We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Congressi
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Bari
Rome
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for business”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed at the Excelsior Congressi a couple of nights for a conference; the rooms were clean comfortable and well equipped (well I had one with a jacuzzi so yay!).
Overall, nothing about this hotel was exceptional, but it was very well suited for a business trip, they have several conference rooms, and just a few minutes away from a choice of restaurants. The staff was polite and helpful, the food at the restaurant was good. The town center was a 10 minute walk so very convenient; the train station was very close although I never heard any 'train noise', another good thing.

I would recommend this hotel for business purposes; for visitors who would like to experience more Bari, or Italy for that matter, I would recommend something with more character.

In a nutshell, the Excelsior is convenient, efficient, and anonymous.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    65
    56
    45
See reviews for
8
16
20
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

the hotel is located in front of the train station but the quarter is not that bad. we attended a business congress there. the personnel of the hotel is helpful and the hotel is quite modern and well equipped with meeting rooms. you can reach the old city center with a 15 minutes walk while the shopping are is even closer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dell3581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia-USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

A smart sophisticated minamalist modern design of a hotel with a multitude or single accommodations for the business person , suites as well for conferencing. Very pleasant modern facilities, beds super comfortable, baths with showers and good water supply. Breakfast is the usual and served up nicely; croissants, yogurt, good coffee other assorted items - excellent staff quick and effecient and most atractive always polite and accommodating. A plus this hotel sits just behind the main train station in Bari as well as the Pulia-Locanda line serving the mountain cities. I was a weary traveler and chose to have a late lunch in the dining room and it was excellent - a traditional Pullian Pasta beautifully prepare. A-plus for trying to please.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bari hotels

Antwerp
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

They wanted to cheat me with the parking fee,very unfriendly staff,very bad restaurant.
very bad location..I moved out of that place after 1 night only.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bond007Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Hotel Excelsior Congressi in Bari is a conundrum: in some ways it was very good but in other ways it failed miserably. First the good points. The room was clean, modern, well appointed and quiet. Maid service was fine. Although the hotel had no non-smoking rooms, this one had no smoke odor.
One man became our personal assistant, seeing to our coffee in the morning and delivering messages; it seemed he was on duty from early morning until late at night. His service was exceptional.
The hotel is conveniently located just across the tracks from the train stations in an area that is slightly quieter than the more lively town section between the train stations and the port.
We stayed for eight nights and would consider going back again. (Eight days of identical breakfasts did get a little tiring, however.)
But the bad points: The worst incident was one night when we were waiting for a friend to pick us up to go to dinner. We were in the lobby at the appointed 7:00 time but were not surprised when he did not immediately show up (Italian time is less precise than elsewhere). At 7:30 we thought something might have happened to him, so my wife went to the desk to ask if there was a phone with which she could call our friend; she specifically said we were expecting to meet him and were concerned that he hadn't shown up. The clerk at the desk said no, there wasn't a phone; my wife would have to go outside. Instead, she went up to our room and called from there. It seems the friend had called a day earlier to leave a message that our dinner would be postponed one night. But that message never made it to us. So after we concluded something was wrong, we went to eat in the hotel dining room (not recommended). Apparently while we were eating the friend called the hotel and complained strongly to them about their not having passed along his message. The next morning, as I was in the shower, my wife found a note on the desk (among our typical tourist piles of maps, receipts and other papers) from the hotel the night before acknowledging that they hotel staff had failed to deliver the message one day earlier. So, while we were in the hotel restaurant (two of the three people there), the hotel couldn't find us and just slipped the note on the desk. Only by chance did we find that note. (I might point out that the bedspreads are bright red, so leaving the note on the bedspread would have made a note on white paper immediately apparent when we went into the room.) On checking out, the man at the desk claimed we owed for two coffees and three bottles of water, although he couldn't produce any signed receipt showing we ordered or accepted those things (which we hadn't). Rather than argue and risk missing our plane, we paid the small amount. So the service at the hotel--specifically the staff at the front desk--left much to be desired.
The other serious flaw concerns smoking. Apparently the conference rooms are non-smoking. Attendees at conferences wanting to smoke go outside. Just outside. Right outside the front door. Often twenty of them. Puffing away. When a conference session takes a break, you might want to wear a gas mask to get through the haze right outside the front door. The hotel could designate a smokers' area at one end of the long covered front porch and away from the front door, perhaps?
If you can cope with these kinds of limitations, the Hotel Excelsior Congressi is a reasonable choice for Bari.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bari hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#11 of 41 in Bari
318 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#19 of 41 in Bari
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zodiacus
Hotel Zodiacus
#13 of 41 in Bari
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rondo Hotel
Rondo Hotel
#17 of 41 in Bari
193 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel HR
0.7 mi away
Best Western Executive Business Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Congressi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Congressi

Property: Excelsior Congressi
Address: Via Giulio Petroni 15, 70124, Bari, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Bari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Congressi 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Congressi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing