We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, new, confortable, trendy... a well done melange”
Review of Antico Guelfo

Antico Guelfo
Ranked #23 of 490 Restaurants in Vicenza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $59
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old, new, confortable, trendy... a well done melange”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Old setting in the historic part of Vicenza, yet very trendy in the food department and the presentation and table settings. You get immersed in the ecological direction of the owners and the love of modern art.
Warm bread in paper bags, barley instead of rice,excellent Tiramisu, everything was excellent, beautifully plated and served with smiles.
For a group of over 50 , reasonably priced, they did a great job. I will return there on my next Vicenza trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roth1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    103
    37
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best gluten free meal ever!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wonderful restaurant. We stopped to see the menu. Asked if they had any gluten free items and it turned out that most of the menu was! I had Crepes with amazing cheese and fruit. A pasta dish that was fantastic! Could not tell that any of it was gluten free! Our waiter (Alessandro) even brought me bread that was fresh and warm! What a treat for me, because it's always an adventure being gluten free. My husbands food was also wonderful. Great wines too! Did have one unexpected adventure though. Beware, in the bathroom there is just a porcelain hole in the floor.
Worth it for the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Romantic atmosphere”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I eat out a lot in Vicenza and this is my second favorite restaurant. It is incredibly charming and romantic, with a fire place and an interior balcony. The menu is typical Vicenza, but the food is just better than other places. It is the best bigoli I have ever tasted, spiced with exotic fall spices. The meat is fantastic, love the lamb. Decent local wine menu and wonderful jazz music playing. They also have a dessert menu that is worth checking out, with creative, but solid choices. Parking lot is right around the corner. There is a small bar in the front while you wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly risotto”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Delicious is the word that suits Antico Guelfo best. It is hard to say which course the most tasty was but as a dessert we got a small glass pot which was a mixture of tiramisu, chocolate cake and pralines. The music in the background has obviously been chosen by a connoisseur what makes the experience even more worth your while. The service is friendly and this is a place in Vicenza that you cannot miss to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chantal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food, but slow service!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Food was good, but we were there for a long time to our food arrive. The restaurant have a nice personality and nice atmosphere. I look at the kitchen by the window and I was disappointed in seen a powder to make stock... Well thats my review!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antico Guelfo also viewed

Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
 
Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
 
Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
 

Been to Antico Guelfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing