We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but a bit overpriced”
Review of Palazzo Calo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Calo
Ranked #15 of 150 Bari B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great location, very near shops and all the sights. Unique sort of place and the room was very modern (on 2 floors) and clean. Nice touches with drinks in the fridge and Sky Sports! Couldn't really fault it, but it was very expensive (we chose it for its location as we only had 1 night in Bari). I think it was coming to the end of the season as the roof terrace didn't have any facilities. Breakfast served in the room and was very good, but not fantastic which I would have expected for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoungerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 122 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Wow simply amazing, just returned from a 2 day break, Palazzo Calo is int the old city but its only few meters down by walk and you are in the shopping area.
The rooms were very clean, friendly staff, breakfast was served in the room. The roof top is quite nice as well and Palazzo Calo has quite hi-tech entry system for check in (or maybe cos we arrived late) nevertheless we will be going there on our next visit to Bari

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieClaireCilia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Palazzzo Calo for just one night before we boarded our cruise out of Bari, but we LOVED it! Our room was amazing, so modern and unique. The staffer that helped us was great, very helpful and service-oriented. The rooftop terrace was awesome and there were free drinks and snacks made available! The location was great too...in the heart of old town Bari. I thoroughly recommend that you stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

top address in bari, very !! charming and clean rooms, incredible roof terrace with included beverages (free beer), breakfast was served in the room, friendliest staff ever! good place for exploring the town! love to come back

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at Palazzo Calo for one night at the start and another at the end of our trip to Salento. We arrived in Bari late in the afternoon, the staff had arranged a transfer from the airport for us which was very efficient and not unduly expensive. The accommodation was comfortable and contemporary - fabulous shower! Breakfast was very good. We stayed again on our return from Salento and had a transfer back to the airport. We found all of the staff to be extremely helpful and with good suggestions about local restaurants etc. We would definitely stay there if we visit this area again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights in this amazing hotel in the heart of Bari. For those who love history and want to be attached to it it's an ideal place. It's renovated building of 14-15th century, all the works are done with a great taste and style.

Service is great, tailor made. I especially liked the terrace on the roof as I watched fireworks from there on the day of St. Nichola.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nastyago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have spent 3 days at Palazzo Calo and it was amazing. It is not easy to find the hotel since the taxi drivers are not allowed to enter the historical area, but helpful locals showed us the way. We previously let the hotel know that our arrival is expected quite late, so they were waiting for us. The check in was easy and fast. The receptionist, Luigi, helped us with the luggage although the hotel has elevator. The room was fantastic, modern and minimal but absolutely beautiful, even more beautiful than in the pics on the website. We stayed in the studio, perfect for couples, families, friend. there is a small kitchen with fridge and the water is for free. The bathroom is also beautiful and the inside light in the wardrobe is a big plus. :)
Since the hotel is very new the dining area is not ready so the breakfast is served in the room. It was absolutely lovely, fresh, tasteful and local. We could select what we would like to have and how, even extra requirements were not problem and they always brought the breakfast on the previously agreed time to our room.
The staff was extremely helpful, it was a pleasure to stay there.
All is all this hotel is totally worths its price and a good experience to stay there. The location is perfect, in the middle of the historical are but still not noisy. There are nice shops, restaurants and the main square is just 2 mins on foot. I only can recommend it, no bad comments.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bari hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oriente
Hotel Oriente
#6 of 40 in Bari
652 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hi Hotel Bari
Hi Hotel Bari
#2 of 40 in Bari
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Albergo delle Nazioni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Nicolaus Hotel
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 40 in Bari
997 reviews
4.8 mi away
Parco Dei Principi Hotel Congress & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Calo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Calo

Address: Via Strada Lamberti, 8, 70121, Bari, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Bari
Price Range: $127 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Calo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Calo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing