We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ALMOST Flawless” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oriente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Oriente
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Bari
Certificate of Excellence
Chevy Chase Maryland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“ALMOST Flawless”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Reservations: made by a friend in Bari so I don't know the details.
Check-in: fast efficient and very courteous
Room: tastefully decorated, nice size, great bathroom, slightly small shower, excellent towels, heated towel rack, great bath products.
Breakfast: excellent buffet breakfast included in the price of the room, with a nice selection of cheeses, eggs, bacon, breads, cereal, yogurt, pastries, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, expresso, etc.
Gym: none.
Location: excellent in downtown Bari close to shops and dining.
Check-out: fast efficient and friendly.

Wireless Internet: free BUT very poor connection strength in the room, meaning that a hookup to the ethernet cable was needed. In this day and age, a hotel of this quality should have better wireless internet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    251
    55
    17
    12
See reviews for
52
174
37
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Excellent location for visiting the city and shopping. Close to cruise terminal in Bari. All the staff are rofessional and helpfull. Their serivce level is high. Our room was spacious, quiet and modern. Everthing was clean and comfy. Great breakfast buffet. There is no restaurant in the hotel but lots of retaurants and bars are in the nearby. Generally very nice property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KubaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a beautiful, French-style boutique hotel with very hip, cute ambiance and a helpful, multilingual staff. The rooms are quaint, and there's a rooftop terrace with a great view of the city. It's also close to the airport and to the marina (for cruise passengers). Excellent air conditioning, great blinds to block light, and solid windows to block out noise (but the windows open if you prefer fresh air).

The single, twin bed was tiny - if I were tall, my legs would have hung over the edge - but I am petite, so it wasn't an issue. If you prefer space when you sleep, request a room with a bigger bed.

There is no restaurant onsite (they only serve small, cold snacks) which can make grabbing a quick bite during non-normal eating hours a challenge. There is an excellent Pizzeria (Vassallo) right around the corner - not even a full block walking distance - which they will refer you to, but the restaurant doesn't open for dinner until 8pm. The restaurant has an extensive menu for the non-pizza eaters and reasonable prices. Better yet, the restaurant offers free WiFi (the hotel does not)!

There appeared to have a nice breakfast spread in the mornings.

Room Tip: The single, twin bed was tiny - if I were tall, my legs would have hung over the edge - but I am pet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruthIsThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoAngelastro, Direttore vendite at Hotel Oriente, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review and your words of praise for our hotel and staff.
Just some more information about our restaurant and wi-fi.
You can eat some hot dish of the day in our on site bistrot Oriente if you prefer stay in the hotel; anyhow as you write you can choose from different outside restaurant from pizzeria to fish restaurant; all those restaurant are a t a walking distance.
Regarding the wi-fi, the hotel provides a free wi-fi connection in the lobby, in the bar and on the roof top; otherwise youo can choose a cable high speed connection in the room by paying a fee.
We are pleased that you enjoy your stay and we hope to host you again as soon as possible.
in the meanwhile we thank you again for your review and greeting from all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with our accommodations at this hotel. The staff at the front desk spoke English which helped us very much. The beakfast was very good, a nice variety to choose from and the morning staff remembered the type of coffee we liked and would bring it to us without us even asking for it! Very impressive! Giuseppe at the front desk was extremely helpful each day giving us suggestions and directions to wonderful day trips! Thank you Giuseppe. Marina even came out to our car to help us with our GPS and showed us how to program all the small cities we were going to visit....Marina you saved us from getting lost! The two of you are great assets to your hotel! Grazie! We would definitely come back to this hotel as it was so centrally located in Bari and don't miss the shopping on Via Sparano!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoAngelastro, Direttore vendite at Hotel Oriente, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
we are really happy that you enjoy your stay at Oriente Hotel Bari and that you enjoy our beautiful Land.
"the guest is at home" is our mission and so many thanks for the compliments to the staff.
We hope to host you again as soon as possibile.
Thank you again and greetings from the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Not accustomed to the constant heat of Bari, the hotel was solace with great air con and great rooms. Good value and top class.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staying_sane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoOriente, Direttore vendite at Hotel Oriente, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review.
We are glad that you enjoy your stay in our hotel and we hope to host you again as soon as possibile.
On behalf of the Management and the Staff, thanks again and Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria di Leuca, Italy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Close to the old city..Next door you may find very good restaurant,Vassallo that have menue in English with excellent value for your money.

Room Tip: The staff are very helpful. Don't push for a room that is above the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mottibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore vendite at Hotel Oriente, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.
We are glad that you enjoy our hotel and the city of Bari.
The Oriente Hotel is an historical hotel of the city dated 1928 so in the last refurbishment of 2010 we can't change the atmosphere of the building with excessive fancy. Anyhow we try to melt the classical of the building with all the modern comfort.
Thanks again for your rate and see you soon.
Best Regards by all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

The hotel is fine by all standards, well located and clean rooms. I wasn't crazy about the service on the front desk (they lost my passport for a while). The breakfast is all mozzarella. I mean, gazillion different types of mozzarella, which is great if you like mozzarella. Close by bunch of good restaurants, old city not too far away and the roof terrace is one to kill for.

Room Tip: High above and facing inner courtyard gets a good sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassimoAngelastro, Direttore vendite at Hotel Oriente, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your review.
we are sorry for the temporary loss of your passport; those are minor inconvenience that some times happens, but the colleagues of the reception soon solved the problem.
About your review on the breakfast and mozzarella, We want remember you that mozzarella is one of the typical products of Apulia Region and that there are many types of it and according to our close link with our Land we are pleased to introduce our guest at our gastronomic tradition with all kind of mozzarella but also with typical pastry, biscuits, focaccia and other products.
Thank you again for your review and Best Regards by all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bari hotels
0.4 mi away
Grande Albergo delle Nazioni
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 42 in Bari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hi Hotel Bari
Hi Hotel Bari
#1 of 42 in Bari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Nicolaus Hotel
The Nicolaus Hotel
#2 of 42 in Bari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci Bari
0.7 mi away
Hotel Imago
Hotel Imago
#7 of 42 in Bari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriente

Property: Hotel Oriente
Address: Corso Cavour 32, 70121, Bari, Italy (Formerly Oriente Hotel)
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bari
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriente 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oriente goes back to his origins after a long and careful restoration process. It opens up again and reminds through his architecture and decorations the golden age in which it was the most appreciated hotel in Bari. This old hospitality tradition started in the first years of the twentieth century, with businessmen trading between Balkans and Far East with Bari, “PortaD’Oriente”. An elected place for meeting and to discover other world.Since the opening in 1928, Hotel Oriente has hosted the greatest Opera tenors, who played their performances in the near world-famous Teatro Petruzzelli, becoming immediately,the chosen place by these celebrities. The Hotel is located inCorso Cavour, in the heart of Bari Centre. Hotel Oriente still represents the ideal meeting point for businessmen and also for tourists that love going shopping or sightseeing and wander in the narrow streets of the main town in Apulia. Chic and comfortable furniture enriches the atmosphere of each one of the 75 rooms and suites. Decorations are carefully perfected in all details, white play of light and kristal. The rooms have an elegant and determined artistic temperament and offer all the comforts to the guests.A nice surprise is the Roof Garden, that overlooks the whole city of Bari, the dome of Petruzzelli Theater and on the horizon the deep blue sea. A breath-taking panorama, perfect setting fora characteristic breakfast, a wine party at sunset, or for a cosy drink beneath the starry vault of heaven. A unique sensationthat will make unforgettable your stay in Hotel Oriente.The American Bar is opened for whole day and it is the ideal meeting place for friends or a cosy point for a pause. Here you will taste original cocktails.There are also two well-equipped meeting rooms to do your business. Hi-Tech and tradition, in the service of quality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing