We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santuario della Madonna di Monte Berico
Save
Review Highlights
Really Beautiful in the Morning

Walk up to Monte Berico almost every morning and I still can't get over how beautiful the church is... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
josiemcnally
,
Vicenza, Italy
Work of art

Lovely church with a mural by Paolo Veronese behind the courtyard. The church is really two... read more

Reviewed June 27, 2018
Danny5660
,
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Read all 664 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Vicenza
from $104.10
More Info
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
28
18
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
18
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful church walk up interesting small museum nice walk mass gregory peasant basilica mountains hilltop climb walkway vista beauty loggia architecture century
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Walk up to Monte Berico almost every morning and I still can't get over how beautiful the church is at sunrise. The parking lot has an amazing view of the mountains and it never gets old. Inside the church is extremely beautiful - I was blown away by how ornate it was. Definitely recommend if you are stopping in Vicenza.

Thank josiemcnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

Lovely church with a mural by Paolo Veronese behind the courtyard. The church is really two churches in one, with the "old church" inside the newer one. We enjoyed the archaeological museum as well.

Thank Danny5660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

A beautiful site on the mountain top with sweeping vistas of Vicenza below. We were there on a moon-lit evening and it was stunning at sunset.

Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2018 via mobile

This beautiful church was near our hotel. We visited and I briefly saw the inside as there was a service ongoing. They had an interesting small museum with archaeological items. At the car park there is a fabulous view of Vicenza, well worth visiting just for,these views

Thank EmilyFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

A long uphill walk under loggias protecting from bad weather connects the city to the Santuario, sitting on top of Monte Berico and containing a gorgeous Supper of St. Gregory by Paolo Veronese (1572). This church is busy with pilgrims all year long.

Thank opossumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2018

Everytime I bring someone new to Vicenza, I take them to the top of the hill overlooking the city to see the position of the church, it's arcades that lead up the mountain, and, the amazing view from it's front yard (which is the parking lot)...the view over Vicenza spreading across the Veneto towards the Alps (on a clear day)....is spectacular. While the interior of the church is not one of my favorites, the siting of the church on this knoll is iconic and, if you go on to visit the Villas Nani or Rotunda, this Church is a vista to be seen through both of their landscapes!

Thank garyp281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017

I walked here from Vicenza's city center; the walk is a nice walk and it really doesn't take that long - maybe 15 or 20 minutes? I missed the turn to walk under the carved archway on the way up, but I'm glad I did because I walked through a residential area which was lovely. The views at the lookout point in front of the church by the parking lot are amazing; they look over Vicenza, which has absolutely stunning architecture. The church itself is free to visit. It was a bit dark so it was difficult to see the inside. Regardless, it's lovely to visit. After my visit, I walked to Villa Valmarana and Villa Rotunda, which were both reached in about 15 minutes or so. Again, it was a lovely walk.

A great way to stretch your legs on a nice day!

1  Thank KPfeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

While visiting Vicenza, put on some good walking shoes and make the climb to Monte Berico; you won't be disappointed. With beautiful 15th century architecture splendidly preserved, a tremendous walkway of 150 arches, an enticing legend of the peasant, Vincenza Pasini and spectacular views of the city, it's worth the hike up hill; and it's a great way to work off those pasta calories.

1  Thank raysalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017

We visited Vicenza to see friends while we were staying in Padua and we were wonderfully surprised by the beauty of the old city. So many of the buildings were designed by the architect Palladio that Vicenza is called "The City of Palladio". It is a Unesco World Heritage Site. The Basilica Palladiana has a great terrace bar high above the city.
There are some lovely bars, shops and restaurants in the town and many beautiful architectural sights to see both in the town and around, particularly churches. In Osteria Monelli on C.tra Ponte San Paolo we had the local speciality, Baccala (air dried fish) with polenta which was delicious. We also visited the town's rugby club, Rangers Rugby Vicenza.
The best view of the city is from the romantic Piazzale della Vittoria in front of the Santuario di Monte Berico (Church of St Mary of the Mount). Take the wonderful drive or walk up and down the long colonnaded Viale Dierci Guigno to reach the view. Vicenza is well worth a stop.

1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

It's the location that makes it so special, but also the cloister and several high quality paintings.

Thank sosthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews