to arriving.

If you're looking for a relaxing and authentic vacation to experience the Italian countryside and cuisine - this is the perfect location!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurie084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brindisi
2.5 mi away
Masseria Baroni Nuovi
Masseria Baroni Nuovi
#5 of 17 in Brindisi
260 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Nemo
Hotel Residence Nemo
#7 of 17 in Brindisi
224 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tenuta Mazzetta
Tenuta Mazzetta
#10 of 17 in Brindisi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Palazzo Virgilio
Palazzo Virgilio
#4 of 17 in Brindisi
299 reviews
4.1 mi away
Antica Masseria Martuccio
15.3 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 20 in Ostuni
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria Incantalupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Incantalupi

Address: Strada Provinciale, 7 | Vecchia Monopoli, 72100 Brindisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Brindisi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Brindisi
Price Range: $115 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Masseria Incantalupi, in Brindisi, is among the most beautiful rural estates in Puglia for a vacation near Brindisi and Ostuni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Masseria Incantalupi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing