We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Leon d'Oro
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Bari
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

i stayed one night in july 2014. i had a really spaciouse and well furnished room with a big bathroom with a bathtube. wifi was working in the room also. the hotel is just two steps away from the train station. bus no 20 goes directly to the port and is free of charge, it leaves from infront of the train station. the old city is just an easy way through a straight shopping street away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    61
    52
    66
See reviews for
11
23
16
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mittersill, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

The room was spacious and clean, view was nice and the restaurant down stairs was small but good. I stayed for 4 nights. The hotel is very nice and cost a lot of money but it is right by the train station and very close to the center of town, the see and the old city. From the hotel door there is a shtetel bus to the airport.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ido G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice hotel with modern furnishings and reasonable rates, but no air conditioning during this warm, fall period. Even the staff complain that it's too hot - but they seem to be unable to do anything and don't even have any fans available. What a shame.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel during warm or unseasonal weather - they're not equipped to deal with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLINT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bari hotels

Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is located opposite the Bari Central Train Station & overlooking the Piazza Aldo Moro (Aldo Moro Square) & very near almost to all interesting places in Bari.
Room are spacious but I'll equipped & poorly managed.
Breakfast is of poor selection & quality.
This property can be much better.

Room Tip: Stay away from it until better served & managed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdulla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
272 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel has once been an in-place and renovated in 2000. But since that, nothing much has happened. For a short stay in Bari it's OK. The is in fact no much to do or see in Bari at the same time. The promised Internett was not there, inspite of new explanations every time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerBaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

This hotel has large, clean rooms, but for the rest everything is lacking. For example: bar is not open during the day, mini bar contains only 4 kinds of beverages, all non alcoholic, and some of them are over expiration date. The arerol spritzz i orderdered did not contain bubbles - the bottle of sparkling wine must have been open for quite some time already. Reception has no maps of the city, and staff hardly speaks english or french. Breakfast is very poor for a 4 star hotel. Overall the hotel makes a very desolate impression. I would give the hotel three stars.

Positive aspects: free wifi in the rooms, close to the station.

Room Tip: Higher floors (from 6th onwards) are fairly quiet. Rooms with view on the station are the noisiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle188636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

The hotel is in a great location, just a 3 minute walk from the Bari train station and 10 minute walk from the historic Bari village - which apparenly used to be dangerous place to go, but it has improved now with many polizia stations in the village. Shopping streets are just around the corner.

The hotel was very clean and very modern. I was very impressed with the hotel.
Wi-fi was available for free. you have to ask for username and password from the reception. It was slow, but it works, and it was free.

I only had a breakfast, again typical Italian small breakfast with ham, cheese, croisant, fruit and cake - It seems like I was the only person there. I saw no one else in the hotel.

The manager, she end up charging me the correct price 95 euros, instead of 145 euros from the internet booking. She's an honest Italian - very rare in Italy.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Reminder, you'll need your pin number for your credit card in most transactions when travelling in Italy. I had to pay this in cash since I forgot my pin number.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aoh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bari hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Imago
Hotel Imago
#7 of 42 in Bari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adria Hotel Bari
Adria Hotel Bari
#9 of 42 in Bari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zodiacus
Hotel Zodiacus
#13 of 42 in Bari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#11 of 42 in Bari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oriente
Hotel Oriente
#6 of 42 in Bari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#14 of 42 in Bari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Leon d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Leon d'Oro

Property: Grand Hotel Leon d'Oro
Address: Piazza Aldo Moro 4, 70122, Bari, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Leon d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, renovate, quiet, rooms with all comfort - Adjacent to railway station, central business ctr, near university. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Leon d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing