We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well preserved, but very limited access”

Castello Normanno Svevo
Book In Advance
More Info
$170.88*
and up
Private Walking Tour Murat District and Historical Bari
Ranked #13 of 126 things to do in Bari
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
437 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Well preserved, but very limited access”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Castello Svevo di Bari is a very well preserved castle and fort, complete with moat, right on the waterfront between the old city of Bari and the new port area.

Built around 1132 it appears to be in amazing condition and is very accessable. Ongoing archiological excavation work shows that it was built on top of ealier settlements.

What was dissappointing about this site was just hiw very little of it is accessable to the public, which of course you don't kniw until you have paid your entance fee! Also, we keep hearing that the local authorities are looking to capitalise on the UNESCO listing of the old city and want to increase tourism - a few signs in english would certainly broaden the appeal. That isn't a comment just in relation to the castle, but the whole city.

Save your money, the outside with its ramparts, towers & moat are all available for free.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pakabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    158
    108
    35
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“More to See Than We Thought”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed visiting this Norman-Swabian Castle which is the centerpiece of Bari, Italy. We love history and were intrigued by the tales we read about the castle's history of occupants including the Angevin period and disputed succession. It was interesting to hear how the castle was redesigned to accommodate the ladies' tastes. We found the sculptures to be very intricate and well preserved; we spent a lot of time in those rooms and especially enjoyed the panels depicting the birth of Christ. This was the highlight of Bari for us and an unexpected favorite.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HistoryNutCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Free is always good”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the palace hotel after a cruise and this was a short walk from the hotel. It made for some nice pictures, as it is a well preserved ruins. From here you can also see two cathedrals which are also close. We did not venture inside.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gossamerfirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
227 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“A landmark”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It is indeed a landmark of the city.

However, the best views & photo shoot are from the outside.

You can also view the castle from the inside but there is very little to see: a couple of rooms with preserved remains from various part of Puglia and a video narrating the history. Unfortunately, there one can't climb up the towers and similar castle like touring.

Nonetheless, the entrance fee is just 3 euro ... basically nothing. COnsidering the price, I would go inside from a rapid view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Valletta054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good but brief”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I really liked this place, but was frustrated by the lack of access to several areas. I guess we just need to be patient while excavations continue; meanwhile, there are some fascinating artefacts from the 12th-15th century and an informative display on the history of the castle, its origins and uses.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mollynew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello Normanno Svevo also viewed

 
Bari, Province of Bari
 

Been to Castello Normanno Svevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing