We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business yes - short break NO NO NO”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Bari
Certificate of Excellence
Kent UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Business yes - short break NO NO NO”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

If you are on business this is well located place to lay your head in Bari. The service is pretty average. The gym sauna and other facilities either closed or unusable. The food in the restaurant is unremarkable - yet the breakfast is pretty good.
The service at the bar is also fairly non committal and closes promptly when the staff shift ends.
Dont think about lying in bed in the morning as the cleaning staff will get you moving with corridor long conversations, rattling and knocking every door as soon as THEY are ready to clean.

The hotel is flooded with suited smoking males who are attending conferences during the week. The attention of all staff is typically diverted to serve these people. If you are not one of them you will need to patient.

If you are here on business the hotel is properly functional and does the job. However do not fool yourself into thinking that you could also stay here for a couple of days break. and enjoy the (sunless) ice bath that they call a pool. Unless you are the type to be up every morning and out exploring in a hire car - don't bother. You would be far better advised to do your business here then relocate to another hotel for pleasure.

One final point. Front desk staff could do a with a course in customer service. Whatever it is they are doing - it is far more important that serving or helping customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    769
    193
    57
    24
See reviews for
272
540
121
596
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I really wanted to give an overall rating of 3.5 for this hotel. As mentioned by another reviewer, its location is not great, but on the other hand, it's only a 10 min walk from the central station, and since Bari is more of a hub than a destination, that's reasonably handy for going on excursions.
This hotel received good reviews from both Lonely Planet and Trip Advisor, and I suspect you won't do much better in Bari. However, it is rather characterless while trying to be chic. Rooms are spacious, if a little drab. We stayed three nights before moving on to Lecce, and then returned for our final night. The first room we were given was an odd shape, almost semicircular, with an IKEA wardrobe stuck in the middle of the floor and a balcony/terrace, so vast it could have easily hosted a party for 50+ people. Part of one of the 4 miles of curtain covering the huge windows became detached on our last day, but the hotel was completely unable to fix it, even though all that was was a stepladder. However, they did offer us an alternative room (which we declined). On our return, we were upgraded to the Imperial Suite, which turned out to be rather larger than our own house. I thought this was a very nice gesture. Interestingly, I managed quite spectacularly to destroy another curtain arrangement here...
Staff mainly very helpful and friendly. Nice terrace on which to eat breakfast if the weather is good. Breakfast itself however, was fairly uninspiring, except for the excellent coffee and a competent egg chef. If you could ever find him that is . Very chaotic one morning, otherwise fine.
We ate twice in the restaurant, and I would highly recommend the fixed-price Puglian menu (€29, including wine and water). The food was good, if not great, but afine intro to the local cuisine. Second occasion I had a fillet of beef. Unimaginative accompaniments, but the quality of the meat was superb. Bar area is pleasant enough, and the Prosecco is outstanding!
All in all, it'll do as a hotel without being anything special.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyShelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The hotel itself is nice and very comfortable. However, the photos do not include the actual hotel. They promote the building behind the actual hotel which is on the grounds. There was no water in the pool. I do not think they should advertise something that cannot be utilized. The Junior Suite was a good value for the money. We did not have any complaints about our service or accomadations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

While this hotel is not in the best location (busy avenue on the side of a pretty large railroad yard), it is a great place -- our room was very big, with a view to the rail and we could not hear a sound from the trains going by. The property itself is gorgeous, very well-maintained. The breakfast was simply awesome -- the level of service, the quality of the food (fresh southern Italy tomatoes from the vine, anyone?) was outstanding and the staff was very helpful to us (in their sometimes off-putting Italian way, if I must say so).

Truly, we don't have a complaint. Add to that the on-site parking that was plenty and easy to get in and out of. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for one of the larger rooms. They have a few that we saw which are very small, sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed in Bari for five nights, and it was the best hotel we stayed so far in South Italy. The triple room was immense, with big beds and a new and clean cradle for my baby. The Villa is very big, with a swimming pool, gym, sauna and a great parking lot. The breakfast was very good, but the same every day. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeilaCCNogueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDUCCIRIST, Direttore generale at Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was lovely to read such positive feedback as yours. Your compliment is our utmost reward. Thank you!
Giovanna Petrosillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed at this wonderful hotel for the third time recently whilst on a work tour of Puglia, and I rate it highly. It is easy to see why it is considered the best hotel in Bari. Everything about the Villa Romanazzi Carducci is stylish and a cut above - from the extensive gardens, which have classical music filtering through the pine trees to the décor and objets d'art in the public areas. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the staff always courteous and friendly and the breakfast buffet of a very high standard for Italy. I look forward to future stays at the Villa Romanazzi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsalover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanna p, Directeur général at Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you
I have shared your kind comments with the team who were equally delighted and we all very much look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Romanazzi Carducci for another fantastic stay!
Kind regards
Giovanna Petrosillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bari hotels
1.4 mi away
Hi Hotel Bari
Hi Hotel Bari
#1 of 41 in Bari
331 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Nicolaus Hotel
The Nicolaus Hotel
#2 of 41 in Bari
963 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grande Albergo delle Nazioni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bari
897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oriente
Hotel Oriente
#5 of 41 in Bari
611 reviews
4.4 mi away
Parco Dei Principi Hotel Congress & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci

Property: Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci
Address: Via Giuseppe Capruzzi 326, 70124, Bari, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bari
#5 Business Hotel in Bari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Romanazzi Carducci is located in Bari, a few minutes walk from the city center, with great respect to the memory of a noble residence of 1885, set in a lush park of 35,000 m², characterized by the variety of tree species, exotic plants, elegant furnishings, fountains and a design pool. The property offers exclusive hospitality in 126 elegant and spacious rooms, where the modernity of comfort blends with the taste and style of the furnishings. In the morning, a rich international breakfast buffet is set up at the "Carducci Restaurant" (also open to non-overnight guests), where for dinner, traditional tastes and new taste routes meet in a mix of creative, emotional, refined and quality thanks to the skill and the inventiveness of our internationally renowned chefs and their staff. The fine wine list completes the quest for the excellence of the Carducci Restaurant. Inside the restaurant there is a Privè space for breakfast and dinners. The hotel provides 18 meeting and event rooms, a gym, a sauna, a Turkish bath, "Caffè Carducci" with its outdoor terrace and a large free car park. The sophistication of the rooms and the atmosphere of friendly hospitality make Hotel Villa Romanazzi Carducci a destination for both leisure and business travelers. Leader of the meeting industry of Puglia, Villa Romanazzi Carducci offers many sophisticated solutions for meetings, congresses, small meetings and major national and international events. Our staff provides direct assistance in the design, menu setting and optimum use of the latest audiovisual equipment during the meeting. A part of the rooms is located in the Villa Rachele, a noble residence of the end of the eighteenth century, while the remaining are located in the Giulia Center, a modern modular conference center to meet every need. Finally, secluded, the Scuderia and the Europa, immersed in the green of our park. All the rooms and common areas are equipped with high-speed ADSL and Wi-Fi connection. For your events choose an exclusive location, immersed in a secular park just steps from the city center and the excellence of the service of Villa Romanazzi Carducci. Our staff is ready to suggest the right ideas to make every occasion unique and memorable for you and your guests. Our service is certified and subjected to strict quality checks. "Everything is perfect": this is what we are certain, the guests will say at the end of your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci Bari Hotel Bari
Mercure Hotel Romanazzi Carducci Bari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing