We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, Modern Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oriente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Oriente
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Bari
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice, Modern Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Oriente is a lovely, newly renovated hotel in the middle of Bari, only a few blocks from both the beach and from the main squares of Bari. The rooms were very comfortable - modern, crisp, and clean. A/C took a while to start working. The breakfast buffet was nice and served in a comfortable and modern room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    251
    55
    17
    12
See reviews for
52
174
37
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel right in the middle of town. Shopping galore right outside your door, as well as lots of historical and tourist attractions within close walking distance. The room was beautiful, with one noticeable annoyance. It seems when you take the key out of the slot it rests in the air conditioning is turned off (as is all electric in the room), and when you return to the room some hours later the temperature has risen by at least 15 degrees Fahrenheit. It takes at least an hour of "air conditioning" for the room to return to a halfway comfortable temperature. This was very uncomfortable and quite annoying, considering the price of the room. Second, while the breakfast was halfway decent, the service was horrible! When items got low or disappeared altogether at the buffet, such as rolls, the wait staff had to be told SEVERAL times to replenish - no management of these people at all. And finally, my suitcase was broken when it was taken out of my car trunk - a rivet holding the handle was broken making the handle unusable. I was told this would be fixed - upon checkout absolutely no attempt had been made to correct this. It then took another 15 minutes to convince the front desk staff that the handle was broken by their staff member - they finally extended a 10 Euro credit for the damage, but were clearly not happy doing this. Again, beautiful hotel in a great area, but their staff needs a total revamp and better management.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very nice hotel with a good location. Breakfast was very good with a wide range of choice. Rooms were comfortable and a good size with a nice bathroom. We had two rooms and unfortunately in one of these the hot water and air conditioning were not working. Although when we reported this we were offered the use of another room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located. The lobby is bright and clean, room cleanliness is superb too. Free breakfast was great. And all the staff was very helpful. I'll definitely stay again at this hotel if I ever come back to Bari.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikajuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here recently on a trip to Bari. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful - one printed out trains times for me, while another helped to arrange some ironing for us - and the rooms are well-decorated if a bit small. The free toiletries were fine and the bed was comfortable. We had a room on the street, which was a bit noisy but it didn't disturb our sleep. The t.v. initially didn't work but they repaired it for us immediately. The internet, however, was free on wireless but you have to get the login and password every day from the front desk and it is only sporadic in the room, which was frustrating. The breakfast was extensive and tasty.

Our only complaint was that the fan for the AC in the room was very weak which meant that we could never get the temperature right - when we went to bed it was too hot, then within a few hours it was too cold. The fan speed never seemed to change despite our attempts to adjust the thermostat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edgreen807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when taking a Mediterranean cruise. It is a medium-sized hotel in a fin de siecle building in a major street, centrally located, built solidly, and recently refurbished to extremely high standards. It was excellent value for money; and is accessible to the 'Cittavecchia", the old city which is well worth a visit and has recently been cleaned up (in the past Barinesi said: "If you entered there, you exited with no clothes on your back"), and is also the site of what is probably the only major dual religion shrine in Southern Italy: the Church housing the remains of St Nicolas, stoled by Barinesi fishermen in circa 1000 AD , and which attracts both Catholic and Orthodox (primarily Russian ) pilgrims. So a s stylish hotel, previously a gateway to the East, hence its terms "Oriente"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stinarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Oriente is 2 minutes from the sea, and also just round the corner from shops and the historical 'Old Town'.

Rooms are comfortable and reasonably luxurious. The bathroom is spacious, containing a good sized power shower, bidet and toilet. Mine also contained its own small balconette, which I only discovered just before I was leaving!

It's central location, and Bari's boisterous nature means that there is the danger of being disturbed by street noise, especially at weekends, so I would suggest that light sleepers take ear plugs.

The staff at the hotel are incredibly friendly and helpful, and all speak English. They reflect the soul of the city, which I would call the Bologna of the south due to the warmth of the people and quality of food.

All in all a great place to base your self in order to explore the city. It's not the cheapest hotel you can stay in, but it might just be the best.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAlleyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bari hotels
0.4 mi away
Grande Albergo delle Nazioni
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 42 in Bari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hi Hotel Bari
Hi Hotel Bari
#1 of 42 in Bari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Nicolaus Hotel
The Nicolaus Hotel
#2 of 42 in Bari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci Bari
0.7 mi away
Hotel Imago
Hotel Imago
#7 of 42 in Bari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriente

Property: Hotel Oriente
Address: Corso Cavour 32, 70121, Bari, Italy (Formerly Oriente Hotel)
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bari
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriente 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oriente goes back to his origins after a long and careful restoration process. It opens up again and reminds through his architecture and decorations the golden age in which it was the most appreciated hotel in Bari. This old hospitality tradition started in the first years of the twentieth century, with businessmen trading between Balkans and Far East with Bari, “PortaD’Oriente”. An elected place for meeting and to discover other world.Since the opening in 1928, Hotel Oriente has hosted the greatest Opera tenors, who played their performances in the near world-famous Teatro Petruzzelli, becoming immediately,the chosen place by these celebrities. The Hotel is located inCorso Cavour, in the heart of Bari Centre. Hotel Oriente still represents the ideal meeting point for businessmen and also for tourists that love going shopping or sightseeing and wander in the narrow streets of the main town in Apulia. Chic and comfortable furniture enriches the atmosphere of each one of the 75 rooms and suites. Decorations are carefully perfected in all details, white play of light and kristal. The rooms have an elegant and determined artistic temperament and offer all the comforts to the guests.A nice surprise is the Roof Garden, that overlooks the whole city of Bari, the dome of Petruzzelli Theater and on the horizon the deep blue sea. A breath-taking panorama, perfect setting fora characteristic breakfast, a wine party at sunset, or for a cosy drink beneath the starry vault of heaven. A unique sensationthat will make unforgettable your stay in Hotel Oriente.The American Bar is opened for whole day and it is the ideal meeting place for friends or a cosy point for a pause. Here you will taste original cocktails.There are also two well-equipped meeting rooms to do your business. Hi-Tech and tradition, in the service of quality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing