We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good all round service and meal”

Restaurant Pizzeria Filu
Ranked #88 of 1,184 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wisbech
Level Contributor
168 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very good all round service and meal”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Dont miss this place its not town centre but worth the short drive with easy parking. Very polite and friendly staff, prompt and well informed service. The food arrived quickly and was well cooked generous portions and well presented. The sweets were excellent. Very good value at around 8 euros for a full plate sized thin crust pizza. A very good barman who knows his stuff and keeps a spotless bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ukbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    319
    111
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galanta, Slovakia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fastest pizza ever.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Reasonable prices, overstaffed with waiters (that's a good thing if you are a customers, not sure about the owner) and we had 2 pizzas on the table like 7-10mins max after placing the order. Food was OK but I had better pizza in Italy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
246 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 914 helpful votes
“Decent food, awful service.”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

5 of us came in and the place wasn’t very busy. The waiter spoke decent English, but we had 2 Italians with us to make sure everything was clear. The restaurant had a cheap-diner feel to it and we seemed to wait forever for everything like we were at a Cheesecake Factory on a Saturday night (from what I recall my CF experiences were, so long ago.)

Our Belgian friend had the fortune to have the waiter come back twice to say the kitchen was out of his order. The first course arrived and the pasta dishes were generous and appealing. The Salmon and the Branzino were nice enough, but the steak order “pink” was cooked in the typical Italian way regardless: more blue than red. I find this to be a flaw in Italy as a whole, not just in this restaurant. Honestly: why ask if you’re going to serve the steak blue anyway? Either cook the damned steak or serve it crudo – Choose! Just stop putting cold meat on a hot grill and cook it for more than 1 freaking minute on each side! I had 6 steaks – including 4 1-kilo Fiorentina, in 23 days and if they all spent a total of 15 minutes on the fire I’d be shocked!

The biggest service issue was that my wife asked for a glass of red wine for the steak. She waited 10 minutes before she gave up on the wine to start eating. I had to get up from the table to get the waiter. He said “right away” and the glass was delivered immediately. Immediately after the last bite of steak was on the fork, that is...

When we realized that one of our group was now running late to catch a train, the bill was delivered with equal efficiency. I am going to pass on this place next time. Decent food, but the service drags it down to a solid 2-stars.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hoohoolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panzano-in-chianti
Level Contributor
98 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good but not spectacular - enjoyable and reasonably priced”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Let me preface this review by saying that although both times we ate at this modern and efficient restaurant we had good food and service....I wouldn't tell anyone to make a special trip or detour to eat there. Good = enjoyable, but on vacation i want something special. But if like us you are in Verona for a trade fair and staying at a hotel outside the city center this place is a rare gem because not only is the food good (though not spectacular) but there is a spacious parking lot - and after driving around Verona 3 times and not finding anywhere to park this is a real plus. We Enjoyed the pizza which is think crusted, the spaghetti with sea food which was more than enough for two .....the salmon trout and the veal scaloppini..... The menu is huge.....salads, fish, meat, pizzas, regional fare.....prices are reasonable and portions gigantic.... seriously, I am never one to share a course but here I would. Wine list is basic and if you are looking for a memorable vintage this is not the place but if you are hungry and looking for a good meal - this is the place.... It is very popular with the locals so either book or arrive at 7 pm when it opens...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelleydipanzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful pizza”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The pizza was excellent as well as the wine. Our group of 5 had an enjoyable meal. There were a few people that commented on how crowded the pizzeria was and gave it low marks. We were there on an "off" night being a Tuesday and yes, it was crowded. If a place is crowded on such a night, it must mean it's really good! And it was. I'll take crowded and fabulous food anyday over so-so food and not-crowded!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Pizzeria Filu also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Restaurant Pizzeria Filu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing