We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - great location !”
Review of Hotel Oriente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oriente
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Bari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Recently I have been staying in Bari with a group of American cyclists. Our tour organizer had opted for this hotel because of the 'great location'. Which is absolutely true. Near the 'Lungomare', near the 'centro storico' and just next to the theatre.
But the best thing is the service level: the breakfast is wonderfully complete and the director, Mrs. Chiara, went out of her way to satisfy all our special needs.

Really a place to recommend - also because Bari is a city to be discovered. Not very touristy (yet), so definitely more authentic than more visited places like nearby Alberobello (not that I'm saying not to visit Alberobello - but 'do' Bari too !)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheItalyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 638 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were glad we chose the Oriente in Bari, it is in the middle of everything that is happening in the city. It is very close to the old town, where there is so much to see,and many resturants and cafes. The shopping is amazing with a good amount of all type of fashion shops. The hotel is very welcoming and the staff at the reception desk are so helpful, and they gave us good advice on nearby places to visit. The room was very clean, airy and always welcoming after a day out visiting interesting places. Breakfast had a good choice of fresh fruit, cereals, English cooked breakfast besides many other things you take for granted in hotels of this standard. I will return to the Oriente if I go back to Bari. I wish the Hotel all the best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location is great for sightseeing on foot. However, parking is an issue here. On the holiday websites it states that 'It provides free parking nearby'. This is not the case. You can park in the car park outside for 1 Euro p.h. from 8.30 a.m. to 8.30. p.m. (free for the rest of the day) but there is usually a very long queue. The hotel will park your car in a secure car park but it is 25 Euros p.d. We opted to park our hire car in the secure garage.The staff are absolutely brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. The full breakfast was superb and had everything available including bacon, sausages and eggs. The roof terrace is a lovely open place to take a drink, relax and view the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Oriente is a lovely, newly renovated hotel in the middle of Bari, only a few blocks from both the beach and from the main squares of Bari. The rooms were very comfortable - modern, crisp, and clean. A/C took a while to start working. The breakfast buffet was nice and served in a comfortable and modern room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel right in the middle of town. Shopping galore right outside your door, as well as lots of historical and tourist attractions within close walking distance. The room was beautiful, with one noticeable annoyance. It seems when you take the key out of the slot it rests in the air conditioning is turned off (as is all electric in the room), and when you return to the room some hours later the temperature has risen by at least 15 degrees Fahrenheit. It takes at least an hour of "air conditioning" for the room to return to a halfway comfortable temperature. This was very uncomfortable and quite annoying, considering the price of the room. Second, while the breakfast was halfway decent, the service was horrible! When items got low or disappeared altogether at the buffet, such as rolls, the wait staff had to be told SEVERAL times to replenish - no management of these people at all. And finally, my suitcase was broken when it was taken out of my car trunk - a rivet holding the handle was broken making the handle unusable. I was told this would be fixed - upon checkout absolutely no attempt had been made to correct this. It then took another 15 minutes to convince the front desk staff that the handle was broken by their staff member - they finally extended a 10 Euro credit for the damage, but were clearly not happy doing this. Again, beautiful hotel in a great area, but their staff needs a total revamp and better management.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very nice hotel with a good location. Breakfast was very good with a wide range of choice. Rooms were comfortable and a good size with a nice bathroom. We had two rooms and unfortunately in one of these the hot water and air conditioning were not working. Although when we reported this we were offered the use of another room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located. The lobby is bright and clean, room cleanliness is superb too. Free breakfast was great. And all the staff was very helpful. I'll definitely stay again at this hotel if I ever come back to Bari.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikajuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bari hotels
0.4 mi away
Grande Albergo delle Nazioni
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 40 in Bari
976 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hi Hotel Bari
Hi Hotel Bari
#1 of 40 in Bari
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Nicolaus Hotel
0.8 mi away
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci
5.0 mi away
Parco Dei Principi Hotel Congress & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriente

Address: Corso Cavour 32, 70121, Bari, Italy (Formerly Oriente Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bari
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bari
Price Range: $112 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriente 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oriente goes back to his origins after a long and careful restoration process. It opens up again and reminds through his architecture and decorations the golden age in which it was the most appreciated hotel in Bari. This old hospitality tradition started in the first years of the twentieth century, with businessmen trading between Balkans and Far East with Bari, “PortaD’Oriente”. An elected place for meeting and to discover other world.Since the opening in 1928, Hotel Oriente has hosted the greatest Opera tenors, who played their performances in the near world-famous Teatro Petruzzelli, becoming immediately,the chosen place by these celebrities. The Hotel is located inCorso Cavour, in the heart of Bari Centre. Hotel Oriente still represents the ideal meeting point for businessmen and also for tourists that love going shopping or sightseeing and wander in the narrow streets of the main town in Apulia. Chic and comfortable furniture enriches the atmosphere of each one of the 75 rooms and suites. Decorations are carefully perfected in all details, white play of light and kristal. The rooms have an elegant and determined artistic temperament and offer all the comforts to the guests.A nice surprise is the Roof Garden, that overlooks the whole city of Bari, the dome of Petruzzelli Theater and on the horizon the deep blue sea. A breath-taking panorama, perfect setting fora characteristic breakfast, a wine party at sunset, or for a cosy drink beneath the starry vault of heaven. A unique sensationthat will make unforgettable your stay in Hotel Oriente.The American Bar is opened for whole day and it is the ideal meeting place for friends or a cosy point for a pause. Here you will taste original cocktails.There are also two well-equipped meeting rooms to do your business. Hi-Tech and tradition, in the service of quality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing