We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky room, very noisy”
Review of Hotel Campo Marzio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Campo Marzio
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Vicenza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here in May of 2011. The first room we were given was directly across from the elevator - you could practically touch the room door while standing in the elevator. I went downstairs to request an alternate room - no problem, handed another key. Opened the door to the second room to be met by a wall of smoky stench. This is supposed to be a non-smoking property? Went back downstairs and was told that the hotel was full, and the original room key had been given to someone else. And that our room was smoke-free. I asked them to go to the room and check for themselves, they wouldn't. They finally admitted the room smelled of smoke. But they still couldn't do anything for us. So we spent the night in the smelly room, and woke with enormous headaches the next morning. Not good, and that's without mentioning the mold in the bathroom shower. Or that fact the rooms facing the front are very noisy, it's hard to sleep. I do not recommend this hotel, I'm sure there must be better in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank azinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Campo Marzio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 545 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel. Our rooms (and those of friends) were very plain, similar to the traveler photo, not at all like the professional hotel photos. That being said, the rooms were comfy, compact, clean; wifi, elevator, decent bathroom, great breakfast. Superior location for walking in the city and the train station. Didn't have any problems with renovation noise. You pay a premium for being so close to the city and train.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcampomarzio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Campo Marzio, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Dear MargaretEllen1950,

thank you for coming back to Hotel Campo Marzio and for finding the time to write a positive review.

We believe that renovation will make staying at our Hotel an even better experience, and we hope to have you and your friends as our guests again.

Sincerely,

Customer Care Campo Marzio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The Campo Marzio is located between two large parks and right on the edge of the pedestrian-only center of old Vicenza. There is convenient parking in a private lot just in front of the hotel. Large, attractive lobby. The desk clerk was very friendly, in fact, liked joking around and made it easy to ask questions and get information. Our "standard" room was on the front on the first floor. Traditional, comfortable furnishings in soothing colors. The bathroom was large and spotless. The AC works very well, as did the WiFi, which was free. The breakfast spread was abundant, including self-cook fresh eggs. It is a two-minute walk to the old town and many restaurants and cafes. Also, if you are visiting the villas of the Veneto, two of the most important--the Rotonda, and Valmarana ai Nani--are an easy ten-minute drive away. As another reviewer indicated, construction is going on, so there was some noise between 8 am and 7 pm, but since we were out sightseeing, it did not bother us. This was a well-run, comfortable, convenient hotel, and I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from construction noise.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VirginiaMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcampomarzio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Campo Marzio, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Dear VirginiaMartha,

thank you for your kind words of appreciation.

We at Hotel Campo Marzio are happy when our efforts to provide great comfort and services in a friendly atmosphere, combined with the hotel's favorable location, reach the goal of a satisfying stay for our guests.

We are also glad that you weren't bothered by the renovation work going on, as we try our best to minimize disturbance.

Construction will be completed as soon as possible. We would love to welcome you again in a fully renovated Campo Marzio.

Meanwhile, we send our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Do not book this hotel until at the earliest the summer of 2012. They are undergoing major renovation works with a large crane in residence and plenty of drilling going on. Supposedly they work 9-19 (so forget about a siesta) but when I was there, deliveries started at 6:30 am with large trucks unloading. They do not mention this on their website, so you only find out about this when you get there!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fairbutcritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcampomarzio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Campo Marzio, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Dear fairbutcritical,

we are sorry for the trouble you experienced while staying at our Hotel.

However, we must stress that daily work for renovation - including deliveries of any kind - never starts before 9 AM. This is by contract with the construction company. Work ends at 6.30 PM, also by contract.

The activity you witnessed at 6.30 AM had nothing to do with Hotel Campo Marzio, and disturbances at that time in the morning occur very, very rarely at our location - which we are glad you appreciated, together with the room, services and overall cleanliness, renovation notwithstanding.

Lastly, workers pause for lunch from 1 to 3 PM, so there's plenty of time for a nap.

Again, we are sorry if your experience was suboptimal but we had to clarify these points.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Hotel Campo Marzio is excellently located, just outside the historic center of Vicenza and a short walk from the train station. The renovated rooms are nicely appointed. Breakfast is generous, including pastry, cereal, yogurt, bread, cheese, meats, eggs (boil your own!) and fresh fruit. Wifi doesn't quite reach to all rooms, but works well in others and in the common areas. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room, and specify if you want a nonsmoking room
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Hotel Campo Marzio, is placed at the entrance of the historic center in Vicenza Its location is unbeatable, right to the care of service My husband is gluten intolerant and had breakfast special meal for him. Especially thank Massimo who has attended and helped organize the dinner with a big smile

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ailopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We loved the genteel feel of the room furnishings, handy yet quiet location to the train station and within a few minutes walking to the town centre for our one night stay. Friendly, professional staff and a fair selection for breakfast which is included in the tariff. Some quiet background music would have broken the sounds of silence in the public areas of the hotel, however this is only a minor point and we would recommend the hotel and wished we could have stayed longer to explore Vicenza more thoroughly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vicenza hotels
0.8 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#3 of 21 in Vicenza
830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glam Boutique Hotel
Glam Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Vicenza
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antico Hotel Vicenza
Antico Hotel Vicenza
#9 of 21 in Vicenza
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#4 of 21 in Vicenza
543 reviews
2.1 mi away
AC Hotel Vicenza
AC Hotel Vicenza
#7 of 21 in Vicenza
460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palace Hotel La Conchiglia d'Oro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campo Marzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo Marzio

Address: Viale Roma 21, 36100 Vicenza, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Vicenza > Vicenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vicenza
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vicenza
#8 Business Hotel in Vicenza
Price Range: $113 - $736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Campo Marzio 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Marzio is situated 20 metres from the pedestrian area and 200 metres from Vicenza train station, in an excellent location close to Corso Palladio, Piazza dei Signori and Palazzo Chiericati. Guests have access to bicycles which they can use to explore the city, and the chance to rent a car to explore the surrounding area. The multilingual staff are pleased to suggest tourist excursions and restaurants for guests to explore the area's traditions and unique characteristics. The facilities on offer include a convenient Internet access point in the lobby and outdoor parking - available only by booking. The reception is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Campo Marzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo Marzio Vicenza
Campo Marzio Hotel Vicenza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing