We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth a trip to verona just to eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Fontanina

La Fontanina
Ranked #458 of 1,169 Restaurants in Verona
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worth a trip to verona just to eat here!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We ate at La fontanina last night for my birthday - its out of the hustle and bustle of central verona but only a few minutes pleasent walk. Its beautifully decorated inside with loads of quirky things everywhere - almost like eating in a cool little antiques shop! the owners were lovely and very welcoming from start to finish and the food was just out of this world! We asked for a recommendation from their extensive wine list and got a fantastic bottle of amarone that was worth every penny....the restaurant is definitely not cheap but the food is fantastic and beautifully presented - I would eat here again at the drop of a hat!! We will definitely be going back one day!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ollyheriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    85
    44
    39
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
180 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Many years ago we had been to La Fontanina, but it had been a long time since our visit. This last quartet to Verona we tried it again, and had a most delightful evening. The staff were great and plentiful, the restaurant was bright and cheerful, as we had experienced in the past., and the food was excellent.The chef was a hoot and added immeasurably to the dining event. Guaranteed, we will be there on our next trip to Verona!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatricSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect eating experience”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Being the first visit to Michelin-starred restaurant it was really unforgettable. Definitely recommend to visit, especially for special occasions. The perfect taste of dishes and nice decoration of interior will deliver an exceptional eating experience. The portions are rather moderate in size but the first and second cources and the dessert are quite enough. The wine list is quite long providing also many locally produced wines and good range of prices (Valpolicella was really nice).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeon32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

To have dinner! The decorations are wonderful and very special. The food was excellent in particular the risotto amarone delicious! I would recommend this restaurant to everyone for a special romantic dinner. We will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hase1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I visited with my sister for an indulgent dinner as we both love good food. The setting of the restaurant makes it perfect for couples, but we certainly still felt comfortable and welcome. I agree that the staff encourage you to 'splurge' on 4 courses, but it was well worth it. The portions are small but rich and full of flavour - and 4 courses will not leave you feeling stuffed. Plates are creative combinations, presented beautifully. I would love to go again, but it's not cheap!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank na_wil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontanina also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to La Fontanina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing