We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holy Water Fonts”

Chiesa di Sant'Anastasia
Book In Advance
More Info
$380.29*
and up
Private Romeo and Juliet Tour of Verona
Ranked #8 of 216 things to do in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This imposing Gothic building is the largest in Verona.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing Holy Water Fonts”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The facade was never completed so the exterior is not as impressive as other churches. However, the interior is gorgeous. The holy water fonts in particular are quite unusual and worth a look.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dcnoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,129
    443
    64
    10
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Less over-powering than many churches”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A huge and airy church with paintings, frescoes and a painted ceiling. it's well worth spending the time looking at the TV film of the fresco of St George and the Princess, with the original high up above your head, in order to see the many intriguing details.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Walking_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“stunning church”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

amazing frescoes and artwork inside the Church
there was a service in progress so we could not explore the whole chuch but what we saw at the back was well worht the visit. I would go back

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cath1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Church”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We really took some thinking time in here, so peaceful. The church's art work was incredible, the detail on the roof to perfection.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“This church deserves nothing but praise!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

St. Anastasia is a large church and I wasn’t surprised to learn that it is the largest church in Verona. Built between the 13th and the 15th century by the Dominicans, it is a fine example of Italian Gothic architecture. You can walk or sit down and stare around: there are so many beautiful frescos with fascinating details.

Once you get in the church you will be met by two hunchbacks bending under the weight of holy water basin. It is said that touching a hunchback on the hump brings good luck.

In the Cavalli chapel, you can admire the beautiful fresco of “Madonna with three saints and the Cavalli family” by Altichiero dating from the late 14th century. It depicts three noble knights who entrust three members of the Cavalli family to the mother of God.

However, the most famous amongst the frescoes is Pisanello’s “St George and the Princess” (completed in 1438). You will see it quite high above the arch of the Pellegrini Chapel to the right of the altar, at a height of approximately 45 feet (as it’s said), and to me it was pretty difficult to see the fresco in details. When I returned home I found more information about the fresco as I wanted to understand why it is so famous. Looking it on the computer I was a bit surprised to know that it is a very beautiful one. The fresco was formed by two parts. On the right one, Pisanello portrays St George (with curly golden hair) at the moment when the saintly knight is mounting his horse before setting off to confront the dragon in defence of the princess. The background is dominated by an enchanting city (it is said to be the Turkish city of Trabzon) with its high towers half Gothic, half Oriental in style. Also here, in the left-hand background we see two hanged men swinging on the gallows.

It was interesting to learn that although it is still in the high Gothic tradition, the fresco has a strong perspective foreshortening which already shows first signs of the early Renaissance. It is demonstrated by the horses, one seen from behind, and the other seen head- on.

The left hand side of the fresco is so badly damaged that I couldn’t see anything. It supposed to show the dragon's lair where victims' bones are surrounded by awful animals.

It is a great experience to visit Sant’Anastasia. There is an admission fee of 2.50 Euro to enter the church.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank niki101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiesa di Sant'Anastasia also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Chiesa di Sant'Anastasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing