We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, unusual, local, great food!”

Righetti Self Service
Ranked #14 of 490 Restaurants in Vicenza
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Warm, unusual, local, great food!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Took a bit of confusion but helpful advice to figure it out, but a great experience. Self-service with a blackboard, real Italian food, good price, wine, beer and water on tap. You pay afterwards so must rely on great honesty from clientele. Great stuff!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldenthigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    260
    106
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A place to go back to!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Though we found much else to like in Vicenza, eating at Righetti was definitely among the high points of our visit, and we went there twice for dinner and once for lunch, so it certainly wasn't just a once-off. The whole experience was excellent: it's an interesting space with a variety of seating spaces available inside, and an outdoor table area right by the Duomo; the staff are knowledgable, friedly, helpful; the food is great, savoury and filling (the desserts are a weak point); there's wine / beer / water available on tap. It's a delight to watch how the place works, threading large numbers of customers through quickly and efficiently, while letting them feel that they're completely in control - self-service as a fine art! And the prices were just amazingly low, with all bills settled on a basis of trust: you tell the cashier what you had, and that's what he charges you for. Simple! Great to see how many smiling happy faces you can see around you when people don't feel they're being ripped off, and there was no pressure afterwards to vacate the table quickly, so we had plenty of time to enjoy the vibe and join in the general purr of satisfaction. I'll be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Araknid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to eat and relax.”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is nothing like the standard 'self service' model and really is the family-run place it says it is. The whole system of ordering,eating and paying is based on trust - and very good food. You choose what you want from a blackboard and a couple of people serve you; water and wine - you fill your own jug. Bread: You take from a basket. Everyone brings their meal to a table - there is a huge outside area on the Piazza del Duomo - and a generally happy and relaxed atmosphere pervades as people enjoy company, excellent value, and delicious food. At the end of your meal, you go to the cash desk and tell the cashier what you have eaten! You pay. That's it! There are a couple of waiters around who check that everyone has what they want, but none of the waiting and hassle that sometimes accompanies normal restaurant fare. We ate there throughout our stay in Vicenza, and wished there were more places like it. A truly public-space, communal city and eating experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Easy going self service”
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

This is an easy going self service where you can find traditional food. Food quality is pretty good, try the grill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harryborter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,116 reviews
582 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 918 helpful votes
“cheap and wonderful”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I live in Vicenza part of the year and often eat at Righetti Restaurant . It is a busy, unfussy, friendly and reliable place in the centre of town. Nothing special about this restaurant except that it serves homestyle cooking with daily specials and daily staples . You cannot go wrong with the prices and the food is genuine Italian homestyle cooking all served cafeteria style . I love it how you just take what you want , from the help yourself wines to bread, salads , everything in fact , at the end you go up to the cashier and tell him what you ate , he counts it all up on the till and you pay . There is a lot of trust involved in this system .I often wonder if I remembered everything I had. Its a great place , like dining with old friends it is so familiar. I know it might not be to everyones liking , there is nothing flash about Righetti,no michelin stars coming their way anytime soon , but its honest , consistent and cheap. A true institution in Vicenza... I love the place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskiagrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Righetti Self Service also viewed

Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
 
Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
 

Been to Righetti Self Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing