We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Oriente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oriente
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bari
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located. The lobby is bright and clean, room cleanliness is superb too. Free breakfast was great. And all the staff was very helpful. I'll definitely stay again at this hotel if I ever come back to Bari.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikajuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    276
    61
    23
    14
See reviews for
56
195
39
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here recently on a trip to Bari. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful - one printed out trains times for me, while another helped to arrange some ironing for us - and the rooms are well-decorated if a bit small. The free toiletries were fine and the bed was comfortable. We had a room on the street, which was a bit noisy but it didn't disturb our sleep. The t.v. initially didn't work but they repaired it for us immediately. The internet, however, was free on wireless but you have to get the login and password every day from the front desk and it is only sporadic in the room, which was frustrating. The breakfast was extensive and tasty.

Our only complaint was that the fan for the AC in the room was very weak which meant that we could never get the temperature right - when we went to bed it was too hot, then within a few hours it was too cold. The fan speed never seemed to change despite our attempts to adjust the thermostat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgreen807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when taking a Mediterranean cruise. It is a medium-sized hotel in a fin de siecle building in a major street, centrally located, built solidly, and recently refurbished to extremely high standards. It was excellent value for money; and is accessible to the 'Cittavecchia", the old city which is well worth a visit and has recently been cleaned up (in the past Barinesi said: "If you entered there, you exited with no clothes on your back"), and is also the site of what is probably the only major dual religion shrine in Southern Italy: the Church housing the remains of St Nicolas, stoled by Barinesi fishermen in circa 1000 AD , and which attracts both Catholic and Orthodox (primarily Russian ) pilgrims. So a s stylish hotel, previously a gateway to the East, hence its terms "Oriente"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stinarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Oriente is 2 minutes from the sea, and also just round the corner from shops and the historical 'Old Town'.

Rooms are comfortable and reasonably luxurious. The bathroom is spacious, containing a good sized power shower, bidet and toilet. Mine also contained its own small balconette, which I only discovered just before I was leaving!

It's central location, and Bari's boisterous nature means that there is the danger of being disturbed by street noise, especially at weekends, so I would suggest that light sleepers take ear plugs.

The staff at the hotel are incredibly friendly and helpful, and all speak English. They reflect the soul of the city, which I would call the Bologna of the south due to the warmth of the people and quality of food.

All in all a great place to base your self in order to explore the city. It's not the cheapest hotel you can stay in, but it might just be the best.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAlleyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Oriente is situated perfectly between the old historic part of town and the new shopping district, sandwiched in a row of beautiful buildings. Everything I wanted to see in Bari was within a very short walking distance from the hotel. The staff was first class. The newly refurbished single room was a little on the small side, but it was very clean and well-furnished. I drove in and was able to park directly across the street in a lot, which was free for the weekend. There were a lot of choices for the included breakfast, which was very good.
I couldn't imagine a better choice for a hotel in Bari. I will defnintely stay here again when my travels bring me back to this beautiful part of Italy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

After sitting for three hours in traffic coming back from the beaches by Monopoli (don't do the drive on a Sunday night!), this place was a welcome Oasis. Nice bathroom, comfy bed, BIG room, and very friendly staff. For once I walked into the room and thought "this actually looks EXACTLY like the picture on the internet when I booked it. Convenient to the train station and an easy walk into the old port town of Bari, which was actually also much nicer than I expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little-sun-bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Check in was friendly and fast. The room, a single was compact and comfortable. Bed was very comfortable. I ordered a bottle of wine on the spacious roof terrace, as well as a large bottle of sparkling water. It took about half an hour to arrive, but it was such a nice place, and everyone was so friendly, it just didn't seem to matter. The wine was exquisite and the whole lot came to e18. Absolute bargain.
Breakfasts, not always a strong point in Italian private hotels, had a fantastic selection of fruits, yoghurts and some nice cheeses. The coffee was wonderful.
The only glitch was no hot water for a shower at 19:00 one night, and the corridor was a bit noisy from time to time. Also, the internet was not free. How daft is that in this day and age?
Overall a very good experience, with the people working at the hotel being the very strong point. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyjet69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bari hotels
0.4 mi away
Grande Albergo delle Nazioni
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bari
917 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hi Hotel Bari
Hi Hotel Bari
#1 of 41 in Bari
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci
1.9 mi away
The Nicolaus Hotel
The Nicolaus Hotel
#2 of 41 in Bari
991 reviews
5.0 mi away
Parco Dei Principi Hotel Congress & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriente

Property: Hotel Oriente
Address: Corso Cavour 32, 70121, Bari, Italy (Formerly Oriente Hotel)
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bari
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriente 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oriente goes back to his origins after a long and careful restoration process. It opens up again and reminds through his architecture and decorations the golden age in which it was the most appreciated hotel in Bari. This old hospitality tradition started in the first years of the twentieth century, with businessmen trading between Balkans and Far East with Bari, “PortaD’Oriente”. An elected place for meeting and to discover other world.Since the opening in 1928, Hotel Oriente has hosted the greatest Opera tenors, who played their performances in the near world-famous Teatro Petruzzelli, becoming immediately,the chosen place by these celebrities. The Hotel is located inCorso Cavour, in the heart of Bari Centre. Hotel Oriente still represents the ideal meeting point for businessmen and also for tourists that love going shopping or sightseeing and wander in the narrow streets of the main town in Apulia. Chic and comfortable furniture enriches the atmosphere of each one of the 75 rooms and suites. Decorations are carefully perfected in all details, white play of light and kristal. The rooms have an elegant and determined artistic temperament and offer all the comforts to the guests.A nice surprise is the Roof Garden, that overlooks the whole city of Bari, the dome of Petruzzelli Theater and on the horizon the deep blue sea. A breath-taking panorama, perfect setting fora characteristic breakfast, a wine party at sunset, or for a cosy drink beneath the starry vault of heaven. A unique sensationthat will make unforgettable your stay in Hotel Oriente.The American Bar is opened for whole day and it is the ideal meeting place for friends or a cosy point for a pause. Here you will taste original cocktails.There are also two well-equipped meeting rooms to do your business. Hi-Tech and tradition, in the service of quality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing