We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Bacala' and more in a traditional farmhouse”
Review of Ristorante da Remo

Ristorante da Remo
Ranked #9 of 486 Restaurants in Vicenza
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very good Bacala' and more in a traditional farmhouse”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We took the advice of the highway operator and went to this traditional farmhouse close to the Vicenza Est highway exit. We were warmly greeted and taken to a nice table in the main dining room. The décor is traditional and it includes a nice Berkel slicer. The weather was not very good when we visited and the lighting made the environment feel a bit cavernous. The service was very good, knowledgeable but at no point overbearing. The restaurant routinely offers half portions, which is great if you want to taste multiple dishes. Both the Bacala' mantecato and alla Vicentina were great, and so was the accompanying polenta. The price level was certainly reasonable. We also lucky enough to meet the owner, Mr Mario Baratto who is extremely knowledgeable and shared the colourful history behind the local cuisine. We will definitely go back if in the area again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Londonsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    184
    43
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
vicenza, italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would be forgetable if it weren't for the high price tag”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The meal was barely average rating - even though the portions were small - I wasn't in need of more of the forgetable food. The price for the servings were outrageous - especially after frequenting Trattoria Zamboni - which is by far the best restaurant I have ever been to - let alone in Italy - there is a reason why Trattoria Zamboni is rated #1 in Vicenza. If you think food at Da Remo is good - try going to Trattoria Zamboni - you'll pass out from a taste bud explosion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank kookiekirstie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good typical restaurant”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Da Remo is located in a rustic restored farmhouse. We went on a Saturday night: the restaurant was full, therefore service was pretty slow, but the food was very good. Excellent tortelli di zucca, but also good seafood and a pretty good wine list. Would definitely go back when in the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Viclugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good quality”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Here is a chef that can cook: it ain't the daily kitchen but I would like to go there every day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelgiumBernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really nice restaurant.”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Nice looking restaurant with good food and nice staff. I would return.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheekychesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante da Remo also viewed

Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
 
Vicenza, Province of Vicenza
 

Been to Ristorante da Remo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing